Any way to connect sub to stock radio?? - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 11:41 AM   #11
71shadow
Focalize!!!
 
71shadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 72524
Location: Pearland, TX
What I Drive: 01 Greenie ZX3, 14 silver ST

Posts: 2,657
FF Reputation: 2 71shadow Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i will track down this LOC and IT SHALL BE DONEEE haha
__________________
Team Focalize, Head Ginger

FF ROCKSSSS

And Now__Tuned by Tom__
71shadow is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-03-2012, 12:00 PM   #12
gurkpimpin
Focus Enthusiast
 
gurkpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63495
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, MI
What I Drive: 2001 Tornado Red Focus Sedan

Posts: 309
FF Reputation: 2 gurkpimpin Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Look here
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...he-LOC-80.html
Sent from my SPH-D700 using FF Mobile
__________________
My Focus Is Just A Focus For Now But Who Knows Wait Awaits Diablo. "If guns kill people then,pencils misspell words, cars make people drive drunk and...spoons made Rosie O' Donnell fat"
gurkpimpin is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 12:02 PM   #13
SvviftSVT
Release the Kraken!!
 
SvviftSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58277
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: Green-Eyed 2004 Black SVT #0461

Posts: 15,203
FF Reputation: 10 SvviftSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
^^yeah i had sent that to him...
he's trying to find it locally to get it done today.

Thanks.
I will be the installer. lol
__________________
TeamFOCALIZE!// HATCH NATION #45// October '12 ROTM

Track build will commence by Christmas (hopefully)
SvviftSVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:20 PM   #14
SvviftSVT
Release the Kraken!!
 
SvviftSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58277
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: Green-Eyed 2004 Black SVT #0461

Posts: 15,203
FF Reputation: 10 SvviftSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Ok. So we got it all wired up. It plays perfectly... Until we start the car, then it goes protect mode.
I'm at a loss.
__________________
TeamFOCALIZE!// HATCH NATION #45// October '12 ROTM

Track build will commence by Christmas (hopefully)
SvviftSVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:21 PM   #15
SvviftSVT
Release the Kraken!!
 
SvviftSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58277
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: Green-Eyed 2004 Black SVT #0461

Posts: 15,203
FF Reputation: 10 SvviftSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
We have checked all wiring and tried the rca tap method.

This is really pissing me off
__________________
TeamFOCALIZE!// HATCH NATION #45// October '12 ROTM

Track build will commence by Christmas (hopefully)
SvviftSVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:50 AM   #16
02fordsvt
Meh.
 
02fordsvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84654
Location: Lowville, NY
What I Drive: 2002 SVT, 2001 SE (Rusty)

Posts: 9,613
FF Reputation: 49 02fordsvt Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
Is the amp known to be a good? That's really the only idea I have unless the amp is getting a power surge on start up.

One thing you could try is to unhook the remote wire, start the car, and put the remote wire back in and see if the amp will run. That way the amp is not on when the car is being started. Just a somewhat random idea but it may be worth a shot.
__________________
Hatch Nation #13 : Rally Revolution #13 : ROTM Jan '13
It's Bryan, not Brian
RSVT-170 Build in Progress
Derusting Rusty Build in Progress
02fordsvt is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:12 AM   #17
SvviftSVT
Release the Kraken!!
 
SvviftSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58277
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: Green-Eyed 2004 Black SVT #0461

Posts: 15,203
FF Reputation: 10 SvviftSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
after doing more research... i think the power wire is too small, so we are going to get some 4ga (or 8ga since its a smaller amp/sub combo) and start with that.
it plays and hits hard with the key in the acc position, just not once the car is started.
also going to try to get the loc box at the end of the week.


the amp is weird though (to me at least).. there is no external vents for it. i know its not unheard of, but all my amps have vents. lol


edit:
it has to do with the amp getting the signal from the radio..
we started the car with the radio off, the amp turned on and was good... once we turned the radio on, it put the amp back in protect mode.

and on ACC, the capacitor reads right around 12-12.5 but when the car is running its up to 14, sometimes 16
__________________
TeamFOCALIZE!// HATCH NATION #45// October '12 ROTM

Track build will commence by Christmas (hopefully)
SvviftSVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:47 PM   #18
gurkpimpin
Focus Enthusiast
 
gurkpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63495
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, MI
What I Drive: 2001 Tornado Red Focus Sedan

Posts: 309
FF Reputation: 2 gurkpimpin Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Try it running off a different fuse and did you tie it into a fuse

Sent from my SPH-D700 using FF Mobile
__________________
My Focus Is Just A Focus For Now But Who Knows Wait Awaits Diablo. "If guns kill people then,pencils misspell words, cars make people drive drunk and...spoons made Rosie O' Donnell fat"
gurkpimpin is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:48 PM   #19
gurkpimpin
Focus Enthusiast
 
gurkpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63495
Location: Ann Arbor, MI, MI
What I Drive: 2001 Tornado Red Focus Sedan

Posts: 309
FF Reputation: 2 gurkpimpin Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Or try running it off the radio fuse

Sent from my SPH-D700 using FF Mobile
__________________
My Focus Is Just A Focus For Now But Who Knows Wait Awaits Diablo. "If guns kill people then,pencils misspell words, cars make people drive drunk and...spoons made Rosie O' Donnell fat"
gurkpimpin is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 06:22 AM   #20
SvviftSVT
Release the Kraken!!
 
SvviftSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58277
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: Green-Eyed 2004 Black SVT #0461

Posts: 15,203
FF Reputation: 10 SvviftSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Tried different fuses, can't use the radio fuse since it's always hot.

I'm almost convinced it's the power wire. There it's a voltage spike once the car is running
__________________
TeamFOCALIZE!// HATCH NATION #45// October '12 ROTM

Track build will commence by Christmas (hopefully)
SvviftSVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.