Suggestions for information screen - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK3 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2012 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2012, 10:41 AM   #1
jeff_nc
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106534
Location: asheville, NC
What I Drive: 2013 performance blue titanium

Posts: 39
FF Reputation: 1 jeff_nc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Suggestions for information screen

I'm writing in the hopes someone from Ford monitors this forum and cares about owner suggestions. Here's my $.02 about the information screen between the tach and the speedometer on my 2013 Ti.

The bottom row displays the gear selection, compass heading, outside temp, and odometer. It is in low light, and I love it. Cruise control info on top is also great.

However, for the large, bright main portion of the screen, I have a number of choices, none of which are very important to me. I mean, the trip odometers and timers, the gas mileage info and the MyKey info may be important *sometimes*, but not important enough to be the brightest and centermost thing in my line of sight. Likewise the car image that I suppose will tell me if there is a problem with my car. Just don't need to see that all the time.

I would love it if Ford would add some other options for the main portion of the screen. One option would be to turn it off completely, except for emergency information. That would be "easy on the eyes" for long drives.

Another option might be to display the current speed and the current speed limit. Maybe current speed would turn red if it exceeds the speed limit. Right now, speed limit is only displayed on the map screen, and it is very small and hard to read.

Maybe other readers have other ideas?


jeff_nc is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-05-2012, 02:35 PM   #2
Woggy64
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 104328
Location: Southern Cali, CA
What I Drive: '12 Ti 5dr with sport pkg & sunroof

Posts: 292
FF Reputation: 2 Woggy64 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'd like it to show the the gear you are in - when I pull it into Sport mode it just shows S until I hit the +/- selection to change, then it starts to show what gear it's using in sport mode. I think it should show what gear you are in the minute you pull it into sport would be useful.
Woggy64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 02:41 PM   #3
cbdallas
Focus Addict
 
cbdallas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Fan#: 100296
Location: Wylie, TX
What I Drive: 2014 Titanium 5-speed

Posts: 800
FF Reputation: 2 cbdallas Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
This is what I like about my Camaro. The center screen can show you one of several different choices, or....it can be blank. I keep it set on MPH, since I don't want to know how horrible the gas mileage is. :-)
cbdallas is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:25 PM   #4
scott7278
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Fan#: 100021
Location: St. Louis, MO
What I Drive: 2012 Red Candy SEL Hatchback

Posts: 914
FF Reputation: 5 scott7278 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The Euro-spec screen can be/is split four-ways, which I thought was a neat feature:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=295846

I wish they would bring that here!
scott7278 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:37 PM   #5
flingwing1969
Focus Enthusiast
 
flingwing1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91700
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
What I Drive: 2012 white platinum Forcus SEL 303A

Posts: 455
FF Reputation: 2 flingwing1969 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott7278 View Post
The Euro-spec screen can be/is split four-ways, which I thought was a neat feature:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=295846

I wish they would bring that here!
Have you checked the price on a UK Focus? The starting price there is $22,533.35 vs $16,200 here. Base Titanium is $31,155.44 (with incentives) there vs $24,350 (no incentives) here. Features (many government mandated) cost.
__________________
2012 Focus SEL 303A, moon roof, etc
2012 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport
1975 Jeep CJ -built
1974 Dodge W300 Power Wagon dump truck
2002 Kubota B-21 tractor-loader-backhoe
flingwing1969 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 03:49 PM   #6
jeff_nc
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106534
Location: asheville, NC
What I Drive: 2013 performance blue titanium

Posts: 39
FF Reputation: 1 jeff_nc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
That graphic of the car on the right side of the screen used to be replaced by the upcoming turn when I had an active route in Navi. It no longer does - just displays the graphic all the time. Have I inadvertently turned this off? I want it back!
jeff_nc is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:17 PM   #7
flingwing1969
Focus Enthusiast
 
flingwing1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91700
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
What I Drive: 2012 white platinum Forcus SEL 303A

Posts: 455
FF Reputation: 2 flingwing1969 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff_nc View Post
That graphic of the car on the right side of the screen used to be replaced by the upcoming turn when I had an active route in Navi. It no longer does - just displays the graphic all the time. Have I inadvertently turned this off? I want it back!
You must have Navi? I don't but when I use Sync Directions the upcoming turn does display there, and in the MFT info quadrant. I'm still running 3.0.2 but will be installing 3.5.1 soon - which are you running? Have you tried a master reset?
__________________
2012 Focus SEL 303A, moon roof, etc
2012 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport
1975 Jeep CJ -built
1974 Dodge W300 Power Wagon dump truck
2002 Kubota B-21 tractor-loader-backhoe
flingwing1969 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:14 PM   #8
scott7278
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Fan#: 100021
Location: St. Louis, MO
What I Drive: 2012 Red Candy SEL Hatchback

Posts: 914
FF Reputation: 5 scott7278 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by flingwing1969 View Post
Have you checked the price on a UK Focus? The starting price there is $22,533.35 vs $16,200 here. Base Titanium is $31,155.44 (with incentives) there vs $24,350 (no incentives) here. Features (many government mandated) cost.
Not much cost to combine four separate screens into one...the car is already capable of displaying the information.

Sent from my Android using FF Mobile.
scott7278 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:14 PM   #9
jeff_nc
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106534
Location: asheville, NC
What I Drive: 2013 performance blue titanium

Posts: 39
FF Reputation: 1 jeff_nc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by flingwing1969 View Post
You must have Navi? I don't but when I use Sync Directions the upcoming turn does display there, and in the MFT info quadrant. I'm still running 3.0.2 but will be installing 3.5.1 soon - which are you running? Have you tried a master reset?
I have version 3.2.2. The car is only 1 month old. I don't know what a master reset is, but it sounds kind of drastic. Everything is working fine, except for that missing display.
jeff_nc is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:22 PM   #10
flingwing1969
Focus Enthusiast
 
flingwing1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91700
Location: Morgan Hill, CA
What I Drive: 2012 white platinum Forcus SEL 303A

Posts: 455
FF Reputation: 2 flingwing1969 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff_nc View Post
I have version 3.2.2. The car is only 1 month old. I don't know what a master reset is, but it sounds kind of drastic. Everything is working fine, except for that missing display.
3.2.2 was very buggy - it was pulled from SyncMyRide within a very short period. Master reset is very easy and not a big deal: Disconnect all connected devices (iPod, blue tooth, aux audio, USB etc), From MFT home screen select settings icon, select settings, select system, scroll down and select master reset. You will lose your personal settings - wallpaper, radio presets, phone pairing, etc, but not really much of an issue. I'd recommend taking it in to the shop and having 3.5.1 put in soonest, I understand it solved most if not all the 3.2.2 and 3.0.2 problems without introducing other problems. You will get a new nav card as well. The TSB is at http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=300592 - it is TSB 12-11-01.
__________________
2012 Focus SEL 303A, moon roof, etc
2012 Yamaha TW200 Dual Sport
1975 Jeep CJ -built
1974 Dodge W300 Power Wagon dump truck
2002 Kubota B-21 tractor-loader-backhoe
flingwing1969 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.