2010 SES stock sound system question. - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2013, 09:08 AM   #11
Kipp
FocusFest Event Team
 
Kipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Fan#: 31300
Location: Kansas City, KS
What I Drive: 2013 F150 4x4 5.0, 2014 HD 883 Iron

Posts: 2,361
FF Reputation: 9 Kipp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
unless you go used "and i don't recommend it as you don't know for sure the condition) you will be hard pressed to find anything in that price range that's worth it. even a decent used amp will run $100 plus. if you're just looking for something simple that is cost efficient take a look at the infinity basslink. it's a self contained system (box, amp and sub in one unit) for around $200 or so.
__________________
2013 F150 4x4 SCrew XLT 5.0L
Midwest Crew #22
Official FocusFest Event Planner
Kipp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2013, 09:15 AM   #12
Lieblos
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108845
Location: Monroe, MI
What I Drive: 2010, Black, SES

Posts: 8
FF Reputation: 1 Lieblos Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
When I said $70-$100 I simply meant the price of each sub.
Lieblos is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:28 AM   #13
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,383
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lieblos View Post
Well, I do appreciation the suggestions. Also, I'm not looking for something to hit extremely hard I just want something that is a lot better than the stock speakers bass. I understand car audio is not a cheap thing but are there good priced subs that will get me a good bump for between $70-$100 each. Also what are some good speakers.

Also have you guys personally heard anything about this HU Pioneer-AVH-P2400BT

Also My focus doesn't have wheel controls or SYNC so which harness would I need. I was looking around and there are like 5 different types of wiring kits. Sorry for the overhaul of questions and you guys are being very helpful.
This is the correct harness you will need:
Axxess XSVI-5520-NAV
Not the cheap ones because the cheap ones will not retain your acc power. And this is the dash kit you will need:
Metra 99-5816
as well as this antenna adapter
Metra 40-CR10
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:38 AM   #14
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,383
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lieblos View Post
When I said $70-$100 I simply meant the price of each sub.
Here ya go bud:
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...o-REX10D4.html
They are 59.99 each and 175rms watts each, so this amp would push two nicely:
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...NX1.1000D.html
it will do 475 rms watts if you wire two of the subs to it at a final impedance of 4ohms.
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:41 AM   #15
Kipp
FocusFest Event Team
 
Kipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Fan#: 31300
Location: Kansas City, KS
What I Drive: 2013 F150 4x4 5.0, 2014 HD 883 Iron

Posts: 2,361
FF Reputation: 9 Kipp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
in all reality that harness can be done without. it will retain an acc output, but since you don't have the other features in the car you will be paying for things you don't need. you can just as easily get the basic harness and just run an acc wire to the car for that signal and save a bunch of money.
__________________
2013 F150 4x4 SCrew XLT 5.0L
Midwest Crew #22
Official FocusFest Event Planner
Kipp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:43 AM   #16
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,383
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipp View Post
in all reality that harness can be done without. it will retain an acc output, but since you don't have the other features in the car you will be paying for things you don't need. you can just as easily get the basic harness and just run an acc wire to the car for that signal and save a bunch of money.
Im going to guess you did that... how is your message center working out for you?
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:48 AM   #17
Kipp
FocusFest Event Team
 
Kipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Fan#: 31300
Location: Kansas City, KS
What I Drive: 2013 F150 4x4 5.0, 2014 HD 883 Iron

Posts: 2,361
FF Reputation: 9 Kipp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
i actually have sync in mine and used the harness to retain it. however i have done installs in other 08-11 foci without sync using the basic harness and running an acc wire with no issues. the display just shows "ford focus" whenever the car is on. doesn't cause any issues.
__________________
2013 F150 4x4 SCrew XLT 5.0L
Midwest Crew #22
Official FocusFest Event Planner
Kipp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:52 AM   #18
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,383
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
It allows you to retain your dimming function, speed sense, and data control signals as well as many other functions. while it does not cause issues to simply state ford focus on the display, you lose your temp display, direction, and any other data display features of our vehicle.
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 09:57 AM   #19
Kipp
FocusFest Event Team
 
Kipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Fan#: 31300
Location: Kansas City, KS
What I Drive: 2013 F150 4x4 5.0, 2014 HD 883 Iron

Posts: 2,361
FF Reputation: 9 Kipp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
that is correct that you would lose those features, if the car has them in the first place. if all he has is the basic audio system then it's not really needed though. the data signal to the headunit is just for the accesory. speed sense doesn't work on aftermarket headunits unless it's a nav unit and even the newer ones of those don't need a speed sense input to work correctly like the older units did. dimmer is usually a seperate wire that is voltage based and also doesn't usually work properly with aftermarket units.
__________________
2013 F150 4x4 SCrew XLT 5.0L
Midwest Crew #22
Official FocusFest Event Planner
Kipp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 10:00 AM   #20
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,383
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipp View Post
that is correct that you would lose those features, if the car has them in the first place. if all he has is the basic audio system then it's not really needed though. the data signal to the headunit is just for the accesory. speed sense doesn't work on aftermarket headunits unless it's a nav unit and even the newer ones of those don't need a speed sense input to work correctly like the older units did. dimmer is usually a seperate wire that is voltage based and also doesn't usually work properly with aftermarket units.
Ok, good deal! Thanks Kipp for clearing that up for me(=
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.