Double din 08-11 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2013, 10:06 PM   #1
Urbanspacedude91
Focus Enthusiast
 
Urbanspacedude91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91432
Location: Freeport, NY
What I Drive: 2010 Blue Flame Duratec

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 1 Urbanspacedude91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Double din 08-11

Anybody here have a double din in their focus???


__________________
I drive a Focus and You noticed!
Urbanspacedude91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2013, 10:45 PM   #2
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,383
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Many members on here have a double din in their second gen! I have comtimplated it many many times and may do it here before too long. Its fairly simple to do, especially if you do it the right way and get a aftermarket plug and play harness for our model focus
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 06:41 AM   #3
popwarhomie
Focus Enthusiast
 
popwarhomie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94974
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 10 Focus coupe / 94 Lightning

Posts: 424
FF Reputation: 1 popwarhomie Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I has.
__________________
2010 Focus SE coupe 5 speed
Pioneer 80prs/AQ2200D/BK800.4/6 PPA mids/4 PH25 tweets/AlphaDamp/Projector retrofit/LED tails/ Walled with 2 DC 18"s
94 Lightning
A lot of mods.
popwarhomie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 08:11 AM   #4
Snyper
Focus Enthusiast
 
Snyper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96688
Location: Newburgh, NY
What I Drive: 2009 Black SE

Posts: 364
FF Reputation: 2 Snyper Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Someone here selling a plug n play harness and everything you'd need for real cheap - I don't know if they still have it or not.
Snyper is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:33 PM   #5
Urbanspacedude91
Focus Enthusiast
 
Urbanspacedude91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91432
Location: Freeport, NY
What I Drive: 2010 Blue Flame Duratec

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 1 Urbanspacedude91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
I just bought mines off ebay real cheap your better off just buying new. Its called the metra kit.
__________________
I drive a Focus and You noticed!
Urbanspacedude91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 01:33 PM   #6
Urbanspacedude91
Focus Enthusiast
 
Urbanspacedude91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91432
Location: Freeport, NY
What I Drive: 2010 Blue Flame Duratec

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 1 Urbanspacedude91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Now question i tried hooking it up and my message center went completely dead. Any ideas???
__________________
I drive a Focus and You noticed!
Urbanspacedude91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:07 PM   #7
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,383
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urbanspacedude91 View Post
Now question i tried hooking it up and my message center went completely dead. Any ideas???
That is what happens when you install an aftermarket radio. the message center is no longer used.. its just there.. that is why I have not switched to an aftermarket radio yet
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:33 PM   #8
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,030
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
I have a Kenwood headunit with the PAC module for keep the SYNC capability. My message center still works properly. I may be the module you guys are using.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 02:51 PM   #9
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,383
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUrivie View Post
I have a Kenwood headunit with the PAC module for keep the SYNC capability. My message center still works properly. I may be the module you guys are using.
Most people do not add the additional module though. Simply get the aftermarket headunit, dashkit, and the plug in harness to connect the wires from the new radio to so that they don't splice the factory wires. Many of us do not have sync so it comes down to do we want to pay for the expensive module used for sync in order to only keep the thermometer in the message center because we do not have the other functions that come with sync.
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 03:00 PM   #10
Urbanspacedude91
Focus Enthusiast
 
Urbanspacedude91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91432
Location: Freeport, NY
What I Drive: 2010 Blue Flame Duratec

Posts: 198
FF Reputation: 1 Urbanspacedude91 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Okay so im in the good then. Just wondering this certain display wouldnt be connected to anything vital to the focus correct. Just for information sake what if it was shorted?? what else would go as well?
__________________
I drive a Focus and You noticed!
Urbanspacedude91 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.