My Ford Touch Thread - Page 304 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2013, 10:42 PM   #3031
Now534
Focus Addict
 
Now534's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Fan#: 76549
Location: Norwalk, IA
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black ST2

Posts: 1,295
FF Reputation: 6 Now534 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dick W View Post
Try to connect the MFT's WiFi to an access point that needs a key with any non-numeric characters. Then you'll see what we are seeing.
It won't connect to wifi. That menu is to create a hotapot

Sent from my Rooted Galaxy S3 using FF Mobile
Now534 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-03-2013, 11:04 PM   #3032
Dick W
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91695
Location: Denver, CO
What I Drive: 2012 5dr SGM Ti/09 135i/07 CR-V

Posts: 172
FF Reputation: 2 Dick W Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
We must not be talking about the same feature. Or something.

It supposedly can do either of: be a WiFi hotspot for WiFi clients if it has a path to the Internet and be a WiFi client to a nearby WiFi. Just with 3.5.1 you can't enter a key with any non-numeric characters when setting up the WiFi client connection.

If you want to see for yourself, I think the path is something like Menu | Settings | Wireless and Internet | Wi-Fi settings | Search for Wireless Networks. From there you can select an SSID to connect to. From there, if the network is not Open System, a key is required and you will be prompted to enter it. With 3.5.1, if that key has any non-numeric characters, it's the end of the game because MFT 3.5.1 is broken. (This did work in all prior versions we've had in our MFT-equipped FoFo since its 12/11 build.)

If you don't want to see for yourself, I'm OK with that too.
Dick W is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 08:11 AM   #3033
OPsDad
Focus Addict
 
OPsDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108661
Location: Denham Springs, LA
What I Drive: 2014 Fusion Titanium AWD Moonroof

Posts: 727
FF Reputation: 2 OPsDad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
What I would like to know, if you connect to a Wi-Fi hotspot, what can you do in MFT while connected? Updates? Stream audio from the internet somehow? Or just be happy with the knowledge that you're online (that's my guess, and perhaps "reshare" the connection with other devices).
__________________
SR #265 | "Quia currus certatus, inferius"
13 Focus Ti Sedan w/Handling Pkg, MFT Sony 10 NAV, Leather
13 Focus SE HB Sterling Grey, 201A, Leather
06 F350 6.0L DRW King Ranch, Sunroof, Rhino Bed Liner, 4" MBRP Turbo Back, AirRaid, Edge Chip w/Pyro
OPsDad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 01:06 PM   #3034
slybarman
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105425
Location: the not-so-free state, MD
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus Titanium hatchback

Posts: 1,225
FF Reputation: 4 slybarman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have connected to the wap in my house and could not find a darn thing to do with the connection once connected.

Sent from my Galaxy Note 2 using FF Mobile.
__________________
MK3 Focus = a lot of good ideas rather poorly executed.
slybarman is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 02:22 PM   #3035
Dick W
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91695
Location: Denver, CO
What I Drive: 2012 5dr SGM Ti/09 135i/07 CR-V

Posts: 172
FF Reputation: 2 Dick W Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OPsDad View Post
just be happy with the knowledge that you're online
That's all I've ever been sure I was getting for the trouble of typing in the 63 character key...
Dick W is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 02:51 PM   #3036
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 892
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OPsDad View Post
Does a Focus MFT system have an output for video for the back seat, if you want to add the screens? Anyone happen to know?
Quote:
Originally Posted by slybarman View Post
If it does, I haven't found it.
Sent from my Galaxy Note 2 using FF Mobile.
Hi, OPsDad & slybarman -

To confirm, the MyFord Touch system includes one set of RCA cables, which are located in the center counsel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggerBoat View Post
I haven't been up here for a while but I caught up on a couple months worth of MFT fun and thought it was time to put the 3.5.1 on for myself. Well, looks about the same as the last version...still no song progress bar (like the original MFT and my 6 year old iPod nano.) OK, not going through the missing features rant again. Gee, the temperature is back..wow..Just this: The upper right used to show the compass direction (S, NE etc). Now there is just an orange exclamation point there. I know it has the compass value OK because when I am at the home screen, the the graphic compass shows the correct direction. But when I am on the Entertainment screen I get the exclamation. I do NOT have navigation. Anyone else seen this?
Hey, BiggerBoat -

The yellow exclamation mark indicates a notification. Select the "i" from the bottom of the screen to see the alert; it could be informing you 911 assist is not on.

In regards to the compass not being there, perform a master reset and let me know if it comes back:

http://support.ford.com/sync-technol...c-myford-touch

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 02:59 PM   #3037
r1ch999999
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106748
Location: Nashua, NH
What I Drive: 2012 Grey Titanium Hatchback

Posts: 150
FF Reputation: 1 r1ch999999 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
You're saying those RCA jacks will do output as well?
r1ch999999 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 03:58 PM   #3038
OPsDad
Focus Addict
 
OPsDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108661
Location: Denham Springs, LA
What I Drive: 2014 Fusion Titanium AWD Moonroof

Posts: 727
FF Reputation: 2 OPsDad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1ch999999 View Post
You're saying those RCA jacks will do output as well?
Yes, that is my question. I'm doubtful.
__________________
SR #265 | "Quia currus certatus, inferius"
13 Focus Ti Sedan w/Handling Pkg, MFT Sony 10 NAV, Leather
13 Focus SE HB Sterling Grey, 201A, Leather
06 F350 6.0L DRW King Ranch, Sunroof, Rhino Bed Liner, 4" MBRP Turbo Back, AirRaid, Edge Chip w/Pyro
OPsDad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 09:54 PM   #3039
slybarman
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105425
Location: the not-so-free state, MD
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus Titanium hatchback

Posts: 1,225
FF Reputation: 4 slybarman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1ch999999 View Post
You're saying those RCA jacks will do output as well?
I am thinking fordivt did not understand the question. Best I can tell, those are input only, not output.

Sent from my Galaxy Note 2 using FF Mobile.
__________________
MK3 Focus = a lot of good ideas rather poorly executed.
slybarman is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 01:53 PM   #3040
BiggerBoat
Focus Addict
 
BiggerBoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85913
Location: MAUMEE, OH
What I Drive: 2012 Red Candy Titanium Hatch

Posts: 712
FF Reputation: 3 BiggerBoat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FordIVTteam View Post
Hey, BiggerBoat -

The yellow exclamation mark indicates a notification. Select the "i" from the bottom of the screen to see the alert; it could be informing you 911 assist is not on.

In regards to the compass not being there, perform a master reset and let me know if it comes back:

http://support.ford.com/sync-technol...c-myford-touch

Jaclyn
Jaclyn,

I did not see an "i" at the bottom of the screen but I did go into services and there was a notification regarding my Sirrus radio. I brought up the message, left that screen and BAM, the exclamation is gone and the compass heading is back.

You are a champ and thinks a million!!

-Paul
BiggerBoat is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.