MFT 3.5.1 The Good... - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 12:38 AM   #11
Faygo Focus
Focus Addict
 
Faygo Focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85587
Location: Detroit, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Tuxedo Ti with James Bond Pkg

Posts: 568
FF Reputation: 2 Faygo Focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Nav functions are noticeably faster. Enter a street address and you'll see what I mean.

Ability to receive text messages via iPhone is also another big plus.
Faygo Focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-11-2012, 01:06 PM   #12
red-i
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 18685
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Ti - Tuxedo Black

Posts: 130
FF Reputation: 1 red-i Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
the update on SMR mentions this:

•Simplified voice commands for music

any idea how they've simplified it?
red-i is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 01:15 PM   #13
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,868
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Things like just being able to just say "Play <title>" without having to say "song", "artist", "album name", "genre", etc. in there. You can just say "Play <Sirius station name>" without having to tell the system "Sirius" first and then the station name on the second prompt. You can just say "AM <frequency #>" or "FM <frequency #>". Things like that.
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 01:24 PM   #14
Just Tom
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106663
Location: Sunny SoCal, CA
What I Drive: 2013 Focus Ti (5 Dr.)

Posts: 227
FF Reputation: 3 Just Tom Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Just got the update over the weekend. So far so good. I also agree with the comment somebody made earlier about the Ford engineers paying attention to the complaints. It's quite reassuring to know that people are working on solutions long after the sale has been made.
Just Tom is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 01:45 PM   #15
erogers10287
Focus Enthusiast
 
erogers10287's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Fan#: 101431
Location: East Greenbush, NY
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black Focus ST3

Posts: 50
FF Reputation: 2 erogers10287 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
As far as the black vs. blue background in the small LCD by the gauge cluster, I have a friend with a 2012 SE and his background is blue and I have a Titanium with a black background. His car was built first, so I dont know if its something they changed with an update, or something with the higher trim levels gets it. Im not sure what the difference is other than color but I like my black background better
erogers10287 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 01:49 PM   #16
red-i
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 18685
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Ti - Tuxedo Black

Posts: 130
FF Reputation: 1 red-i Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by copernicium112 View Post
Things like just being able to just say "Play <title>" without having to say "song", "artist", "album name", "genre", etc. in there. You can just say "Play <Sirius station name>" without having to tell the system "Sirius" first and then the station name on the second prompt. You can just say "AM <frequency #>" or "FM <frequency #>". Things like that.
oh wow that's actually really great. the 2 step prompts to flip between inputs is a tad cumbersome.

does that mean if you're in music you can just say "set temp 23 degrees" too?

i did the update today (haven't played around with it). the first thing i noticed was that it said my usb stick (with my mp3s on it) wasn't recnogized. i plugged it in a few times and got the same thing. hopefullly i'ts not an issue. i had that happen a couple times but it resolved itself on its own.
red-i is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:14 PM   #17
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,868
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by red-i View Post
does that mean if you're in music you can just say "set temp 23 degrees" too?
Not sure. Haven't tried this. I'll give it a try on my way home tonight to see.

Quote:
Originally Posted by red-i View Post
i did the update today (haven't played around with it). the first thing i noticed was that it said my usb stick (with my mp3s on it) wasn't recnogized. i plugged it in a few times and got the same thing. hopefullly i'ts not an issue. i had that happen a couple times but it resolved itself on its own.
Did you do a master reset after installation? If not, I would. Mine was all sorts of quirky after installation and a master reset seemed to take care of the problems (first time a master reset ever served a constructive purpose for me personally).
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:19 PM   #18
red-i
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Fan#: 18685
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Ti - Tuxedo Black

Posts: 130
FF Reputation: 1 red-i Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
no, probably a good idea. i haven't done ye ol' MR in quite some time... since couple updates back.

update: that did the trick :) seems master reset saves your presets now too? or has that been the case for awhile? nice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by copernicium112 View Post
Not sure. Haven't tried this. I'll give it a try on my way home tonight to see.



Did you do a master reset after installation? If not, I would. Mine was all sorts of quirky after installation and a master reset seemed to take care of the problems (first time a master reset ever served a constructive purpose for me personally).
red-i is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:59 PM   #19
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,388
FF Reputation: 23 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by erogers10287 View Post
As far as the black vs. blue background in the small LCD by the gauge cluster, I have a friend with a 2012 SE and his background is blue and I have a Titanium with a black background. His car was built first, so I dont know if its something they changed with an update, or something with the higher trim levels gets it. Im not sure what the difference is other than color but I like my black background better
No that's just the tweak that was made in software to distinguish between cars with sync w/ myford and cars with myfordtouch.
__________________
Moderator for: DURATEC Ti-VCT Performance, ST Performance, MK3 Focus
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 04:54 PM   #20
Kabigon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88299
Location: Torrance, CA
What I Drive: 2012 sterling gray Titanium

Posts: 3,003
FF Reputation: 10 Kabigon Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by copernicium112 View Post
Things like just being able to just say "Play <title>" without having to say "song", "artist", "album name", "genre", etc. in there. You can just say "Play <Sirius station name>" without having to tell the system "Sirius" first and then the station name on the second prompt. You can just say "AM <frequency #>" or "FM <frequency #>". Things like that.
Are these changes documented or is the user supposed to figure it all out by trial and error?
Kabigon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.