SYNC System Thread - Page 33 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-08-2013, 04:06 PM   #321
PratoN
Focus Fanatic
 
PratoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88058
Location: Milwaukee, WI
What I Drive: 2012 Kona Blue Ti Hatchback, DCT

Posts: 3,896
Points 2,841, Level 32
Points: 2,841, Level: 32 Points: 2,841, Level: 32 Points: 2,841, Level: 32
Level Up 61% Completed
Level up: 61% Level up: 61% Level up: 61%
Forum Activity 10%
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
FF Reputation: 13 PratoN Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by suss6052 View Post
It's only for mobile software that would connect to the car via Applink, and at the moment the only Foci that this would work for are the 2013 base sync radio models, none of the 2012s as they don't have applink, and no MFT equipped vehicle.
Oh, that's right. Ball sack.

Well, that's good - gives me time to learn how to code.

EDIT: Why don't the base 2012s have AppLink yet?
__________________
2012 FF Ti HB Kona Blue, Built 5/24/2011, 401A + Ti Handling Package, Parking Technology Package, Winter Package, Moonroof, and MFT w/NAV at v3.6 96k miles and counting...
PratoN is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-08-2013, 04:40 PM   #322
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,585
Points 9,588, Level 65
Points: 9,588, Level: 65 Points: 9,588, Level: 65 Points: 9,588, Level: 65
Level Up 80% Completed
Level up: 80% Level up: 80% Level up: 80%
Forum Activity 33%
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
FF Reputation: 24 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PratoN View Post
Oh, that's right. Ball sack.

Well, that's good - gives me time to learn how to code.

EDIT: Why don't the base 2012s have AppLink yet?
Ask IVT, there was no released sync g1 update from 3.1.1 (newer version is 3.1.4 in production) or 3.2.x to the 4.0x with applink on the 13 models
__________________
Moderator for: DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance, ST Performance, MK3 Focus

Last edited by suss6052; 01-09-2013 at 09:26 AM.
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2013, 05:16 PM   #323
PratoN
Focus Fanatic
 
PratoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88058
Location: Milwaukee, WI
What I Drive: 2012 Kona Blue Ti Hatchback, DCT

Posts: 3,896
Points 2,841, Level 32
Points: 2,841, Level: 32 Points: 2,841, Level: 32 Points: 2,841, Level: 32
Level Up 61% Completed
Level up: 61% Level up: 61% Level up: 61%
Forum Activity 10%
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
FF Reputation: 13 PratoN Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by suss6052 View Post
Ask IVT, there was no released sync g1 update from 3.1.1 (newer version is 3.1.4 in production) or 3.2.x to the 4.0x with applink on the 13 models
Not that it affects me, but it sounds kinda rude...
__________________
2012 FF Ti HB Kona Blue, Built 5/24/2011, 401A + Ti Handling Package, Parking Technology Package, Winter Package, Moonroof, and MFT w/NAV at v3.6 96k miles and counting...

Last edited by suss6052; 01-09-2013 at 09:25 AM.
PratoN is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2013, 05:31 PM   #324
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,585
Points 9,588, Level 65
Points: 9,588, Level: 65 Points: 9,588, Level: 65 Points: 9,588, Level: 65
Level Up 80% Completed
Level up: 80% Level up: 80% Level up: 80%
Forum Activity 33%
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
FF Reputation: 24 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PratoN View Post
Not that it affects me, but it sounds kinda rude...
I can see that there is a newer version of the software out there via some contacts, but I don't know if that was only intended for the 2013 sync modules or something because its not available on SMR, and afaik the dealer wouldn't update to it anyhow even if it was available as the car probably would pass the microphone functional test even if it does tend to have a problem listening sometimes to the same commands. Not all the time though.

