iPod Track info diaplay - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2012, 12:32 AM   #11
gullwingdmc
Focus Enthusiast
 
gullwingdmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88545
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium Blue Candy

Posts: 147
FF Reputation: 2 gullwingdmc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TehMark View Post
maybe it just needs a reboot and not a master reset

http://outofmytouch.com/reboot.html
Ya ill try that first, it hasn't worked for me since v3 though.
gullwingdmc is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-17-2012, 08:41 AM   #12
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,868
Points 1,491, Level 21
Points: 1,491, Level: 21 Points: 1,491, Level: 21 Points: 1,491, Level: 21
Level Up 91% Completed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Any luck with either a reboot or reset gullwing? I guess if neither of those work, the only other thing I can think of is wiping out the iPod and reloading it. Wouldn't think it would be necessary as it is a new iPod but then again, this MFT so who knows? Couldn't hurt to try I guess.

Also, have you tried throwing any of that music on to a USB drive instead of an iPod to see if that makes a difference in the display?
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2012, 11:28 AM   #13
gullwingdmc
Focus Enthusiast
 
gullwingdmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88545
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium Blue Candy

Posts: 147
FF Reputation: 2 gullwingdmc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by copernicium112 View Post
Any luck with either a reboot or reset gullwing? I guess if neither of those work, the only other thing I can think of is wiping out the iPod and reloading it. Wouldn't think it would be necessary as it is a new iPod but then again, this MFT so who knows? Couldn't hurt to try I guess.

Also, have you tried throwing any of that music on to a USB drive instead of an iPod to see if that makes a difference in the display?
Just tried both the delayed reboot and the MR today, neither worked. Next up is a chat with ford. When they inevitably goes no where I have no idea.
gullwingdmc is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2012, 11:44 AM   #14
gullwingdmc
Focus Enthusiast
 
gullwingdmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88545
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium Blue Candy

Posts: 147
FF Reputation: 2 gullwingdmc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
OK so I just chatted with a Sync rep and he was aware of the issue. He said that a Master Reset would not fix the issue and that I would need to bring it to the dealer to have them reflash the software.

Not a great solution, but at least they were aware of the problem and knew of a solution.
gullwingdmc is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2012, 11:56 AM   #15
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,868
Points 1,491, Level 21
Points: 1,491, Level: 21 Points: 1,491, Level: 21 Points: 1,491, Level: 21
Level Up 91% Completed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gullwingdmc View Post
OK so I just chatted with a Sync rep and he was aware of the issue. He said that a Master Reset would not fix the issue and that I would need to bring it to the dealer to have them reflash the software.

Not a great solution, but at least they were aware of the problem and knew of a solution.
Well, hope it goes well for you and works. Post back with your results after the reflash if you wouldn't mind.
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2012, 11:35 PM   #16
gullwingdmc
Focus Enthusiast
 
gullwingdmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88545
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium Blue Candy

Posts: 147
FF Reputation: 2 gullwingdmc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by copernicium112 View Post
Well, hope it goes well for you and works. Post back with your results after the reflash if you wouldn't mind.
Definitely will, probably won't get to go until next week though.
gullwingdmc is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2012, 01:00 PM   #17
gullwingdmc
Focus Enthusiast
 
gullwingdmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88545
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium Blue Candy

Posts: 147
FF Reputation: 2 gullwingdmc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So I finally got to bring in my car to get this checked out and they did the 3.5 update while I was in there. Unfortunately this did not solve the problem. I talked to the tech who did the work and he said he reflashed the software and wasn't sure what else he could do. He said he was going to talk to ford about what to do next.

So now I wait.
gullwingdmc is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2012, 01:43 PM   #18
cobie56
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84403
Location: northeastern, NY
What I Drive: '01 ZX3, '14 Civic XL '12 SEL

Posts: 1,575
FF Reputation: 2 cobie56 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gullwingdmc View Post
So I finally got to bring in my car to get this checked out and they did the 3.5 update while I was in there. Unfortunately this did not solve the problem. I talked to the tech who did the work and he said he reflashed the software and wasn't sure what else he could do. He said he was going to talk to ford about what to do next.

So now I wait.
just another reason im glad i never went past v.2.11; mine displays artist, song, and time played.
luckily, ive not had any problems w/ v.2.11 as is works great...

i can't believe that everytime ford 'updates' and i use that term loosely, MFT there seems to be a new and/or different glitch w/ the system...
I just don't understand why a multinational corp. cannot get its S**t together w/ MFT....
cobie56 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2013, 04:02 PM   #19
gullwingdmc
Focus Enthusiast
 
gullwingdmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 88545
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium Blue Candy

Posts: 147
FF Reputation: 2 gullwingdmc Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So I brought my car in again today to try and get this problem resolved. The dealership was told to do a deep level reset (Something about VIP level) but the Ford tech team. This I guess is different that the normal reset that happens when the software is updated.

Unfortunately it did not work, so now my dealer ship has ordered a new APIM to replace the one on my car. That will hopefully fix this issue.

The interesting thing I have noticed throughout all these resets a few things have not reset. Besides the iPod track info not changing back they AM/FM radio presets are still there, also my favorite buttons on the steering wheel still are set to what I had them at before the 3.0 update that wiped them out. There must be some part of the software that is not being touched by the reset.

The new APIM should be in later this week, hopefully this will take care of it.
gullwingdmc is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2013, 07:35 AM   #20
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,868
Points 1,491, Level 21
Points: 1,491, Level: 21 Points: 1,491, Level: 21 Points: 1,491, Level: 21
Level Up 91% Completed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Never heard of the deep reset. I have noticed the "reset not resetting everything" issue in the past. Had to do a lot of resets after 3.0.2 and I got so sick of it I finally sucked it up and downloaded and started using the delayed reboot so I wouldn't have to do so many. Before I did though I would notice the same thing. One reset and I would lose my phone and wallpapers but AM/FM/Sirius presets were still there. Another one and I would lose presets but phone would still be there, and every other combination. Another one I noticed is that after some resets I would plug my iPod back in and it would resume playing from where it was before I disconnected it which means the reset didn't wipe out the index. The master reset is Sync support's first solution to fix any bugs you contact them about (followed by "take it to the dealer" second) and even their recommended master "bug-fixer" seems to have bugs.

Hopefully the APIM will work. I had mine replaced last June as the dealer was trying to fix my useless voice commands that were broken by 3.0.2. Unfortunately it did nothing to solve my problem. They remained unusable after the new APIM. Wishing you better luck! Hopefully it fixes your particlular issue.
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.