How-To: Focus Amplifier Install - Page 3 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2013, 12:17 PM   #21
vollmas
Focus Rookie
 
vollmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110278
Location: Tiffin, OH
What I Drive: 2002 Silver SVT

Posts: 1
FF Reputation: 1 vollmas Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hey guys. I am brand new to this forum, and I was looking for something exactly like this. However, I don't seem to be able to see any of the pictures or steps at the start of this thread. Was it deleted?
vollmas is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-26-2013, 10:21 PM   #22
johnriii44
Focus Enthusiast
 
johnriii44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Fan#: 72948
Location: Oxford, PA
What I Drive: 2006 Light Tundra ZX3

Posts: 410
Points 938, Level 16
Points: 938, Level: 16 Points: 938, Level: 16 Points: 938, Level: 16
Level Up 38% Completed
Level up: 38% Level up: 38% Level up: 38%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 johnriii44 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD770 View Post
I can't see any pictures? Am I missing something?
Quote:
Originally Posted by vollmas View Post
Hey guys. I am brand new to this forum, and I was looking for something exactly like this. However, I don't seem to be able to see any of the pictures or steps at the start of this thread. Was it deleted?
This thread was posted almost 10 years ago so it's no wonder there are no pictures.

The fender wire run is fairly straightforward. The most difficult part is pulling the wire through the fender (need a stiff feed line to pull wire through; I used a coat hanger) and fitting the larger size wires through the grommet into the cabin on the drivers' side.
__________________
2006 Light Tundra ZX3
HatchNation [#71]
johnriii44 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 10:57 PM   #23
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 4,331
Points 6,095, Level 50
Points: 6,095, Level: 50 Points: 6,095, Level: 50 Points: 6,095, Level: 50
Level Up 73% Completed
Level up: 73% Level up: 73% Level up: 73%
Forum Activity 53%
Activity: 53% Activity: 53% Activity: 53%
FF Reputation: 22 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (22)
It is easier to push the wire through the firewall into the engine compartment FWIW
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:01 PM   #24
qweesy
Focus Addict
 
qweesy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 12042
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2004 focus Duratec 2.3 RS (DEAD)

Posts: 1,269
Points 2,825, Level 32
Points: 2,825, Level: 32 Points: 2,825, Level: 32 Points: 2,825, Level: 32
Level Up 50% Completed
Level up: 50% Level up: 50% Level up: 50%
Forum Activity 23%
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
FF Reputation: 3 qweesy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
no pics
qweesy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 07:49 PM   #25
johnriii44
Focus Enthusiast
 
johnriii44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Fan#: 72948
Location: Oxford, PA
What I Drive: 2006 Light Tundra ZX3

Posts: 410
Points 938, Level 16
Points: 938, Level: 16 Points: 938, Level: 16 Points: 938, Level: 16
Level Up 38% Completed
Level up: 38% Level up: 38% Level up: 38%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 johnriii44 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by qweesy View Post
no pics
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnriii44 View Post
This thread was posted almost 10 years ago so it's no wonder there are no pictures.

The fender wire run is fairly straightforward. The most difficult part is pulling the wire through the fender (need a stiff feed line to pull wire through; I used a coat hanger) and fitting the larger size wires through the grommet into the cabin on the drivers' side.
__________________
2006 Light Tundra ZX3
HatchNation [#71]
johnriii44 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2014, 07:07 PM   #26
Funkmaster
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2014
Fan#: 160770
Location: Cincinnati, OH
What I Drive: 2006 Ford Focus ST

Posts: 1
FF Reputation: 1 Funkmaster Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I know this is an old thread, and this is also my first post, but I thought my update for it was valid so here it is. I am installing an amp in our 06 ST sedan. I dont like over the fender installs because for one I dont like having that wire in an area with potential for damage/shorting and also because it looks like crap. What I did is drill a hole about 1" to the right (in engine bay) of the throttle cable. There is room to fit a drill there from the inside of the car and you can then run the wire up under the dash to wherever you want. I will post pics for any interested people, but its pretty straight forward. Definitely need to use a grommet! Puts the power cable nice and close to the battery tray.
Funkmaster is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 07:03 AM   #27
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 4,331
Points 6,095, Level 50
Points: 6,095, Level: 50 Points: 6,095, Level: 50 Points: 6,095, Level: 50
Level Up 73% Completed
Level up: 73% Level up: 73% Level up: 73%
Forum Activity 53%
Activity: 53% Activity: 53% Activity: 53%
FF Reputation: 22 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Funkmaster View Post
I know this is an old thread, and this is also my first post, but I thought my update for it was valid so here it is. I am installing an amp in our 06 ST sedan. I dont like over the fender installs because for one I dont like having that wire in an area with potential for damage/shorting and also because it looks like crap. What I did is drill a hole about 1" to the right (in engine bay) of the throttle cable. There is room to fit a drill there from the inside of the car and you can then run the wire up under the dash to wherever you want. I will post pics for any interested people, but its pretty straight forward. Definitely need to use a grommet! Puts the power cable nice and close to the battery tray.
X's 3 now.

Drill the hole, use a grommet, seal with silicone.

Do it right or, pay someone to do it right.
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 11:05 AM   #28
ferret15
Focus Enthusiast
 
ferret15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Fan#: 83494
Location: RFD, IL
What I Drive: 03 zx3 and a screeming yellow eap

Posts: 501
Points 590, Level 11
Points: 590, Level: 11 Points: 590, Level: 11 Points: 590, Level: 11
Level Up 80% Completed
Level up: 80% Level up: 80% Level up: 80%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 2 ferret15 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If its an automatic- Clutch pedal plug, drill through.
If its a manual- Go higher and punch through harness grommet.
If thats to much work (which it can be) then just drill a hole.

Your going to have more trouble fishing it through the stupid cardboard fiber mat thing. I usually run a thin piece of safety wire through my route first and pull it through. As mentioned its always better if you can get some rtv around the hole just seal it back up.
ferret15 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Ultimate 03-09 Focus Thread, SUPER LARGE AMOUNTS OF INFO. honhon DURATEC Performance (2008-2011) 59 08-04-2013 10:41 PM
Timing Belt Info Spanky6935 General Technical Chat 13 09-30-2011 10:54 PM
The Ford Focus - General History and Information S2 Ford Focus & General Car Chat 1 11-14-2008 02:04 PM
Soon to come, more SVT parts for your non-SVT Focus... myFordPerformance.com ZETEC Performance (2000-2004) 32 05-02-2004 04:31 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.