I've also had sync w/ myford completely lock up to the point where it wouldn't respond to inputs from the sync paddle or switch back to aux in from the radio on occasion. So Sync G1 v3.1.1C is not without its faults either, but they dont' seem to be addressing any of them for current owners. its even worse than with MFT, well it seems that way. They at least are actively working on MFT even if it seems like all they do is screw it up.
__________________
Moderator for: DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance, ST Performance, MK3 Focus

Last edited by suss6052; 01-09-2013 at 09:25 AM.
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2013, 05:33 PM   #325
PratoN
Focus Fanatic
 
PratoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88058
Location: Milwaukee, WI
What I Drive: 2012 Kona Blue Ti Hatchback, DCT

Posts: 3,896
Points 2,841, Level 32
Points: 2,841, Level: 32 Points: 2,841, Level: 32 Points: 2,841, Level: 32
Level Up 61% Completed
Level up: 61% Level up: 61% Level up: 61%
Forum Activity 10%
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
FF Reputation: 13 PratoN Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by suss6052 View Post
They at least are actively working on MFT even if it seems like all they do is screw it up.
True that! I still haven't gone in for 3.5.1, but 3.2.2 (with the climate fix) seems to be a lot better so I'll deal with the BT connectivity dance until the SD cards and USBs come.
__________________
2012 FF Ti HB Kona Blue, Built 5/24/2011, 401A + Ti Handling Package, Parking Technology Package, Winter Package, Moonroof, and MFT w/NAV at v3.6 96k miles and counting...
PratoN is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2013, 05:19 AM   #326
scada
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107778
Location: Rockledge, FL
What I Drive: 2013, Silver, Focus S

Posts: 87
FF Reputation: 1 scada Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The hope would be that with this SDK and developer program, Ford is getting people in Silicon Valley involved. The talent there is much different than what is found in Michigan or Washington states. Maybe that back and forth will help the Sync team at Ford be better. Oh by the way this is under the testing tab on the Ford Developer website:

Test
Ensuring that your application properly interacts with the vehicle Human Machine Interface or “HMI”, the SYNC® software, and the user is the most important requirement after determining that your content is appropriate for in-vehicle use.

We cannot stress enough the necessity to thoroughly test every aspect of the AppLink™ command and control of each of the features in your connected app. It is frustrating to have applications crash while sitting on the couch, so you can imagine the frustration if the same happens while on the road.

Prior to submitting your app for approval, it is imperative that you perform and pass the full suite of tests provided on this site. It will be required that you submit records of your validation tests along with your approval request and Ford will reference these while completing our validation of your app.

You will want to make sure that you are accurately performing and passing the validation tests. Any apps that fail testing will incur a fee for subsequent submissions. The team here wants nothing more than to help you make your AppLink-enabled app available for Ford owners, but we are a small team and just can’t perform trial and error bug fixing.
scada is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2013, 05:20 AM   #327
scada
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107778
Location: Rockledge, FL
What I Drive: 2013, Silver, Focus S

Posts: 87
FF Reputation: 1 scada Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I think ultimately opening it to developers will be good as the Sync team will have weaknesses in the Sync software pointed out.
scada is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2013, 06:52 AM   #328
scada
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107778
Location: Rockledge, FL
What I Drive: 2013, Silver, Focus S

Posts: 87
FF Reputation: 1 scada Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Frak I had to reset the clock and date today. That is bullshit.
scada is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2013, 12:57 PM   #329
DoubleSh0t
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24900
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black SE Hatch

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 DoubleSh0t Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have the non MFT in my Focus and I use the Bluetooth audio frequently to stream music/Pandora/Spotify. Once the music is playing it works great. But if I shut off the car and come back even 3 minutes later, I have to activate Sync and say "Bluetooth audio" every single time. It keeps defaulting back to Line In even though the display says Bluetooth Media Stream. Can I get it to stay on Bluetooth audio and just press play on my phone? This is with an iPhone 5 running iOS 6.0.2.
DoubleSh0t is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2013, 03:09 PM   #330
scada
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107778
Location: Rockledge, FL
What I Drive: 2013, Silver, Focus S

Posts: 87
FF Reputation: 1 scada Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Latest thing, I can't get it to recognize any apps.
scada is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.