ARP main stud to lower crankcase clarence issues... and how i solved it - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2013, 03:43 PM   #1
200two-zx3
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
200two-zx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108491
Location: between the lakes, MI
What I Drive: 2002 blue zx3

Posts: 42
FF Reputation: 2 200two-zx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
ARP main stud to lower crankcase clarence issues... and how i solved it

While rebuilding my 02 zetec engine I replaced my main bolts with ARP main studs which are wayyy stronger, when doing so even with the correct ARP part used you will run into major clarence issues. I'm currently getting my camera fixed so it will connect and so I can make a step by step of how I fixed it also id like for other people to include how they fixed it... this will help anyone who builds the 2.0 engine in the future. Also for those who think you can reuse ur old main and rod bolts you shouldnt as they are a torque to yeild style bolt that should be replaced everytime.


__________________
Claim not, dynos prove all!
200two-zx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-19-2013, 05:40 PM   #2
Indy'sexclusiveZx3
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65419
Location: Indianapolis, IN
What I Drive: 2013 tuxedo black st

Posts: 569
FF Reputation: 7 Indy'sexclusiveZx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
You can reuse you main bolts but you need to check and make sure they haven't stretched to much, and a lot of people just use a dremel and cut out the part that hits
__________________
Parts for sale check out my thread, got a new st need to sale old parts
Indy'sexclusiveZx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2013, 07:15 PM   #3
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 5,577
Points 3,217, Level 35
Points: 3,217, Level: 35 Points: 3,217, Level: 35 Points: 3,217, Level: 35
Level Up 12% Completed
Level up: 12% Level up: 12% Level up: 12%
Forum Activity 60%
Activity: 60% Activity: 60% Activity: 60%
FF Reputation: 25 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yeah, and where is that spec for max allowable stretch, surprise it doesn't exist. One should realize if bolt has physically deformed to stay permanently longer, it has already partially failed, which is what TTY bolts do the first time they are used. It would be quite dumb to risk an engine on that................
amc49 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2013, 08:22 PM   #4
200two-zx3
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
200two-zx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108491
Location: between the lakes, MI
What I Drive: 2002 blue zx3

Posts: 42
FF Reputation: 2 200two-zx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by amc49 View Post
Yeah, and where is that spec for max allowable stretch, surprise it doesn't exist. One should realize if bolt has physically deformed to stay permanently longer, it has already partially failed, which is what TTY bolts do the first time they are used. It would be quite dumb to risk an engine on that................
You are 100% correct if you reuse a tty bolt you risk wasting all the time and money you put into the engine...

NEVER REUSE TTY BOLTS Just a side note for everyone
__________________
Claim not, dynos prove all!
200two-zx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 02:01 AM   #5
200two-zx3
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
200two-zx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108491
Location: between the lakes, MI
What I Drive: 2002 blue zx3

Posts: 42
FF Reputation: 2 200two-zx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
so I cant just upload pics from my comp. directly to the convo??? do I have to load them on a photobucket site first? I have a complete step by step thing on how I solved this issue but it wint let me post it
__________________
Claim not, dynos prove all!
200two-zx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 03:05 AM   #6
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 4,505
Points 6,375, Level 52
Points: 6,375, Level: 52 Points: 6,375, Level: 52 Points: 6,375, Level: 52
Level Up 13% Completed
Level up: 13% Level up: 13% Level up: 13%
Forum Activity 47%
Activity: 47% Activity: 47% Activity: 47%
FF Reputation: 24 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (23)
Yes you need to use photobucket or something of the like.

To embed them here use,

[IMG]paste the http here[/IMG]

I look forward to the how to.

You will get a Rep point by doing so.
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 08:14 AM   #7
pacosarae
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 109063
Location: Providence, RI
What I Drive: 2003 Pitch Black ZX3

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 pacosarae Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yeah, and where is that spec for max allowable stretch
pacosarae is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2013, 12:06 PM   #8
PumkinSvt
Focus Fanatic
 
PumkinSvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 46561
Location: SoCal, CA
What I Drive: 10 Forte DD,Comp SVTF, 14 Fiesta ST

Posts: 7,498
Points 16,375, Level 82
Points: 16,375, Level: 82 Points: 16,375, Level: 82 Points: 16,375, Level: 82
Level Up 5% Completed
Level up: 5% Level up: 5% Level up: 5%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 28 PumkinSvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (33)
am sure this is what you did to get clearance for the ARP main studs.

__________________


HKS||Garrett||TopSpeed||Tial||Massive||
PumkinSvt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 12:10 AM   #9
200two-zx3
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
200two-zx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108491
Location: between the lakes, MI
What I Drive: 2002 blue zx3

Posts: 42
FF Reputation: 2 200two-zx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
first you need some good ole ARP studs


next you'll install them via instructions included and using the torque lube

then you'll notice the studs are way longer then the stock bolts

then I decided to trim down the stud after installing the nut and marking the stud and removing them as to not put metal shaving and grindings in the engine while making sure I don't take too much off and hurt the integrity of the stud

this will also reduce the amount aluminum you have to remove from the bottom crankcase assy

above I marked the area where your stud will hit if not notched out also below

next you will need a tool of choice mine is here

and perform your notching I also used a air powered 90 degree cutoff wheel


the angles are messing with how the clearance looks but its evenly cut out around the nut

then ur done with this issue


then you'll be done and happy
__________________
Claim not, dynos prove all!

Last edited by 200two-zx3; 02-02-2013 at 12:12 AM. Reason: wording
200two-zx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-02-2013, 12:13 AM   #10
200two-zx3
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
200two-zx3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108491
Location: between the lakes, MI
What I Drive: 2002 blue zx3

Posts: 42
FF Reputation: 2 200two-zx3 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
also im missing some pics that wont upload but you get the idea
__________________
Claim not, dynos prove all!
200two-zx3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat