Upgrading Footwell/Cupholder Lighting - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Second Generation > MK2 Focus

MK2 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the second generation 2008-2011 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-26-2012, 06:55 PM   #1
DarderSauce
Focus Addict
 
DarderSauce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95564
Location: Blaine, MN
What I Drive: '08 Vermillion Red 5 speed SEdan

Posts: 1,093
FF Reputation: 5 DarderSauce Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Lightbulb Upgrading Footwell/Cupholder Lighting

So I have been throwing an idea around, just putting out a feeler to see if anyone has any additional information before I try to make it work. My focus did not come with cup or foot well lights like the 2009+ SES's but I noticed when I had my center counsel off that I have an unused plugin near the passengers feet. I would take the center counsel out to show you the plugin but it's a whopping 4 degrees out so this is the best I can do. The green square is the area with the plugin


Light by DarderSauce, on Flickr

Just wondering if anyone with factory cup/foot well lighting can tell me where the power supply for the lights comes from? If the plug I am thinking of is the power, all I would need to make the upgrade work is a new info center control switch for the lighting and Traction control, and a center counsel that has the LED's in it. I know there are cheaper ways to do it (installing aftermarket LED's) but I like the way the factory lighting looks.

Let me know what you guys think. As always, helpful information is much appreciated.

Thanks!


__________________
If you can't wear it out, burn it off
DarderSauce is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-26-2012, 07:00 PM   #2
DarderSauce
Focus Addict
 
DarderSauce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95564
Location: Blaine, MN
What I Drive: '08 Vermillion Red 5 speed SEdan

Posts: 1,093
FF Reputation: 5 DarderSauce Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
BTW, this is the switch to control the TC and lighting I was talking about. Anyone know the actual name for this?


Switch by DarderSauce, on Flickr
__________________
If you can't wear it out, burn it off
DarderSauce is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:54 PM   #3
VonKrause
Unicorn Owner
 
VonKrause's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 72283
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: 2009 Ice Blue 5 speed 4 door FoFo

Posts: 2,757
FF Reputation: 7 VonKrause Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
I was actually talking to someone at work about this today, Creepy. Anyway, he says that the plug you are talking about is indeed for the LEDs in the SEL's and SES's. He has to double check to make sure but this is the guy that rebuilds and sells focus', same guy I got my headliner and black interior from. He just picked up an SEL to work on and is going to check it out and let me know, and once I know I'll let you know. Provided you don't find out before hand, and if you do, tell me.
__________________
Get your trunk or hatch LED conversion kits here http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?p=4542652#post4542652
"2nd Gen problems"
I've spent too long looking into the abyss. It's starting to look back.
SR #233
VonKrause is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 07:58 PM   #4
DarderSauce
Focus Addict
 
DarderSauce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95564
Location: Blaine, MN
What I Drive: '08 Vermillion Red 5 speed SEdan

Posts: 1,093
FF Reputation: 5 DarderSauce Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
That is creepy. But ya I will let you know if I find out. Kinda wondering if upgrading the lighting would be worth the ~$150 (estimate).
__________________
If you can't wear it out, burn it off
DarderSauce is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:01 PM   #5
Dukttape
Focus Enthusiast
 
Dukttape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94135
Location: Fort Atkinson, WI
What I Drive: 2011 Sangria Red SE Sedan "Fiona"

Posts: 121
FF Reputation: 1 Dukttape Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I've also been looking at doing this myself but haven't found an OEM set anywhere. Where did you find an OEM set-up? Install wouldn't be an issue I've pulled the center console out twice now and will probably pull it again this spring.
__________________
Roush performance intake, Exedy 12.5 lb flywheel, Massive 76A lower engine mount... more to come with more money.
Dukttape is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 06:23 AM   #6
DarderSauce
Focus Addict
 
DarderSauce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95564
Location: Blaine, MN
What I Drive: '08 Vermillion Red 5 speed SEdan

Posts: 1,093
FF Reputation: 5 DarderSauce Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dukttape View Post
I've also been looking at doing this myself but haven't found an OEM set anywhere. Where did you find an OEM set-up? Install wouldn't be an issue I've pulled the center console out twice now and will probably pull it again this spring.

There is a salvage yard near my house that just so happens to have a few MKII's in their parts yard, I will go talk to them next week sometime.

They also have 1 with leather seats, if they are heated I might get a price on those too. But with leater interior I would need to swap out the door panels which is no big deal.

Next Question
Do seats with heating elements hook up to the same harness the cloth seats use?
__________________
If you can't wear it out, burn it off
DarderSauce is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 12:35 PM   #7
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,386
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
$35 on amazon and you get more control over colors patterns and speed of color change. Many of us here on the forum have this kit. Its very easy to install and looks clean and like it came in the car like the oem one. Here is your link:
http://www.amazon.com/Multi-Color-Co...s=led+dash+kit
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 02:44 PM   #8
Snyper
Focus Enthusiast
 
Snyper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96688
Location: Newburgh, NY
What I Drive: 2009 Black SE

Posts: 398
FF Reputation: 2 Snyper Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by crice8 View Post
$35 on amazon and you get more control over colors patterns and speed of color change. Many of us here on the forum have this kit. Its very easy to install and looks clean and like it came in the car like the oem one. Here is your link:
http://www.amazon.com/Multi-Color-Co...s=led+dash+kit

That's the kit I'll be ordering soon.
I've found the OEM kit on eBay for $250 at times, but that's just a waste of money.
I'm going to look for this plug in down near the passenger feet because I've never seen it in my car, and I've pulled my center console out two times, but I wasn't actively looking for a plug in there. Even if you get the Amazon kit listed, you'd still need a harness to plug it in and the new 3 button 'piece' that I do not know the name for.
Snyper is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 02:58 PM   #9
crice8
Focus Fanatic
 
crice8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84830
Location: tyler, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Sterling Gray Focus SE Sedan

Posts: 3,386
FF Reputation: 9 crice8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snyper View Post
That's the kit I'll be ordering soon.
I've found the OEM kit on eBay for $250 at times, but that's just a waste of money.
I'm going to look for this plug in down near the passenger feet because I've never seen it in my car, and I've pulled my center console out two times, but I wasn't actively looking for a plug in there. Even if you get the Amazon kit listed, you'd still need a harness to plug it in and the new 3 button 'piece' that I do not know the name for.
No additional harness is required With the Amazon kit. You simply splice into a power wire since the 3 button panel that comes with has an independent power button. Then just connect the ground wire to a body panel bolt anywhere in the dash.
__________________
Galatians 6:14
crice8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2012, 03:02 PM   #10
Snyper
Focus Enthusiast
 
Snyper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96688
Location: Newburgh, NY
What I Drive: 2009 Black SE

Posts: 398
FF Reputation: 2 Snyper Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
But what if you were planning on using this extra plug in that darder talks about? I briefly looked a minute ago and didn't find it.

I plan on using an add-a-fuse for mine.
Snyper is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.