SVT Cluster swap-Do I need an inverter? - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2013, 03:33 PM   #1
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 3,790
FF Reputation: 21 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
SVT Cluster swap-Do I need an inverter?

I just swapped clusters(again lolz)and this one has an extra connector on the back with 2 red wires(The needles light up but the gauges do not). Is this for the indiglo? Inverter? Do I just wire in a dimmer on a 12v lead? Also the ABS light and brake light are on. I am assuming that this is because my car does not have ABS.

I kinda need some advice.


__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2013, 05:03 PM   #2
Sniper Focus
Focus Addict
 
Sniper Focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84221
Location: IL, IL
What I Drive: '03 SVT EAP "Eurotrish"

Posts: 1,268
FF Reputation: 20 Sniper Focus Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
If you're just using the main cluster then you do need an inverter, the inverter is integrated in the aux cluster in in the SVT. Hook up the new inverter to the red wires and splice the power wires to the parking lights, the aftermarket one will have its own dimmer.

I'm thinking about getting an aftermarket inverter to see if it will make the gauges brighter. I was looking at this last night for the wiring, this guy says you have to reprogram the cluster for the abs light.
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=261392
__________________
'03 SVT EAP "Eurotrish Bennett"
Sniper Focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 02:34 PM   #3
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 3,790
FF Reputation: 21 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Thank you!
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:22 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.