My Ford Touch Thread - Page 253 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 01:22 PM   #2521
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,863
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazeFocus View Post
Cool! Thanks. That is what I was looking for and to answer your question, yes, the Home Screen navigation square - with the compass.

So V3.5.1 is dealer installed only, right?
And does it require that they replace the SD navi-data card in the process?
Yes, since you have nav you will have to have the dealer do it under a TSB. You will get a new A4 nav card as the A3 will not work after 3.5.1 is installed. Being that it is a TSB you will have to "convince" your dealer to do it, they don't have to if they don't think there is a problem with your current version. I've had it for a week though and trust me, do what you have to do to get them to do it. A lot of fixes in this update.
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2012, 01:30 PM   #2522
BlazeFocus
Focus Enthusiast
 
BlazeFocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104991
Location: _, UT
What I Drive: _

Posts: 149
FF Reputation: 2 BlazeFocus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by copernicium112 View Post
Yes, since you have nav you will have to have the dealer do it under a TSB. You will get a new A4 nav card as the A3 will not work after 3.5.1 is installed. Being that it is a TSB you will have to "convince" your dealer to do it, they don't have to if they don't think there is a problem with your current version. I've had it for a week though and trust me, do what you have to do to get them to do it. A lot of fixes in this update.
OK, good information and advice.
Thank you
BlazeFocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:15 PM   #2523
TiPilot
Focus Addict
 
TiPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93667
Location: Dayton, OH
What I Drive: 2012 Ingot Silver Ti Hatch

Posts: 647
FF Reputation: 1 TiPilot Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoiseDesign View Post
A new bug has cropped up, on my reverse camera the car keeps resetting the guidelines each time I turn it on. So I'll turn on the guidelines, they will work for a trip, and then the next time I turn the car on they are turned off again.

I've also had the backup camera lag in turning off. It look almost 30 seconds after I shifted out of reverse to turn off when I pulled out of the driveway tonight.
Mine has done that with v3.0.2. and now with v3.2.2 - still haven't gone to the dealer for the latest update.

So, point is... it's a bug, but it's a not a new one.

----

As to the second point about the lag - are you sure the delay isn't turned on in your settings? With that enabled, it'll stay on after shifting out of R until you hit 5 MPH or so in D.
__________________
2012 Focus Ti Hatch | Ingot Silver | 401A, Nav, Winter Pkg, Moon Roof, Parking Tech. Pkg

Build Date: 12/2/2011 | New APIM: 4/4/2012
MFT: Factory v2.11, 3/14/12 Web -> v3.0.2, 9/24/12 Web -> v3.2.2, 1/24/13 Web -> v3.5.1, 8/13/13 Web -> v3.6
TiPilot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 05:45 PM   #2524
NoiseDesign
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95396
Location: Pasadena, CA
What I Drive: 2012 Tuxedo Black Titanium 5Door

Posts: 16
FF Reputation: 1 NoiseDesign Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I am so tired of troubleshooting the system in my car. This update does makes things a bit better, but it's always something. I run an iPod classic in my car and I let it attempt to index for a 100 mile commute yesterday, much of it in LA traffic, so a total of about 3.5 hours of indexing time. It never completed. So far the official word from the customer service person I've been dealing with from Ford Corporate is that libraries bigger than about 1000 songs can cause all sorts of issues. I know that some folks are running libraries larger than that, and admittedly the library on this iPod is over 25,000 songs. My issue is that the iPod classic is 160 GB, I'm within that limit, and there is nothing published stating a lower limit. If it can't handle that many tracks, wouldn't you think it would be smarter to have the system just put up error screen stating that there are too many tracks to index, rather than endlessly claiming to be trying to index the device.
NoiseDesign is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 05:58 PM   #2525
Blockisle9
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 104865
Location: Waterbury, CT
What I Drive: 2013 black escape

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 Blockisle9 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by copernicium112 View Post
Good deal. Happy to hear it is working for you. Kinda neat when that first one shows up on the screen and then the system reads it for you. Honestly, though, the thing that I am most psyched about is that I can actually use my hands-free calling again. Best thing (for me at least) that I have found so far with this update!
I know you said that after the latest update, but have you tried using those steps before the update?
I'm wondering if this will work with my iPhone 4 ios 6.01 and MFT 3.2.2
Blockisle9 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 07:35 PM   #2526
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,863
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoiseDesign View Post
My issue is that the iPod classic is 160 GB, I'm within that limit, and there is nothing published stating a lower limit.
Yeah, there is nothing published about anything with this damn system. Last I knew though was that it can handle 15,000 "grammar objects". A grammar object can be anything from a word like "the" to a punctuation mark like an exclamation point. Each of those counts as one. In other words, you can have the word "the" show up in many of your song titles but it only counts as one grammar object (same with question marks and any other odd characters). You have a gigantic library on your 160 GB iPod. Maybe you are beyond that (keep in mind things like artist name and so forth count against it, but only once per instance).

