does the 2012 focus ecu need to have ground - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2012, 11:48 PM   #1
Dmois12
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 95989
Location: Sacramento, United States
What I Drive: 2012 dark blue S

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 Dmois12 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
does the 2012 focus ecu need to have ground

does the 2012 focus ecu need to be bolted to the frame or have a ground source for the car to start?


Dmois12 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2012, 12:25 AM   #2
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,392
FF Reputation: 48 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Yes it has to have a ground.

I don't believe it's grounded through the case though.


If you're having start issues and have removed the ECU from it's home, odds are something you removed/moved during that process is causing the no start.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:26 AM   #3
mikebontoft
Toxx
 
mikebontoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58647
Location: SLC, UT
What I Drive: 5.9L Grand Cherokee ZJ

Posts: 25,872
FF Reputation: 76 mikebontoft Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
yes because the computer controls most of the system using froundside switching, so it must have a common ground.
__________________
SR #127 | '02 Focus SE "Foci" (5.0 RWD - parting) | '90 Mazda 626 GT "Greenie" (2.2L turbo T3/T4 rebuild-sold) | '75 BMW 2002 "Carby" (resto-mod racecar) | '75 BMW 2002 (donor -sold) | '98 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.9L (lifted and fast) | '99 BMW 328is (alt. daily).
Moderating General Chat Lounge, General Technical Chat, Ford Focus & General Car Chat, and Rocky Mountain Fanatics
mikebontoft is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:10 PM   #4
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,670
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
The ECU housing it self no it doesnt , the ECU grounds through I think it was 13 grounds

What are you working on that your using a 2012 ECU

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:48 PM   #5
mikebontoft
Toxx
 
mikebontoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58647
Location: SLC, UT
What I Drive: 5.9L Grand Cherokee ZJ

Posts: 25,872
FF Reputation: 76 mikebontoft Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Di-VCT generator is my guess lol.
__________________
SR #127 | '02 Focus SE "Foci" (5.0 RWD - parting) | '90 Mazda 626 GT "Greenie" (2.2L turbo T3/T4 rebuild-sold) | '75 BMW 2002 "Carby" (resto-mod racecar) | '75 BMW 2002 (donor -sold) | '98 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.9L (lifted and fast) | '99 BMW 328is (alt. daily).
Moderating General Chat Lounge, General Technical Chat, Ford Focus & General Car Chat, and Rocky Mountain Fanatics
mikebontoft is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:29 AM   #6
penno87
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Fan#: 106068
Location: London, United Kingdom
What I Drive: 1.6 (100ps) Zetec Hatchback

Posts: 1
FF Reputation: 1 penno87 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hey guys,

Does the same question apply if I had a Zetec Hatchback? My brother and I are being handed one down in a few weeks time and he's talking about ECU tuning and I'm going to be honest, it's not my field at all but I'd just like to get a brief overview of time, price and results. If anyone has time, could they take a look at the website of the company my brother proposes to use? They're called tuned2race and they do ECU tuning, amongst other performance related stuff. I can't tell if it's legit with my amateur eyes. Many thanks!
penno87 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.