Am i missing something??? Double din - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 11:42 AM   #1
Urbanspacedude91
Focus Enthusiast
 
Urbanspacedude91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91432
Location: Freeport, NY
What I Drive: 2010 Blue Flame Duratec

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 1 Urbanspacedude91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Question Am i missing something??? Double din

So basically im hooking up a pionner double din and i bought the harness and dash kit so it should be plug and play. My concern is that the kit i bought came with one set of wires and i see on other kits its two sets of wires. Would i need the other set???
Heres the links so theres and idea of what im talking about.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ford-Radio-S...0a2060&vxp=mtr


http://www.ebay.com/itm/FORD-Focus-2...ccb338&vxp=mtr


Do i need the second set of wires??? Or did i just do something wroing as easy as this could be??


__________________
I drive a Focus and You noticed!
Urbanspacedude91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-13-2013, 12:10 PM   #2
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 3,993
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yeah one might be a sync harness if you dont have sync then you dont have to worry about it
badazz2010focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:24 PM   #3
Urbanspacedude91
Focus Enthusiast
 
Urbanspacedude91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91432
Location: Freeport, NY
What I Drive: 2010 Blue Flame Duratec

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 1 Urbanspacedude91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I do have the sync so without the harness the radio wont turn on at all??
__________________
I drive a Focus and You noticed!
Urbanspacedude91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:09 PM   #4
Urbanspacedude91
Focus Enthusiast
 
Urbanspacedude91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91432
Location: Freeport, NY
What I Drive: 2010 Blue Flame Duratec

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 1 Urbanspacedude91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
bump
__________________
I drive a Focus and You noticed!
Urbanspacedude91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 06:25 PM   #5
badazz2010focus
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Fan#: 78166
Location: jupiter, FL
What I Drive: 2010 ingot silver 2 dr 5 speed

Posts: 3,993
FF Reputation: 7 badazz2010focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
you'll loose sync capibilty I dont have sync myself so I dont really know what would happen if you tried to use a base harness on a sync system as to wether or not the headunit would turn on or not...I mean I dont see why it wouldnt because all the sync harness does is retain it.
badazz2010focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 08:21 AM   #6
Kipp
FocusFest Event Team
 
Kipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Fan#: 31300
Location: Kansas City, KS
What I Drive: 2013 F150 4x4 5.0, 2014 HD 883 Iron

Posts: 2,360
FF Reputation: 9 Kipp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
the first link with the second plug with the rca's on it is for if you have the factory sub so that you can retain it. the second one doesn't have the sub connector included. neither of those will retain sync (that's a special harness with a module on it.
here's the issue you will have with either of those kits. there is no accesory power in the factory harness on the 08-11 focus. with either of those you will need to run an acc wire to somewhere else in the car such as the ignition harness. there are harnesses made that will take the factory data signal and give you an acc output and another harness that will allow you to retain sync as long as the aftermarket headunit has an aux input on it (preferably on the back).

here's the one to retain sync
http://metraonline.com/part/AFSI-02

i can't find the other one at the moment, they may not make it anymore.
__________________
2013 F150 4x4 SCrew XLT 5.0L
Midwest Crew #22
Official FocusFest Event Planner
Kipp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 04:22 PM   #7
Urbanspacedude91
Focus Enthusiast
 
Urbanspacedude91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91432
Location: Freeport, NY
What I Drive: 2010 Blue Flame Duratec

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 1 Urbanspacedude91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kipp View Post
the first link with the second plug with the rca's on it is for if you have the factory sub so that you can retain it. the second one doesn't have the sub connector included. neither of those will retain sync (that's a special harness with a module on it.
here's the issue you will have with either of those kits. there is no accesory power in the factory harness on the 08-11 focus. with either of those you will need to run an acc wire to somewhere else in the car such as the ignition harness. there are harnesses made that will take the factory data signal and give you an acc output and another harness that will allow you to retain sync as long as the aftermarket headunit has an aux input on it (preferably on the back).

here's the one to retain sync
http://metraonline.com/part/AFSI-02

i can't find the other one at the moment, they may not make it anymore.

YOU ARE THE MAN!!!
__________________
I drive a Focus and You noticed!
Urbanspacedude91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 04:29 PM   #8
Urbanspacedude91
Focus Enthusiast
 
Urbanspacedude91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91432
Location: Freeport, NY
What I Drive: 2010 Blue Flame Duratec

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 1 Urbanspacedude91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
So i shouldnt have to worry about adding another ground or 12v constant?? Just an acc wire?? Thisis the info i been looking for that took me like three days to find. Can i just run it to the ign switch fuse??
__________________
I drive a Focus and You noticed!
Urbanspacedude91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:41 AM   #9
Kipp
FocusFest Event Team
 
Kipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Fan#: 31300
Location: Kansas City, KS
What I Drive: 2013 F150 4x4 5.0, 2014 HD 883 Iron

Posts: 2,360
FF Reputation: 9 Kipp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
constant and ground are in the factory radio harness so that's not an issue. just need to get acc from somewhere else. i'm not a fan of doing fuse taps, but alot of people use them with no issues. you just need a good acc source (does not have power during start) and tap that and make sure to put an inline fuse on it for added protection and you should be good.
__________________
2013 F150 4x4 SCrew XLT 5.0L
Midwest Crew #22
Official FocusFest Event Planner
Kipp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2013, 08:55 AM   #10
Urbanspacedude91
Focus Enthusiast
 
Urbanspacedude91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91432
Location: Freeport, NY
What I Drive: 2010 Blue Flame Duratec

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 1 Urbanspacedude91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
You have no idea how valuable your info is . Thanks alot im doing this tonight!!
__________________
I drive a Focus and You noticed!
Urbanspacedude91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.