Pairing Two iPhones - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2012, 02:09 AM   #1
dutd33
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 104381
Location: Vancouver, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Platinum SEL Hatch

Posts: 128
FF Reputation: 1 dutd33 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Pairing Two iPhones

Sorry guys, I'm on vacation this week so you might see a lot of dumb posts from me, but I just had a quick question in regards to pairing two iPhones with the Focus.

I have both my phone and my wife's phone added to Sync, but is it true that only one can be paired at any given time if we're both in the car?

So if I only wanted hers to be paired I guess I should disc mine or maybe turn off the BT on my phone?


dutd33 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-14-2012, 05:44 AM   #2
MotorcityJAX
Sonic's MK3 Crew #14
 
MotorcityJAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90253
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 2012, White Platinum, 5 Door SEL

Posts: 2,026
FF Reputation: 6 MotorcityJAX Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
You are correct, you can have 2 phones attached to the sync system, but only 1 can be active at a time, if you wanted to work off of your wife's phone, you would have to disconnect your phone and then connect hers. Doing this will pair the phone to the system and allow you to access her phone book or something like her iTunes or pandora to listen to music.
__________________
2012 SEL 5 door, "Project Stormtrooper"
Hatch Nation #169
Sonic Crew #14 Metal Tails
Rally Rev #16
MotorcityJAX is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 08:41 AM   #3
BrApple
Focus Enthusiast
 
BrApple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 95810
Location: Gales Ferry, CT
What I Drive: 2012 Red Candy SE HB

Posts: 363
FF Reputation: 1 BrApple Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
iirc you can select which is the primary phone and sync should connect to that phone first.

I have a similar situation, I paired my iPhone and my wifes flip phone. My phone is set to be primary. When we are both in the car Sync connects to my phone. I have turned mine off and it will then pair with her phone.

But turning bluetooth off on your phone would cause her phone to connect to sync.
__________________
- 12 Focus SE - 5spd
- 99 Contour SeVT <- 3L/NPG Turbo
- 2k Contour SVT - #2137
- 12 Impreza 2.0i Premium - CVT
BrApple is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2012, 10:52 PM   #4
dutd33
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 104381
Location: Vancouver, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 White Platinum SEL Hatch

Posts: 128
FF Reputation: 1 dutd33 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thank you all and sorry for the n00b question.

Posted via FF Mobile
dutd33 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 05:37 AM   #5
MotorcityJAX
Sonic's MK3 Crew #14
 
MotorcityJAX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90253
Location: Jacksonville, FL
What I Drive: 2012, White Platinum, 5 Door SEL

Posts: 2,026
FF Reputation: 6 MotorcityJAX Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dutd33 View Post
Thank you all and sorry for the n00b question.

Posted via FF Mobile
Your good man, everyone has questions and hopefully someone here has the answers, best of luck with everything
__________________
2012 SEL 5 door, "Project Stormtrooper"
Hatch Nation #169
Sonic Crew #14 Metal Tails
Rally Rev #16
MotorcityJAX is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2012, 06:52 AM   #6
ducati20
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Fan#: 105190
Location: Gilbert, AZ
What I Drive: 2012 White SEL

Posts: 45
FF Reputation: 1 ducati20 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Here's a tip... you don't have to disable bluetooth on your phone to switch back and forth! In the phone options menu in Sync you will find a command for connecting bluetooth, you can choose which phone to connect to and it wil switch to that phone... I do this all the time with the press of a button or two on the system!
ducati20 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 01:48 PM   #7
dragonpalm
Focus Enthusiast
 
dragonpalm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 104183
Location: San Antonio, TX
What I Drive: 2013 White Platinum Titanium Sedan

Posts: 180
FF Reputation: 3 dragonpalm Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dutd33 View Post
Sorry guys, I'm on vacation this week so you might see a lot of dumb posts from me, but I just had a quick question in regards to pairing two iPhones with the Focus.

I have both my phone and my wife's phone added to Sync, but is it true that only one can be paired at any given time if we're both in the car?

So if I only wanted hers to be paired I guess I should disc mine or maybe turn off the BT on my phone?
Every version before 3.5.1 will make you go through several sub menus in order to switch paired phones over Bluetooth. Fortunately, update 3.5.1 has addressed this and added 3 LED lights (similar to the radio station preset LEDs) on the Bluetooth Audio button so you can switch paired phones faster. It's a really nice feature so go get 3.5.1!
dragonpalm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:07 PM   #8
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,864
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonpalm View Post
Every version before 3.5.1 will make you go through several sub menus in order to switch paired phones over Bluetooth. Fortunately, update 3.5.1 has addressed this and added 3 LED lights (similar to the radio station preset LEDs) on the Bluetooth Audio button so you can switch paired phones faster. It's a really nice feature so go get 3.5.1!
Ah I figured that is what those were for but I only pair one phone and never really had a chance to test it out for sure. Even though I only have one phone paired though, I have noticed that when I go to BT audio sometimes the first fake led is lit up, sometimes it is the third (haven't seen the second but haven't had a lot of time with the update yet). Not sure if this is normal or not. It works regardless of which one is lit so I am not really concerned but it just seems odd.
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:12 PM   #9
dragonpalm
Focus Enthusiast
 
dragonpalm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 104183
Location: San Antonio, TX
What I Drive: 2013 White Platinum Titanium Sedan

Posts: 180
FF Reputation: 3 dragonpalm Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by copernicium112 View Post
Ah I figured that is what those were for but I only pair one phone and never really had a chance to test it out for sure. Even though I only have one phone paired though, I have noticed that when I go to BT audio sometimes the first fake led is lit up, sometimes it is the third (haven't seen the second but haven't had a lot of time with the update yet). Not sure if this is normal or not. It works regardless of which one is lit so I am not really concerned but it just seems odd.
You just gave me an idea ... what if there was more than 3 paired phones in the car at once and you wanted to switch to one of them ... since there's only 3 LEDs, how does it determine which is on and which one is left out? Hmm...
dragonpalm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2012, 02:18 PM   #10
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,864
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragonpalm View Post
You just gave me an idea ... what if there was more than 3 paired phones in the car at once and you wanted to switch to one of them ... since there's only 3 LEDs, how does it determine which is on and which one is left out? Hmm...
Hah, guess you are going to have to invite three friends over and tell them to bring their phones. Let them know it is in the interest of important research!
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.