2008 Ford Focus SES w/ Sync no Factory Sub - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2012, 08:53 AM   #1
BThresher183
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107268
Location: Claremont, NH
What I Drive: Silver 2008 Ford Focus SES

Posts: 22
FF Reputation: 1 BThresher183 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2008 Ford Focus SES w/ Sync no Factory Sub

Hi Guys,

I'm new here. I've been trying to find answers to this before posting, but I am just not finding what I need to know. I am planning on hooking up a amp/sub to the factory head unit for now. Do I need to tap into the rear speaker w/ a converter? Or are there any aux inputs on the back of the factory Stereo. Its also a 6 disc changer as well. Sorry if this has been asked already, I couldn't find the answer. I plan on doing it this weekend so I am trying to get my research done. Thanks for any and all help. Hope everyone had a good Holiday!

-Brad


BThresher183 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2012, 08:42 AM   #2
BThresher183
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107268
Location: Claremont, NH
What I Drive: Silver 2008 Ford Focus SES

Posts: 22
FF Reputation: 1 BThresher183 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I finally found a rear view picture of the stereo and I don't see any RCA plugs or aux ports. I am just going to splice in straight to the speaker level inputs on the amp. I'll probably splice in right at the head unit. Any body have tips or trick in doing that? :)
BThresher183 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:59 PM   #3
mrpeaches
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103895
Location: Buena Vista, CO
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus SE Hatchback

Posts: 41
FF Reputation: 1 mrpeaches Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Are you sure your amp has speaker-level inputs? Several do, but it's a little more rare.

Otherwise your plan sounds good.
mrpeaches is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 07:09 PM   #4
BThresher183
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107268
Location: Claremont, NH
What I Drive: Silver 2008 Ford Focus SES

Posts: 22
FF Reputation: 1 BThresher183 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I believe so. It is an MTX Thunder 282, and has the connector like the one that is found on the 4 Pin atx Power supply connection on a computer. It says "Speaker Level Input" so I am assuming that will work as my converter. There are 4 wires, Pos and Neg for left and right speakers. I was thinking I will tie both positives together, and both negative together, and splice it into a speaker line. Does that sound correct?
BThresher183 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 08:59 PM   #5
gary.forehand
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107511
Location: Kingsland, GA
What I Drive: 2008 Black Ford Focus Sedan

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 gary.forehand Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I just installed an Infinity Basslink 200 watt powered subwoofer along with Kicker KS68's front/rear. The job was fun and easy. Purchased trim removal kit on Amazon which really helped in removing the trim pieces. The Basslink comes with custom speaker wires which I spliced between the HU with T-Tap connectors (no cutting of the stock wires). No LOC required and remote turn on senses power on speaker wires. Amazing sound over the stock speakers and the bass thunders and you feel it. There are excellent threads on removing the door panels and the head unit for access to the wires.
gary.forehand is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 09:59 PM   #6
BThresher183
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 107268
Location: Claremont, NH
What I Drive: Silver 2008 Ford Focus SES

Posts: 22
FF Reputation: 1 BThresher183 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Just did the install today. Everything went fairly smoothly. Spliced into both left and right rear speaker wires at the head unit. Come to find out, the remote wire cannot be hooked up to a "switch" or "Accessory" wiring running into the head unit. The signal is digital instead of analog and will not turn the amp on. We had to hook it up to one of the switched accessories in the fuse box.

We ran the power down the drivers side floor and went through the wiring harness for the fuse box hole in the firewall. The speaker lines and remote went down the same path on the passenger side. I hooked my ground to one of the braces in the ceiling of the trunk.
BThresher183 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.