Winter Tires, absolutely necessary to install TPMS? - Focus Fanatics
Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forums
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack

Wheels & Tires - Sponsored By Tire Rack The place to go for answers on wheel types, tire sizes, offset, wheel patterns and more.
Sponsored By:
Tire Rack


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2013, 06:43 PM   #1
djacqo
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 94648
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
What I Drive: 2010 Silver Focus SES Coupe

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 djacqo Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Winter Tires, absolutely necessary to install TPMS?

Hello everyone!

I live in southeast Michigan and we don't get a lot of snow so I don't really need winter tires for most of the time, even in the winter. However, I go snowboarding a few times a year up north and in the mountains and the stock tires on my 2010 Focus SES can't handle well in any significant snow.

So, I don't feel I need the TPMS in the wheels, as I can keep track of my tire pressure myself and I don't care if the light comes on the dashboard for the duration of a trip. Will the car's performance be affected in any other way without them installed? I haven't found whether or not the computer will try to compensate or something. I'm seeing lots of cheap used wheel and tire sets around but they don't have TPMS.

Bonus question: Does anyone know of a particular 15"wheel that will clear the calipers or will all befine? Is it just better to go with a 16"?

Thanks,
Dave


djacqo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-05-2013, 07:26 PM   #2
Twenty
Sonic's Mk3 Crew #17
 
Twenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90312
Location: Calgary, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Yellow Blaze SE sedan

Posts: 3,857
FF Reputation: 8 Twenty Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
It can be illegal to disable TPMS. Best to check into that for your area.
__________________
officialTHREETWENTY
2012 Yellow Blaze Focus SE Sedan (DD+Project)
1992 Bright White Grand Prix SE Sedan (Project)
SR #74/SMk3C #17/YBOC #03
Bill M.
Twenty is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 08:09 PM   #3
turbosleepa
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107143
Location: Petawawa, Canada
What I Drive: 2012, Black focus titanium

Posts: 44
FF Reputation: 1 turbosleepa Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i roll around without sensors in and the indicator on my dash has only been on one drive over the last two weeks
turbosleepa is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 08:13 PM   #4
dodgeguy
Focus Enthusiast
 
dodgeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85952
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
What I Drive: 2009 black SES

Posts: 283
FF Reputation: 1 dodgeguy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by djacqo View Post
I live in southeast Michigan and we don't get a lot of snow
LOL. funny. I just googled Ann Arbor annual snowfall average and it was 57". I agree we havent had much this year or last, but remember 2 years ago? 12 - 18" every other week it seemed.

Get some tires. Mount them on steelies. 15" cuz the 16" tires get way more expensive. I found some on Craigslist for $80 for 4. Thats my 2 cents, for what its worth.
__________________
K&N Air filter, uh - thats it, NO CAI, NO FSWerks, NO Exhaust, NO Coilovers, NO Tune, Nothing
dodgeguy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 08:14 PM   #5
dodgeguy
Focus Enthusiast
 
dodgeguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85952
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
What I Drive: 2009 black SES

Posts: 283
FF Reputation: 1 dodgeguy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Oh, and I dont have sensors on mine either. No problems..........
__________________
K&N Air filter, uh - thats it, NO CAI, NO FSWerks, NO Exhaust, NO Coilovers, NO Tune, Nothing
dodgeguy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:17 PM   #6
Bwhit1
Focus Enthusiast
 
Bwhit1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95170
Location: Franklin, OH
What I Drive: 03 svt focus

Posts: 180
FF Reputation: 1 Bwhit1 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Simple fix for the light is take PVC pipe drill 4 holes in it cap off the ends and put 32psi in it and put it with the spare. That should take care of it
Bwhit1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 10:27 PM   #7
Joeywhat
Strichmädchen & Koks
 
Joeywhat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85247
Location: Brighton, MI
What I Drive: 2014 Mustang 3.7L SGM

Posts: 2,347
FF Reputation: 8 Joeywhat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I don't have sensors in mine, either.

It's annoying, but thats about it. I just wish the freakin' light wouldn't flash...then I wouldn't be bothered by it so much.
__________________
Hatch Nation #29
Joeywhat is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:19 AM   #8
SVTFOCI03
Focus Rookie
 
SVTFOCI03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103052
Location: Fresno, CA
What I Drive: 2003 Silver Svt Focus

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 SVTFOCI03 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
We do alot of wheel and tire swaps and powder coating wheels and a few of our customers run a different set of wheels and tires for winter and we leave the sensors in the nice wheels, it sets the light but as long as you can love with that you'll be golden!
SVTFOCI03 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:36 AM   #9
FreakNastyFocus
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
FreakNastyFocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 86009
Location: United States, United States
What I Drive: Minneapolis

Posts: 35
FF Reputation: 1 FreakNastyFocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Can you re-flash the PCM to remove the TPMS code perminately?
FreakNastyFocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 10:39 AM   #10
BLRich1
Nope, Chuck Testa
 
BLRich1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Fan#: 22758
Location: Lincoln, NE
What I Drive: '03 Red EAP SVT, '04 Silver SVT

Posts: 5,938
FF Reputation: 17 BLRich1 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twenty View Post
It can be illegal to disable TPMS. Best to check into that for your area.
can be? It is.

But who am I to speak. I'm way beyond "legal" on my car.
__________________
My Rides:
'13 Ingot Silver Escape Titanium AWD
'03 Infra Red EAP SVT, #1687, 1 of 101
'04 CD Silver SVT, #877, 1 of 135 May 2011 ROTM, FF11: Best Display, Best of Show; AFN12: Best SVT, Best Audio, Finest Five, Carlisle Nifty Fifty
BLRich1 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.