Added 06 ZX4 SES to the stable - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2013, 09:34 AM   #11
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,283
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Yes, cleaning is far easier and doesn't involve you tracking down a replacement. You can also do the spark plugs, gaped to .055 (if not replacing, at least good to inspect them and check their gaps, I'm a fan of Autolight104's.) I'd disconnect your battery while you clean the maf (15min) that way it will re-learn when you fire it back up, just let it idle for a while.

You can also try cleaning your throttle body, they have been known to collect carbon there as well.
rambleon84 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-26-2013, 08:55 PM   #12
Tacbob
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110886
Location: Shamrock, IN
What I Drive: 06 Dark Toreador Red ZX4 SES

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 Tacbob Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambleon84 View Post
Yes, cleaning is far easier and doesn't involve you tracking down a replacement. You can also do the spark plugs, gaped to .055 (if not replacing, at least good to inspect them and check their gaps, I'm a fan of Autolight104's.) I'd disconnect your battery while you clean the maf (15min) that way it will re-learn when you fire it back up, just let it idle for a while.

You can also try cleaning your throttle body, they have been known to collect carbon there as well.
Will do.

Been reading about the stealth CAI. Does anyone have a how-to link showing one utilizing the existing box? (someone mentioned it but know details on the equip or procedure) I'd like to increase my air intake while keeping splash prevention.

Thx
Tacbob is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2013, 09:14 PM   #13
sam fisher
I hate dents!
 
sam fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103137
Location: royal oak, MI
What I Drive: 2006 silver zx4 ses

Posts: 3,053
FF Reputation: 3 sam fisher Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=195366

You cant use the existing intake box , which is inside the fender . Get a prefilter cover and youll be fine .
Sent from my LG-LG730
sam fisher is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 04:55 AM   #14
zetecDon
Where am I?
 
zetecDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Fan#: 62506
Location: east of Cincinnati, Ohio, OH
What I Drive: 02 ZX3, 02 MX-5

Posts: 7,531
FF Reputation: 28 zetecDon Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (45)
Moved to "General Technical Chat" since most of your questions are maintenance related.
zetecDon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 06:58 AM   #15
Tacbob
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110886
Location: Shamrock, IN
What I Drive: 06 Dark Toreador Red ZX4 SES

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 Tacbob Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Another question:
The window sticker shows a "traction control" option ($115) but the button in the center console near the heated seat buttons does not light up when pressed nor is there a dash light that comes on. Am I missing something?
Tacbob is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:37 PM   #16
gondorian
Focus Enthusiast
 
gondorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 105695
Location: Western Suburbs of CHI town, IL
What I Drive: 2002 wgn (Selling) 2004 2.3 wgn 5sp

Posts: 390
FF Reputation: 7 gondorian Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
You have to hold it down.

"If you want to turn off the traction control system be aware that, for safety reasons, the switch must be pressed and held for at least one second before the system is turned off."
gondorian is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 05:55 AM   #17
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,128
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
<-------Why does it say that you own an 03 Blue SE?

What is a stutter anyway? Is the engine shaking? Not starting completely?

IMO: you should go through tune-up procedures. The PCV is not something you change in this car. Yes you can change it, however it can't be reached easily unless the intake manifold is removed. That's why I say- don't bother with it. You can check the PCV vacuum line to see if it is split if you start having problems that might indicate a massive vacuum leak.

1) change spark plugs. Factory equipped with platinum plugs, but those only last about 80k miles. Use anti-seize unless you want to use a heli-coil some day.
2) Change coil boots. These go bad about 80k miles or so, will cause an uneven idle, and loss of mpg. Cost is $5-8 each, and these simply pull off the coils.
3) Fuel filter. Located under the car on the passenger side rear just in front of the fuel tank. It is in the same location as 00-05 Focis, so you can read How-Tos on changing the fuel filter. Remember: do not remove the fuel clips from the fuel line. Press the fuel clip into the line. If you remove the fuel clip from the line, it will be damaged and some dealers will not sell you a replacement clip without selling you a complete fuel line. Then you have to remove the clip from that line- see the problem? One clip will be easy to release, the other will not, look further up that line and you'll see an easy to reach clip about 6" away, remove that clip, small line, filter, and bracket from the car.
4) Clean the MAF. I have yet to work on a vehicle that needed a new MAF for any reason. These are often replaced by dumb people who don't know how to work on cars. It never helps anyone except the parts seller.
5) Air filter: You already know what to do. I rolled the Stealth CAI through 2 100 yr storms. It works. I didn't use a pre-filter. I made my own with polyester panty hose- which is an old dirt bike trick.
6) Clean the TB: Winter will bring you a sticky throttle if you don't.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 06:51 AM   #18
Tacbob
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110886
Location: Shamrock, IN
What I Drive: 06 Dark Toreador Red ZX4 SES

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 Tacbob Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Cause that was the car we were looking at and almost bought when I first registered for this site. Vehicle changed. Thanks for the heads up.

I meant to say shudder, not shutter. Car seems to vibrate more than it should.

Plugs, coils and FF were changed fairly recently. I will clean the MAF and TB and continue my CAI research.

Thanks for the response.
Tacbob is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 05:30 AM   #19
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,128
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
^^ Change the fuel filter.

The vibrations are due to a bad motor mount, most likely the front engine mount. Check with our vendor Village Ford for a discount. Get the Ford part for the front engine mount, the rest of them you can purchase Anchor mounts from Rock Auto.com- they have the best prices for those.

Polyurethane mounts are also available, but these will cause constant vibration at idle. Some people like it, some people don't. I have them, and I like them, but nobody rides in my car but me 99% of the time.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 01:49 PM   #20
Tacbob
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110886
Location: Shamrock, IN
What I Drive: 06 Dark Toreador Red ZX4 SES

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 Tacbob Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Here's a pic of the motor mount. Is that a tear in the rubber? Appear to be a typical failed MK1 Duratec motor mount?



http://www.flickr.com/photos/9139346...in/photostream
Tacbob is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.