No power on Aftermarket head unit - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2013, 05:46 PM   #1
Jazzy19
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108016
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: Green

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 Jazzy19 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
No power on Aftermarket head unit

Hello All,

got a bit of an issue... have a 2000 Ford Focus sedan and i tried to replace the stock headunit. I got the Metra wire harness and dashkit and ant converter. I matched up all the colors for the speakers and started to do the power side. Matched all colors and tried to turn it on and nothing? This install seems very simple as you match the colors or could their be something not labled that is matching? The Headunit is a pioneer MP7800 it was working in my IS300... The only thing i can think of was the blue and blue/white wire which is for remote amp turn on (I dont have an amp so i didnt hook it up). How about the ground? that goes tot he harness as well right? What steps can i take to start troubleshooting?


Jazzy19 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-03-2013, 07:34 PM   #2
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 3,970
FF Reputation: 22 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
Check your fuses.
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 08:18 PM   #3
Jazzy19
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108016
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: Green

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 Jazzy19 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Does anyone know which fuses to check and where they are located?
Jazzy19 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 10:47 PM   #4
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 3,970
FF Reputation: 22 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (20)
It is fuse #31 IIRC it should be a 15 amp fuse.

It is in the lower right side of the dash.
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2013, 09:58 PM   #5
Jazzy19
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108016
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: Green

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 Jazzy19 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
fixed it.. fuse 31 and fuse 49... odd for 49 - back up??? anyways its good and it powers on... Thanks for your help :)
Jazzy19 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2013, 02:40 PM   #6
zkastl
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 98027
Location: Norman, OK
What I Drive: 2008 Gray SE

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 zkastl Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have a very similar problem, however I have a 2008 SE. My buddy was helping me with the install and, foolishly, sparked the power to the metal head unit. Which fuse is for the radio?
zkastl is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:59 AM   #7
mrpeaches
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103895
Location: Buena Vista, CO
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus SE Hatchback

Posts: 41
FF Reputation: 1 mrpeaches Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The list of fuses for your vehicle and their functions should be in your owner's manual.

http://owner.ford.com/servlet/Conten...rd&model=Focus
mrpeaches is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 12:47 PM   #8
J0EC00L
Focus Enthusiast
 
J0EC00L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86480
Location: Erie, PA
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus

Posts: 300
FF Reputation: 1 J0EC00L Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
The fuse on a 2000 sedan is on the left side. in front of where your left knee would be if sitting in driver seat. there is a access panel that pulls out from the bottom up. Thats where the fuse panel is.
J0EC00L is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.