ECU Swap - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2011, 04:40 PM   #1
greygoose8732
Focus Enthusiast
 
greygoose8732's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Fan#: 65707
Location: The Zoo, MI
What I Drive: 01' Liquid Grey S2, 03' Black SVT

Posts: 110
FF Reputation: 1 greygoose8732 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
ECU Swap

Can I swap my ECU (O3' SVT) for an ECU from and 04' SVT?


greygoose8732 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-11-2011, 04:51 PM   #2
PumkinSvt
Dat Bewst Life!!
 
PumkinSvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46561
Location: SoCal, CA
What I Drive: 10 Forte DD,Comp SVTF

Posts: 7,456
FF Reputation: 28 PumkinSvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (32)
yes you can, I did it. But you will need the key and transponder from the other car.
__________________


HKS||Garrett||TopSpeed||Tial||Massive||
PumkinSvt is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 02:13 PM   #3
809yamaha
Focus Rookie
 
809yamaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110678
Location: Shillington, PA
What I Drive: 2003 Hunter Green ZX3

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 809yamaha Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have an 04 zx3. Is it possible two replace my ecu with an SVT ecu?
809yamaha is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 05:56 PM   #4
PumkinSvt
Dat Bewst Life!!
 
PumkinSvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46561
Location: SoCal, CA
What I Drive: 10 Forte DD,Comp SVTF

Posts: 7,456
FF Reputation: 28 PumkinSvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (32)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 809yamaha View Post
I have an 04 zx3. Is it possible two replace my ecu with an SVT ecu?
You can't. Why would you want to do that anyways?


Sent from my iPhone using FF Mobile
__________________


HKS||Garrett||TopSpeed||Tial||Massive||
PumkinSvt is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 06:02 PM   #5
809yamaha
Focus Rookie
 
809yamaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110678
Location: Shillington, PA
What I Drive: 2003 Hunter Green ZX3

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 809yamaha Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I already have SVT injectors and fuel rain installed, so I was thinking if I could install an SVT ecu as well that the injectors would work to their full potential.
809yamaha is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 06:35 PM   #6
don627
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56863
Location: dayton, ohio
What I Drive: 2007 infra-red zx3

Posts: 394
FF Reputation: 1 don627 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I doubt that a regular Zetec will be able to benefit from the SVT fuel delivery hardware you installed without some further serious mods but, if it does we would love to hear about it! Getting a tune on the ECU the car has now would probably benefit you more.
don627 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 06:46 PM   #7
809yamaha
Focus Rookie
 
809yamaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Fan#: 110678
Location: Shillington, PA
What I Drive: 2003 Hunter Green ZX3

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 809yamaha Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes, I understand what you mean, I didn't put them on haha but I have a GForce chip installed, and that along with my cold air intake, header and exhaust, along with the injector, do you think its safe to assume I'm about even with the power output of a stock SVT?M
809yamaha is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 09:28 PM   #8
don627
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 56863
Location: dayton, ohio
What I Drive: 2007 infra-red zx3

Posts: 394
FF Reputation: 1 don627 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I didn't think you could chip these cars I thought you had to upload a tune.
don627 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 09:42 PM   #9
felixthecat
Focus Fanatic
 
felixthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80663
Location: Renton, WA
What I Drive: '05 Silver Sport Technologies

Posts: 8,088
FF Reputation: 52 felixthecat Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 809yamaha View Post
I have an 04 zx3. Is it possible two replace my ecu with an SVT ecu?
Why not add a tune? Just a tune to reflash your pcm.
__________________
Introduce Mr. Torsen to the mix D23 crew- D-Tech- Sedan Revolution= #131
felixthecat is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.