Flashing an instrument cluster - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK1 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2013, 08:43 PM   #1
clayton89
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108214
Location: Fort Dodge, IA
What I Drive: 2006 Sonic Blue ZXW

Posts: 106
FF Reputation: 1 clayton89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Flashing an instrument cluster

I am looking at finding an instrument cluster with a tachometer for my 2006 focus zxw, I have found a few but they all have lower miles than mine (much lower) as mine has 122,xxx

I was curious if anyone has had their new clusters flashed to show a new higher mileage, if so where it was done and how much did it cost?


clayton89 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-14-2013, 09:02 PM   #2
gondorian
Focus Enthusiast
 
gondorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 105695
Location: Western Suburbs of CHI town, IL
What I Drive: 2002 wgn (Selling) 2004 2.3 wgn 5sp

Posts: 390
FF Reputation: 7 gondorian Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I just wrote down the difference when I put in the new one with a tach. If your car is old enough the DMV might not car about the mileage. Or you could just put the front of your car on jackstands and idle it in gear for a weekend jk.
gondorian is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:45 AM   #3
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,255
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Call a couple of Ford dealers and ask if that's something they can do. I had a conversation with a member a couple years ago that said their dealer was able to do it for less than $100 and the dealer's only caveat was they kept the old cluster.

Now, I dont recall if his new cluster had more or less miles. Not sure if its something they can only add miles to vs take miles off or vice-versa.

Found a couple on ebay with closer mileage for you:
130k
128k (you'd need to contact them to verify it has tach)

The two most common parts numbers are:
6S4T-10849-BA
6S4T-10849-DA
one should be with tach and other without iirc but ebay sellers arent consistently labeling them the same. I bought a tach cluster with a couple of thousand more miles than my car had and swapped them over when the mileage matched. I did test it as soon as I received to ensure needles and lights worked properly. Very easy to do yourself.
rambleon84 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:21 PM   #4
clayton89
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108214
Location: Fort Dodge, IA
What I Drive: 2006 Sonic Blue ZXW

Posts: 106
FF Reputation: 1 clayton89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambleon84 View Post
Call a couple of Ford dealers and ask if that's something they can do. I had a conversation with a member a couple years ago that said their dealer was able to do it for less than $100 and the dealer's only caveat was they kept the old cluster.

Now, I dont recall if his new cluster had more or less miles. Not sure if its something they can only add miles to vs take miles off or vice-versa.

Found a couple on ebay with closer mileage for you:
130k
128k (you'd need to contact them to verify it has tach)

The two most common parts numbers are:
6S4T-10849-BA
6S4T-10849-DA
one should be with tach and other without iirc but ebay sellers arent consistently labeling them the same. I bought a tach cluster with a couple of thousand more miles than my car had and swapped them over when the mileage matched. I did test it as soon as I received to ensure needles and lights worked properly. Very easy to do yourself.
I was just checking here to post that I had purchased one with 130K on it, it so happens to be the one you picked out before I even read your post.
clayton89 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 10:29 PM   #5
sleepyboy
FF's Night Security
 
sleepyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Fan#: 15335
Location: SW Houston, TX, United States
What I Drive: 01' Yellow ZX3 euro, 04' ZX5 SVT

Posts: 25,071
FF Reputation: 47 sleepyboy Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rambleon84 View Post
Call a couple of Ford dealers and ask if that's something they can do. I had a conversation with a member a couple years ago that said their dealer was able to do it for less than $100 and the dealer's only caveat was they kept the old cluster.

Now, I dont recall if his new cluster had more or less miles. Not sure if its something they can only add miles to vs take miles off or vice-versa.

Found a couple on ebay with closer mileage for you:
130k
128k (you'd need to contact them to verify it has tach)

The two most common parts numbers are:
6S4T-10849-BA
6S4T-10849-DA
one should be with tach and other without iirc but ebay sellers arent consistently labeling them the same. I bought a tach cluster with a couple of thousand more miles than my car had and swapped them over when the mileage matched. I did test it as soon as I received to ensure needles and lights worked properly. Very easy to do yourself.



I've heard of some dealers doing it even cheaper, then some won't touch it at all. If you were to take it to a dealer I would say that your old cluster is broken and you need to have the mileage switched over, that way they would be more likely to do it.
__________________
I started out with nothing and I still have most of it left

Hatch Nation #15 (Ole' Yeller') & #150 (The SVT)
Moderator for
Technical Chat
Zetec Performance Chat
Southern Fanatics Chat
sleepyboy is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 09:34 PM   #6
clayton89
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108214
Location: Fort Dodge, IA
What I Drive: 2006 Sonic Blue ZXW

Posts: 106
FF Reputation: 1 clayton89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sleepyboy View Post
I've heard of some dealers doing it even cheaper, then some won't touch it at all. If you were to take it to a dealer I would say that your old cluster is broken and you need to have the mileage switched over, that way they would be more likely to do it.
Yeah I picked up a cluster from Ebay so I have it all sorted out. It came from a 06-07 so it should be a direct plug in and I'll have a Tach now.

I plan on waiting a few months until the miles get close so I can just plug it in and skip the dealer, or having to have it flashed.

Thanks Guys
clayton89 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2013, 11:20 AM   #7
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,255
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by clayton89 View Post
Yeah I picked up a cluster from Ebay so I have it all sorted out. It came from a 06-07 so it should be a direct plug in and I'll have a Tach now.

I plan on waiting a few months until the miles get close so I can just plug it in and skip the dealer, or having to have it flashed.

Thanks Guys
Test it out when you get it too, just to find out the exact mileage and make sure the needles all work properly. If you need any help installing it shoot me a message or post here. You may notice a light or two is lit up too. If your car didnt have ABS or traction control and that donor car did, those will be lit up.
rambleon84 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 12:22 PM   #8
clayton89
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Fan#: 108214
Location: Fort Dodge, IA
What I Drive: 2006 Sonic Blue ZXW

Posts: 106
FF Reputation: 1 clayton89 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So just took out the instrument cluster and started to test the replacement to see if everything works and what the exact mileage is. So far I don't think I'm going to have any of the issues that many have had when replacing clusters.

My car has abs (I just found this out Sunday as we had an ice storm and it kicked in once) but my car does not have traction control (that I know of) and I do not have a problem with any lights staying on, or any light not coming on so I think I got pretty lucky.

I did happen to lose a screw when I was trying to reinstall the original gauges, it flew out of my hand and behind the radio. So I take the storage compartment out and remove the radio to peek in there. I ended up finding the screw, but as I was installing my radio I slipped and lost that one for the radio. So I ended up looking around for it but could never find it, so I had to just install the radio with three screws instead of four I guess when I go to install my Auxiliary cord later I'll have to make sure I go to parts store and find something similar to put in there.
clayton89 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2013, 08:05 AM   #9
rambleon84
So mote be it
 
rambleon84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51521
Location: columbus, OH
What I Drive: 2007 Dark Toreador Red ZX3

Posts: 5,255
FF Reputation: 23 rambleon84 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (14)
Sounds like you are in good shape...that missing screw on the radio will only be bad if it starts rattling around and driving you nuts with the noise of it rolling around

This was one of those mods i wish i had done much earlier, so annoying not having a tach..
rambleon84 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.