How To Make Your Own Wiring Harness For Fog Lights - Page 7 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > MK1 Focus

MK1 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the first generation 2000-2007 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2012, 10:00 AM   #61
norcalfocus01
Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Fan#: 55603
Location: Manteca, Nor*Cal!, United States
What I Drive: White N Gold 2001 Sedan

Posts: 0
FF Reputation: 132 norcalfocus01 Excellent Standing Membernorcalfocus01 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (12)
No no no, find the wire that goes to pin 83B, and then tie the power wire into that one. You'll still want the relay. If you run through the factory wires your fogs will not be able to come on with the hi beams.
norcalfocus01 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-20-2012, 10:34 AM   #62
SvviftSVT
Release the Kraken!!
 
SvviftSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58277
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: Green-Eyed 2004 Black SVT #0461

Posts: 14,899
FF Reputation: 10 SvviftSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by norcalfocus01 View Post
No no no, find the wire that goes to pin 83B, and then tie the power wire into that one. You'll still want the relay. If you run through the factory wires your fogs will not be able to come on with the hi beams.
well i had the fog light mod installed before they stopped working. so that took care of the fogs/high beams.

the wiring kit i have has an inline fuse and inline relay.

and 83b is not getting any power as it is now. checked it last night with a volt meter.
__________________
TeamFOCALIZE!// HATCH NATION #45// October '12 ROTM

Track build will commence by Christmas (hopefully)
SvviftSVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:35 AM   #63
jay-rod05
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24351
Location: usa
Posts: 148
FF Reputation: 5 jay-rod05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SvviftSVT View Post
so could i just repin my headlight switch with the power to the fogs?
my oem wiring is shot.
so just pull out the existing wire and run this one into it. and get rid of the relay all together, since the fog lights will only turn on on the "pull" of the switch?

edit:::

also, which wire is the ground in the headlight switch?
Correct me someone if I'm wrong but pin #3 in the fog lamp switch can't be used to power the lights, you need a power source direct from the battery?

Basically what happens is when you pull out on the light switch to activate the fog lamps:
The switch sends voltage to the relay (86) and says "Hey Mr. Relay, the driver requests to have the fog lights turned on"

The relay then says "You got it Mr. Switch" and then the relay says to the power from the battery "Can you go send 12 volts to the fog lights?"

The power says "You got it Mr. Relay, just flip your internal relay switch and we'll go where ever you send us!"

The relay then proceeds to switch itself to allow 12 volts to go to the fog lights.

Then the fog lights say "Thanks Mr. Power, Mr. Relay, and Mr. Switch. Couldn't have done it without you!"

Then they live happily ever after
Below is a modified picture of the ford dealer add on kit, i just took out the extra relay that makes the fogs cut off when high beams are on. This is basically the same thing as what the OP is doing just in an easier to read format.


To note, this is NOT the DOT approved way:

jay-rod05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:38 AM   #64
SvviftSVT
Release the Kraken!!
 
SvviftSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58277
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: Green-Eyed 2004 Black SVT #0461

Posts: 14,899
FF Reputation: 10 SvviftSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
lol i love the "convo"

and i was meaning to toggle portion for my switch.

i will try to tackle this on sunday, if i get the time.
__________________
TeamFOCALIZE!// HATCH NATION #45// October '12 ROTM

Track build will commence by Christmas (hopefully)
SvviftSVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:08 AM   #65
jay-rod05
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24351
Location: usa
Posts: 148
FF Reputation: 5 jay-rod05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SvviftSVT View Post
lol i love the "convo"

and i was meaning to toggle portion for my switch.

i will try to tackle this on sunday, if i get the time.
This may also help too:

jay-rod05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:18 AM   #66
SvviftSVT
Release the Kraken!!
 
SvviftSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58277
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: Green-Eyed 2004 Black SVT #0461

Posts: 14,899
FF Reputation: 10 SvviftSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
this should be no problem. esp with those pics. thanks a bunch.
and there is a green/black wire in pin 3, at least in mine.

__________________
TeamFOCALIZE!// HATCH NATION #45// October '12 ROTM

Track build will commence by Christmas (hopefully)
SvviftSVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 11:30 AM   #67
jay-rod05
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24351
Location: usa
Posts: 148
FF Reputation: 5 jay-rod05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SvviftSVT View Post
this should be no problem. esp with those pics. thanks a bunch.
and there is a green/black wire in pin 3, at least in mine.

So if that wire is there, according to the pictures you could just cut the GRN/BLK wire about 3 or 4 inches down from the switch, use a red wire splice and splice in whatever wire you have to run to the relay. Then just tape off the cut end of the GRN/BLK wire and fold it away.

Doing it that way you wouldn't have to take apart anything.
jay-rod05 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 12:00 PM   #68
SvviftSVT
Release the Kraken!!
 
SvviftSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58277
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: Green-Eyed 2004 Black SVT #0461

Posts: 14,899
FF Reputation: 10 SvviftSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
awesome.
i've gotten pretty good/quick at removing the driver-side dash components to get to the switch.


thanks again.
__________________
TeamFOCALIZE!// HATCH NATION #45// October '12 ROTM

Track build will commence by Christmas (hopefully)
SvviftSVT is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 03:57 PM   #69
daveuk
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96676
Location: Liskeard, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 2005 black focus

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 daveuk Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Wire

Quote:
Originally Posted by norcalfocus01 View Post
Duh I just re-read your question and the part about 83b. I didn't connect to a OEM fog light switch, but I would say you should be able to get a female slip connector to fit on that pin.



You can either...

go through the fire wall, which there are holes already there to slide the one wire through.

or go behind the fender and through the plastic plug in the door jamb.
Hi what do you call the fender ??
daveuk is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2012, 12:16 AM   #70
jaytheillest
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106716
Location: Gardena, CA
What I Drive: 2000 silver SE

Posts: 8
FF Reputation: 1 jaytheillest Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bergner View Post
Okay, 20 years later and today was the first free day in awhile to wire up these badboys.

A quick addition to the how-to:

If you want to wire up a factory fog light switch, you will want to tap your fog light power into pin 83b. This will be the wire coming from pin 86 on the fog light relay. I tested each lead with a volt meter while turning the fog switch on and off. 83b was the only one that gave power when the fog light switch was pulled.



and....finally! I used cheap ebay fog-light houses. The old ones I got from a junk yard were yellowing beyond repair. These are nice and crystal clear, I also covered them in 3M clear bra material.



Camera makes it look like 14k HID's, but they're just the cheapest bulbs I could find.
how did you get the grill like that?
jaytheillest is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.