Anyone with Navi MFT please chime in! - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 06:54 AM   #11
HillbillyInBC
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85169
Location: Vancouver BC, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Blue Candy Ti Hatch

Posts: 295
FF Reputation: 1 HillbillyInBC Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Mine struggles getting an initial bearing when I leave my home in Vancouver City Centre, only sorting itself out once I'm clear of the tall buildings. I'm curious to see if 3.5.1 helps with this (had it installed the day before I left on a business trip, and I'm still gone).
__________________
Blue Candy Ti Hatch
Charcoal Leather 401A Parking Luxury Handling Nav
HillbillyInBC is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2012, 08:23 AM   #12
Just Tom
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106663
Location: Sunny SoCal, CA
What I Drive: 2013 Focus Ti (5 Dr.)

Posts: 227
FF Reputation: 3 Just Tom Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aperson9923 View Post
When I bought my car I insisted that it have Navi built in and all complaints/praises aside, I need to ask those of you who navi with your MFT, do you have poor or no service sometimes when in the city? Everytime I am in San Francisco by the highrises, I completely lose my navi signal and it then becomes useless. My Garmin never had any signal issues (this is not intended as a diss towards MFT, im just stating the facts.) Im hopeing you guys can chime in because if it's just me then I will have my service guy look into this when I go in tomorrow. Thanks in Advance
I have Navi in my Ti and haven't experienced this issue myself, however the good news is there is a fix available for the problem you are experiencing. Don't go to San Francisco!! [bootyshak

sorry....I couldn't resist.
Just Tom is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:47 PM   #13
PennSt8
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87697
Location: West Hollywood, CA
What I Drive: 2012 Focus SEL Sdn & 2011 BMW 535i

Posts: 19
FF Reputation: 1 PennSt8 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I've had the same exact issue while driving through downtown Los Angeles. I also seem to have this issue upon leaving my garage at home. At times it takes several miles of driving before the GPS figures out where I am.
PennSt8 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:09 PM   #14
aperson9923
Focus Enthusiast
 
aperson9923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90061
Location: Bay Area - Marin County, CA
What I Drive: 2012 SGM Ti Hatch

Posts: 263
FF Reputation: 1 aperson9923 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Tom View Post
I have Navi in my Ti and haven't experienced this issue myself, however the good news is there is a fix available for the problem you are experiencing. Don't go to San Francisco!! [bootyshak

sorry....I couldn't resist.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PennSt8 View Post
I've had the same exact issue while driving through downtown Los Angeles. I also seem to have this issue upon leaving my garage at home. At times it takes several miles of driving before the GPS figures out where I am.
lol JustTom, well i guess i couldn't come visit you in sunny socal either without my navi

PennSt8 same here that is whats annoying about it is the lag. I wouldn't mind if it was lost for like 15 seconds, but think about how many blocks you are going the wrong way during the 3 minute recalculate...
__________________
2012 Sterling Grey Metallic Ford Focus Titanium Hatch
401A, Navi, MFT, Rain Sensing Wipers
Built: 11/28/11 Arrived: 12/16/11 (4 Miles)
Mods: Tint 20/5, LockPick & Backup Camera, K&N Drop In
aperson9923 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 06:12 PM   #15
Woggy64
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 104328
Location: Southern Cali, CA
What I Drive: '12 Ti 5dr with sport pkg & sunroof

Posts: 292
FF Reputation: 2 Woggy64 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aperson9923 View Post
Yea I thought it was odd to lose service in the city. Its a GPS that shouldn't happen unless im on the top if mt.everest. Thanks
You should get a great signal on top of Mt. Everest....

That said - what version of MFT and NAV SD card do you have? Mine often took a little time from startup in my garage until I got outside the building and on PCH - which is a six lane street here in Long Beach.

After getting the 3.5.1. update and the new A4 - as I back out of my garage it syncs up and starts to show my correct location now.
Woggy64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 06:05 PM   #16
wag4513
Focus Enthusiast
 
wag4513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87744
Location: Dallas, TX
What I Drive: 2011 Acura MDX

Posts: 183
FF Reputation: 1 wag4513 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
My TI sometimes thinks it is in Illinois when I start up in downtown Dallas. I noticed when I picked take me home. It said I was 1,200 miles from home, rather than 12. After a while it wakes up. and figures out where it is.

Sometimes it has me several blocks west of my actual position.
__________________
Silver Titanium, 401A, Tuscany Red,
Winter Package, 17" Polished Wheels,
Nav, MFT, Sync, and Parking Assist.
Ordered July 19th, Built August 12th,
Delivery estimate 8/29 Picked Up Car on 9/9
wag4513 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 09:22 PM   #17
VectorZ
Focus Enthusiast
 
VectorZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Fan#: 100457
Location: Eugene, OR
What I Drive: 12' Focus Titanium Sport Hatch

Posts: 333
FF Reputation: 3 VectorZ Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricomtl View Post
My experience so far is that if I happen to have a set destination and drive through a downtown area (highrises, ie. Montreal, Toronto, NYC), it works fine, HOWEVER... if I stop and start the car in the middle of downtown and want to continue destination, it will have a hard time repositionning. Last month while leaving my hotel in the Wall St. area (NYC), my GPS actually had my car floating over the Hudson river... only once I crossed over to Brooklyn 10 minutes later it finally kicked back in.
This happens to me when I'm in downtown Portland, Oregon.
VectorZ is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 02:48 PM   #18
yycwesty
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105304
Location: Cochrane, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 ford focus titanium

Posts: 12
FF Reputation: 1 yycwesty Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
we have to remember that in order to acquire a signal the vehicle has to be in direct line of sight with at least three of the satellites. If it can not triangulate your location, it will not be able to give you an accurate location. Hence when driving downtown in a city, those buildings are blocking the direct signal (signal cannot penetrate buildings) and initially it may provide feedback to your screen but as someone mentioned when you stop and then restart the car, it is not able to acquire the signal and you will be without GPS until you are in an area. Yes mount Everest would give you the best signal as you are receiving from all 28 or so satellites.

http://www.maptoaster.com/maptoaster...gps-works.html
yycwesty is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2012, 09:01 PM   #19
devvy
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88652
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Ford Focus SEL

Posts: 20
FF Reputation: 1 devvy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I find the GPS/Maps are visually pleasing however the software does not display nearby street names in many cases (and I'm not talking side streets, I'm talking major roads). I also find that the GPS tends to navigate me into traffic. I suppose that has to do with me not paying to keep my Sirius Satellite w/ Traffic. Compared to my old Garmin, it isn't as good. Integration in my dash is nice but if I could do it again, I'd have a Focus SE w/o MFT or Nav and just use my trusty Garmin.
devvy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 09:28 PM   #20
e30og
Focus Enthusiast
 
e30og's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 83765
Location: Baltimore, MD
What I Drive: '13 SG 4dr, Manual

Posts: 533
FF Reputation: 2 e30og Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
only have been downtown Baltimore but it never fails even in a parking garage, unless I am in the basement/sub basement (understandably)

always picks signal up quick
e30og is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.