Valentine One - Page 5 - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Model Specific Discussions > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2013, 08:18 PM   #41
thejordan
Focus Addict
 
thejordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107706
Location: Southern, CA
What I Drive: 2013 SGM Focus 5 Speed

Posts: 568
FF Reputation: 3 thejordan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdog913 View Post
Yes mine shuts off when the car is off. But I should note I have an actual key, I don't have the key less start.
Mine is a key too. I'll try #85 then. Are you using a 20amp fuse for the detector?
thejordan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2013, 12:09 PM   #42
Jdog913
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84424
Location: LIVONIA, MI
What I Drive: .

Posts: 266
FF Reputation: 3 Jdog913 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejordan View Post
Mine is a key too. I'll try #85 then. Are you using a 20amp fuse for the detector?
Did you have any luck? That I'm not sure. Is there one that comes with the 12v adapter? I would just use that same one as that.
Jdog913 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 10:08 PM   #43
thejordan
Focus Addict
 
thejordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107706
Location: Southern, CA
What I Drive: 2013 SGM Focus 5 Speed

Posts: 568
FF Reputation: 3 thejordan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdog913 View Post
Did you have any luck? That I'm not sure. Is there one that comes with the 12v adapter? I would just use that same one as that.
nope, the #85 didn't work. #61 is doing the 30min shut off.

i tried a bunch of different ones to see if any worked with ignition with no luck. if someone could tell me which wire has 12v acc, I'd just use my vampire tap and be done with it instead of using add-a-fuse.
thejordan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 01:50 PM   #44
nmd55
Focus Rookie
 
nmd55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 38246
Location: Tampa
What I Drive: 2007 Tungsten Grey ST

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 nmd55 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Question for the group:

I am hard-wiring a bunch of electronics and would like everything connected via a keyed 12V source.

I used this fuse locations with an add-a-fuse:


To that fuse I added a 10A fuse and connected the following:
1) homelink mirror (less than 2 amp draw)
2) V1 radar detector (less than 2 amp draw)
3) Cheetah GPS detector (less than 1.5amp draw)
4) Garmin nuvi (less than 2 amp draw)

The items above work wonderfully and turn off/on with the key.

I want to add the following:
5) Blinder Xtreme m47 (less than 2 amp draw)
6) Blinder Xtreme m27 (less than 2 amp draw)
7) Nav-TV backup camera video board (less than 2 amp draw)

I believe if I add items 5,6,7 then I will blow the 10amp fuse. I do not want to add a 20amp fuse to the mini add-a-fuse (i believe these are only rated for 10amp max). Does anyone know of another keyed source in the Smart Junction box on the passenger side?

Thanks for the help this site is the best!!!
nmd55 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 02:43 PM   #45
thejordan
Focus Addict
 
thejordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107706
Location: Southern, CA
What I Drive: 2013 SGM Focus 5 Speed

Posts: 568
FF Reputation: 3 thejordan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
What car? My '13 BCM does not look like that.
thejordan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 02:50 PM   #46
nmd55
Focus Rookie
 
nmd55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Fan#: 38246
Location: Tampa
What I Drive: 2007 Tungsten Grey ST

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 nmd55 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
what BCM are you referring to?

my car is a 2013 Focus ST and the Smart Junction box in the passenger footwell looks exactly like that picture.
nmd55 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 05:20 PM   #47
thejordan
Focus Addict
 
thejordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107706
Location: Southern, CA
What I Drive: 2013 SGM Focus 5 Speed

Posts: 568
FF Reputation: 3 thejordan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
focusst.org has the info you're looking for.
thejordan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:08 AM   #48
fiveofocus
Focus Enthusiast
 
fiveofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 60237
Location: Crown Point, IN
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus SFE

Posts: 172
FF Reputation: 1 fiveofocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
hey man great writeup! #85 worked perfect for me! thanks to you my hardwire on my blendmount took 10 minutes!
fiveofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 02:53 PM   #49
dbsimms63
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Fan#: 110359
Location: Carrollton, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 687
FF Reputation: 2 dbsimms63 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
getting ready to do this for my V-1
dbsimms63 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 11:11 AM   #50
mikeyboy.com
Focus Enthusiast
 
mikeyboy.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 326
Location: Rindge, NH
What I Drive: 2013 PB Ti Hatch +Handling

Posts: 366
FF Reputation: 4 mikeyboy.com Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
i got a MirrorMount for my (bel 995) from amazon for about thirty bucks. holds the detector pretty well. i didn't really want it on the mirror but i wanted it up high and not attached to the windshield, and that seemed to be the only place (that would still let me flip the visors and not hit the detector)

i've got a remote mute switch ("smartcord") mounted with double-sided tape down by my knee.

one important note - if you go this route, make sure the pillar you choose will reach where you want to power it (and optionally, where you want the mute button to be). i had everything wired under the dash and pulled up the passenger A-pillar before i realized (due to where i put the mute button) it wouldn't reach over to the mirror and down to the detector. i had to switch and run it up the driver's A-pillar instead. d'oh!

here are some pics of the mount i have:
http://girder.net/focus/mirror-mount.1.jpg
http://girder.net/focus/mirror-mount.2.jpg

and where i located my Mute button:
http://girder.net/focus/mirror-mount.3.jpg
mikeyboy.com is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.