Navigation and Back Up Camera - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus ST > Focus ST

Focus ST The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the MK3 2013-Current Focus ST.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2012, 09:57 PM   #1
shineboy
Focus Enthusiast
 
shineboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 60173
Location: Holly Springs, NC, United States
What I Drive: 2013 ST, 2004 Cobra

Posts: 175
Points 1,185, Level 18
Points: 1,185, Level: 18 Points: 1,185, Level: 18 Points: 1,185, Level: 18
Level Up 85% Completed
Level up: 85% Level up: 85% Level up: 85%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 shineboy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Navigation and Back Up Camera

I bought a ST2 with nav... anyone know if a back up camera can be added?


shineboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-16-2012, 07:01 PM   #2
shineboy
Focus Enthusiast
 
shineboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 60173
Location: Holly Springs, NC, United States
What I Drive: 2013 ST, 2004 Cobra

Posts: 175
Points 1,185, Level 18
Points: 1,185, Level: 18 Points: 1,185, Level: 18 Points: 1,185, Level: 18
Level Up 85% Completed
Level up: 85% Level up: 85% Level up: 85%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 shineboy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
or should come with one?
shineboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2012, 10:02 PM   #3
shineboy
Focus Enthusiast
 
shineboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 60173
Location: Holly Springs, NC, United States
What I Drive: 2013 ST, 2004 Cobra

Posts: 175
Points 1,185, Level 18
Points: 1,185, Level: 18 Points: 1,185, Level: 18 Points: 1,185, Level: 18
Level Up 85% Completed
Level up: 85% Level up: 85% Level up: 85%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 shineboy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
anybody out there...............
__________________
2013 ST2 for DD
2004 Terminator for fun
shineboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2012, 12:21 AM   #4
Now534
Focus Addict
 
Now534's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Fan#: 76549
Location: Norwalk, IA
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black ST2

Posts: 1,295
Points 1,744, Level 24
Points: 1,744, Level: 24 Points: 1,744, Level: 24 Points: 1,744, Level: 24
Level Up 44% Completed
Level up: 44% Level up: 44% Level up: 44%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 6 Now534 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
You can put one on there from what i have seen you have to get a plate frame camera then get a module (navtv) to get it to work. Its well over $500 i believe to do.
Now534 is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2012, 10:09 PM   #5
acbauza
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104447
Location: Eagleville, PA
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Focus ST

Posts: 35
FF Reputation: 1 acbauza Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
If you get the Nav update from the dealer then it will stop reminding you the camera is not there.
acbauza is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2012, 06:00 PM   #6
shineboy
Focus Enthusiast
 
shineboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Fan#: 60173
Location: Holly Springs, NC, United States
What I Drive: 2013 ST, 2004 Cobra

Posts: 175
Points 1,185, Level 18
Points: 1,185, Level: 18 Points: 1,185, Level: 18 Points: 1,185, Level: 18
Level Up 85% Completed
Level up: 85% Level up: 85% Level up: 85%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 shineboy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by acbauza View Post
If you get the Nav update from the dealer then it will stop reminding you the camera is not there.
Good to know, thanks!!
__________________
2013 ST2 for DD
2004 Terminator for fun
shineboy is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2012, 09:51 PM   #7
acbauza
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104447
Location: Eagleville, PA
What I Drive: 2013 Performance Blue Focus ST

Posts: 35
FF Reputation: 1 acbauza Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by shineboy View Post
Good to know, thanks!!
Bring a book. It took the dealer 2 + hrs to reflash the system. The upgrade made the system much more stable, but I've noticed the radio is acting a bit weird. Could be a fluke. Overall much better.
acbauza is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-24-2012, 08:26 PM   #8
Bagdasar
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103638
Location: Colchester, CT
What I Drive: 2009 BMW 335i xDrive; Focus ST soon

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 Bagdasar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Now534 View Post
You can put one on there from what i have seen you have to get a plate frame camera then get a module (navtv) to get it to work. Its well over $500 i believe to do.
Definitely well over $500. The nav-tv module alone is $500 plus perhaps $150 for your camera and another $150 to install brings you to around $800 to pay for someone else to do the job.
Bagdasar is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 10:23 AM   #9
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 950
Points 2,145, Level 27
Points: 2,145, Level: 27 Points: 2,145, Level: 27 Points: 2,145, Level: 27
Level Up 97% Completed
Level up: 97% Level up: 97% Level up: 97%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by shineboy View Post
I bought a ST2 with nav... anyone know if a back up camera can be added?
Hi, shineboy -

Congrats on the new ST! As close as I get to one is playing Need For Speed.

To answer your question, the back up camera cannot be added once the vehicle has left the factory.

Please don't hesitate to give me a shout if I can help with anything else.

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-02-2013, 04:16 PM   #10
bigdesignmachine
Focus Enthusiast
 
bigdesignmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Fan#: 73457
Location: Leander, TX
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black ST2

Posts: 196
FF Reputation: 1 bigdesignmachine Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Im curious as to why the camera cant be added once the car has left the showroom. Is this to say that it can be added prior to us taking possession of our ST and taking it home?

If that is the case, it would seem logical that Ford would just simple add the option of the backup camera to the ST.

I know larger cars running MFT and LFT have backup cameras. The Focus in general; especially the hatchback models, would have benefited from the backup camera simply due to their small rear windows and limited viewing.

There are a couple short sighted choices Ford made on the ST that I wish could / would be remedied with newer models of the ST. This is one of them that drives me nuts.

I always thought of the SVT and now ST as the Focus you bought because you wanted extra power, sexier looks, and some creature comforts that even the top of line trim package wouldnt get you on a trim under the SVT / ST.

This doesnt seem to be the case anymore.






Quote:
Originally Posted by FordIVTteam View Post
Hi, shineboy -

Congrats on the new ST! As close as I get to one is playing Need For Speed.

To answer your question, the back up camera cannot be added once the vehicle has left the factory.

Please don't hesitate to give me a shout if I can help with anything else.

Jaclyn
bigdesignmachine is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.