My Ford Touch Thread - Page 261 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 09:02 AM   #2601
jbird1955
Focus Enthusiast
 
jbird1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Fan#: 48235
Location: Tewksbury, MA
What I Drive: 2014 Tuxedo Black Ti Hatch

Posts: 134
FF Reputation: 1 jbird1955 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Just did my update via the PDF. Followed the directions and also some of the other posts here that suggest the master reset (before and after). Confirmed install on SMR as 3.5.1 (from 3.2.2).

Observations: Soft Climate control is back and fully operational. I see the soft buttons as being A LOT more snappier. I'm not seeing the funky AM display that a couple of others saw.

I do recall seeing somewhere, I think maybe a post of the LA show of the Before and After screens where the After screen didn't show the compass and temp icons on the top bar. Both were still present on mine following the update.

LONG process. I did notice as I sat there watching the screens change that there was an MS Service Pack install too early on. As I've always said (and others have disagreed) MS is the main issue with this system. I'm glad to see them working on it though with the service pack.

Joe
__________________
Ford Focus 2014 Hatchback 300A Titanium w/ Moonroof
Tuxedo Black Metallic
jbird1955 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-09-2012, 11:57 AM   #2602
Kabigon
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88299
Location: Torrance, CA
What I Drive: 2012 sterling gray Titanium

Posts: 2,841
FF Reputation: 8 Kabigon Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbird1955 View Post
As I've always said (and others have disagreed) MS is the main issue with this system.
Are you saying that the known bugs are not caused by MFT (and Flash Lite) itself but rather the underlying OS?

How exactly do you know this? Are you a developer with experience in MS Auto?
Kabigon is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 12:13 PM   #2603
skramblr
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86363
Location: Portland, OR
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL & 2012 Mustang GT

Posts: 73
FF Reputation: 1 skramblr Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kabigon View Post
Are you saying that the known bugs are not caused by MFT (and Flash Lite) itself but rather the underlying OS?

How exactly do you know this? Are you a developer with experience in MS Auto?
I wasn't going to comment, but someone else started... I don't remember any thread blaming the underlying OS, but rather the original SW developer (B-squared) and and their bad code. But to the original poster's comment - Yes, MS has stepped in to help fix it (the bad code, not the OS).

IE this link
skramblr is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 01:35 PM   #2604
jamesy628
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 106893
Location: South Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 Ford Focus SEL HB - Red Candy

Posts: 25
FF Reputation: 1 jamesy628 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I was hoping it would be fixed with 3.5.1 but I am pretty upset that my phone's music via bluetooth audio will not display artist/track information via the MFT. On another note, when I try to plug in via USB, the MFT says that there isn't enough power to charge my phone and my device isn't supported via USB.

WTF? A USB port was pretty important for long car drives to be able to charge a phone.. and listen to music. I have a HTC Rezound.
__________________
2012 Ford Focus SEL
Hatchback, Red Candy Metallic, Automatic DCT,
Equip 303A, Winter Package, Moonroof, 17" Alloy
jamesy628 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 02:25 PM   #2605
blackraven456
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88061
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Black Focus Titanium Sedan

Posts: 967
FF Reputation: 1 blackraven456 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesy628 View Post
I was hoping it would be fixed with 3.5.1 but I am pretty upset that my phone's music via bluetooth audio will not display artist/track information via the MFT. On another note, when I try to plug in via USB, the MFT says that there isn't enough power to charge my phone and my device isn't supported via USB.

WTF? A USB port was pretty important for long car drives to be able to charge a phone.. and listen to music. I have a HTC Rezound.
While I rarely defend mft, chances are your phone is the culprit here. It just may not be very compatible. What operating system is your phone running?
__________________
2012 Titanium Sedan, Ebony Black - 400A, Luxury Package
Ordered: July 14 VIN received: August 19 Sticker: Sept 3 Build Date: Sept 10 Delivered: Sept 21
blackraven456 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 02:35 PM   #2606
jamesy628
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Fan#: 106893
Location: South Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 Ford Focus SEL HB - Red Candy

Posts: 25
FF Reputation: 1 jamesy628 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
It's running Ice Cream Sandwich. And is 4g.
__________________
2012 Ford Focus SEL
Hatchback, Red Candy Metallic, Automatic DCT,
Equip 303A, Winter Package, Moonroof, 17" Alloy
jamesy628 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 02:39 PM   #2607
gurkpimpin
Focus Enthusiast
 
gurkpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63495
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, MI
What I Drive: 2001 Tornado Red Focus Sedan

Posts: 309
FF Reputation: 2 gurkpimpin Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Try xda developers forum they maybe able to help with that issue

Sent from my SPH-D700 using FF Mobile
__________________
My Focus Is Just A Focus For Now But Who Knows Wait Awaits Diablo. "If guns kill people then,pencils misspell words, cars make people drive drunk and...spoons made Rosie O' Donnell fat"
gurkpimpin is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 05:29 PM   #2608
Now534
Focus Addict
 
Now534's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Fan#: 76549
Location: Norwalk, IA
What I Drive: 2013 Tuxedo Black ST2

Posts: 1,288
FF Reputation: 6 Now534 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Mine charges my S3 just fine

Sent from my SCH-I535 using FF Mobile
Now534 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:15 AM   #2609
jbird1955
Focus Enthusiast
 
jbird1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Fan#: 48235
Location: Tewksbury, MA
What I Drive: 2014 Tuxedo Black Ti Hatch

Posts: 134
FF Reputation: 1 jbird1955 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kabigon View Post
Are you saying that the known bugs are not caused by MFT (and Flash Lite) itself but rather the underlying OS?

How exactly do you know this? Are you a developer with experience in MS Auto?
No I am not. I work in high tech and support my engineers who do work with it and listen to their complaints. There's always been an issue with MS and the way things are simply layered onto each other and hog resources. Now Windows 8 and RT is a completely different ballgame for them although it maybe too late to save the company (yeah I know so before you tell me how many desktops and laptops use them but its economics). OSX for example is much cleaner and streamlined with its software integration.

Windows CE was made for handhelds that didn't need to do more than keep a directory of names and numbers. If they want to fix it migrate to RT.
__________________
Ford Focus 2014 Hatchback 300A Titanium w/ Moonroof
Tuxedo Black Metallic
jbird1955 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:44 AM   #2610
blasman
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102236
Location: Highland, IN
What I Drive: 2012 SEL

Posts: 13
FF Reputation: 1 blasman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Anyone else have an issue with the auto-zoom in navigation on 3.5.1? It seems that after a while, I can't zoom in nearly as far as usual. If I eject the SD card, wait a few min, and insert it, I can zoom in normal. Then once the auto-zoom kicks in, I can't zoom in as far anymore.
blasman is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.