Quote:
Originally Posted by NoiseDesign View Post
If it can't handle that many tracks, wouldn't you think it would be smarter to have the system just put up error screen stating that there are to many tracks to index, rather than endlessly claiming to be trying to index the device.
Hell yes, I totally agree. If this system is going to time out, it should at least tell you why (and time out and isolate the reason it is timing out and continue). Bad track, too many grammar objects, unrecognizable characters in the tags, or whatever, but apparently it doesn't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blockisle9 View Post
I know you said that after the latest update, but have you tried using those steps before the update?
I'm wondering if this will work with my iPhone 4 ios 6.01 and MFT 3.2.2
No, but why not try it? Give it a go!
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 08:33 PM   #2527
feta_mgp
Focus Fanatic
 
feta_mgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88210
Location: Vero Beach, FL
What I Drive: 2012 SGM Focus SEL

Posts: 2,570
FF Reputation: 7 feta_mgp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Had 3.5.1 installed today. Haven't checked on the hands free calling but no one has ever complained about my call quality anyway so I'm not worried, it can only get better I suppose.

I did notice the small red and blue line at the button of the home/settings button is no longer present on the Entertainment/Climate screens. Cool! I also noticed the "LED" graphic for the AM source is either incomplete or just the wrong graphic... it's ugly compared to the rest. Small visual tweaks, overall a nice update I think, subtle things. My iPod (160gb classic, 8888 songs, lol) indexed in about 10 minutes, though voice commands weren't all done by the time I was home so I haven't had a chance to try them yet.

So far, aside from my OCD kicking in and HATING that little LED graphic, I like the rest.

Oh, and my CC quadrant works again!
__________________
2012 SGM SEL Sedan Job 1 BD 6/2011
FSWERKS Cool-Flo w/ ITG Filter | FSWERKS Stealth Exhaust | 17x7.5 Axis Sport XMX Graphite wheels | Eibach Sportlines on Ti Handling Pkg bits
Sonic Crew #28
feta_mgp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 09:31 AM   #2528
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,863
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by feta_mgp View Post
Had 3.5.1 installed today. Haven't checked on the hands free calling but no one has ever complained about my call quality anyway so I'm not worried, it can only get better I suppose.
The reason I'm particularly interested in your perspective feta is that I know you had a much better experience with 3.0.2 than I did. It completely broke my system and you got luckier with yours. I'm thrilled with this update because it seems to have "unbroken" my system which for me is a huge deal. Just wondering if it has less of an impact with someone that got a "good" 3.0.2.

Off to the in-laws to stuff my face with food. The good is I get to log some miles and driving time in my car. Always enjoyed driving the car but it has been a double-edged sword over the last almost 9 months. I knew I would enjoy the drive but I also knew I would be fighting with a broken and embarrassing MFT. Now I get the fun of driving and a working MFT. Win-win situation! Post back any further thoughts/discoveries after you have had a few more days with it feta. Just curious.
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 03:39 PM   #2529
Dysan911
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95746
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 2012 White, Focus Titanium

Posts: 582
FF Reputation: 2 Dysan911 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by copernicium112 View Post
Off to the in-laws to stuff my face with food. The good is I get to log some miles and driving time in my car. Always enjoyed driving the car but it has been a double-edged sword over the last almost 9 months. I knew I would enjoy the drive but I also knew I would be fighting with a broken and embarrassing MFT. Now I get the fun of driving and a working MFT. Win-win situation! Post back any further thoughts/discoveries after you have had a few more days with it feta. Just curious.
Yeah I gotta say Im finally enjoying my MFT now for the first time since this update resolved my wind tunnel issue on the handsfree BT. Also having a working incoming txt on the MFT screen is cool. My family today were having a bit of fun sending me a txt message just to hear the sync voice read it out loud. lol.
__________________
2012 FF Ti HB Platinum White Tricoat, Built 12/11, 401A + Parking Technology Package and MFT w/NAV at 3.5.1
Dysan911 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2012, 07:40 PM   #2530
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,863
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by feta_mgp View Post
I also noticed the "LED" graphic for the AM source is either incomplete or just the wrong graphic... it's ugly compared to the rest.

So far, aside from my OCD kicking in and HATING that little LED graphic, I like the rest.
Hah, didn't even notice that until I read your post but same for me. I only have two on AM and they aren't even the same size. One is not as wide and a little thicker. Small, small, small, small price to pay considering everything that was broken and this update fixed for me (but I totally get the OCD thing, I'm the same way).
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.