Key Fob Programming How-To - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2012, 10:47 AM   #11
mikeeshaq
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 72526
Location: Sugar Land,TX ex MN, TX
What I Drive: 2010 Transit Connect

Posts: 1,042
FF Reputation: 15 mikeeshaq Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have a Ford Transit Connect

The procedure is different in a subtle way between the owner's manual and the service manual. Both will work but the service manual allows for more leeway

So different years will make a difference and also consult a Ford Workshop manual
mikeeshaq is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-22-2012, 11:12 AM   #12
elsolo
Focus Fanatic
 
elsolo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96835
Location: Long Beach, CA
What I Drive: 2003 dark shadow grey metallic ZX3

Posts: 2,172
FF Reputation: 17 elsolo Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Djzx3

New fobs are under $10 on ebay, shipped.
elsolo is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2012, 01:01 PM   #13
CREWZIN
Focus Enthusiast
 
CREWZIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80454
Location: Lecanto, FL
What I Drive: 11 Focus, 01 PT Cruiser, 87 Vette

Posts: 72
FF Reputation: 1 CREWZIN Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Just ordered 2 RED extra remotes for the wife on eBay. $15.00. I'll try the 07-11 remote programming as soon as they arrive. Thanks for the info.

She's always grabbing my keys by mistake that hang on the hooks as they both look similar. Shouldn't always blame her, I do the same when in a hurry. Now, if she has the RED fob, there shouldn't be any mistakes.




Also ordered the red rim stripes that I saw someone else put on their Focus. Will take some pics when they arrive and I've put them on.
__________________
PT Cruiser Links Moderator.
Public Service Officer, Citrus County Sheriff's Department
CREWZIN is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:04 AM   #14
longarm
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Fan#: 328
Location: Washington, United States
What I Drive: 07 Infra-Red ST SAP

Posts: 37
FF Reputation: 1 longarm Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have a 2007 ST. I tried the instructions listed above and it doesn't work. I turn my key on and off 4 times and in the off position with the key in the ignition, it chimes.

Then I push the lock button on a remote and the headlights flash and the door locks cycle. I then try it for a second remote and nothing. I can only get this done for one remote and it's frustrating. Any suggestions?

**EDIT** Never mind, I'm good. I dug up my owners manual and got r done. The sequence was different than what was listed here.
__________________
"Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch.
Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote."
- Benjamin Franklin, 1759
longarm is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 03:28 PM   #15
CREWZIN
Focus Enthusiast
 
CREWZIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80454
Location: Lecanto, FL
What I Drive: 11 Focus, 01 PT Cruiser, 87 Vette

Posts: 72
FF Reputation: 1 CREWZIN Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The instructions here were good for our 2011 BUT, had problems at first. Wanted the new RED and old black to work and apparently once you program the new ones, the old ones don't work anymore and it seems liked if I left the second one of the same color in or near the car, it took the program away from it while programming the second key. Very frustrating for awhile but got both red done and just not using the black ones, not that I needed them anyway.

The RED rim stripes didn't work at all. Guess they really meant for the wheels on our car. Not really enough room on the outside of the spokes to get the red stripe on.

__________________
PT Cruiser Links Moderator.
Public Service Officer, Citrus County Sheriff's Department
CREWZIN is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 01:31 AM   #16
SD_ZTW
Focus Rookie
 
SD_ZTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 91209
Location: San Diego, CA
What I Drive: 2003 White ZTW, D23 PZEV, ATX

Posts: 14
FF Reputation: 2 SD_ZTW Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by longarm View Post
I have a 2007 ST. I tried the instructions listed above and it doesn't work. I turn my key on and off 4 times and in the off position with the key in the ignition, it chimes.

Then I push the lock button on a remote and the headlights flash and the door locks cycle. I then try it for a second remote and nothing. I can only get this done for one remote and it's frustrating. Any suggestions?

**EDIT** Never mind, I'm good. I dug up my owners manual and got r done. The sequence was different than what was listed here.
Hey Longarm,
Curious to hear what worked for your car. It will help the group. Also, just saw you said you switched 4 times but for the 2007 model, key needs to be turned 8 times...

Hey Crewzin,
You found that out. Yep, each time you change the code, you got to do all the ones you want to use at the same session. The key fobs not in
the car are no longer any good.

George
__________________
2003, ZTW, White wagon
ATX, 2.3L Duratech
SD_ZTW is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 10:15 AM   #17
red_devil_04
Focus Enthusiast
 
red_devil_04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 71963
Location: Tacoma, WA
What I Drive: 2004 Vermillian Red SE Sedan

Posts: 317
FF Reputation: 1 red_devil_04 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
hey, so i programmed my new remote that i got last week and was able to be successful with it. now, i have my step brother with another focus and a coworker with a ranger that can unlock my car with their fobs even though i closed the programming when i did mine. anyone know exactly whats going on?
__________________
'04 SE Sedan: TEIN lowering springs, straight pipe/thrusher exhaust, JBA shorty header, FSWerks Cool-Flo Intake
Sedan Revolution #182/NW Posse #40
Why fit in when you were born to stand out?
Dr. Seuss
red_devil_04 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 11:28 AM   #18
SD_ZTW
Focus Rookie
 
SD_ZTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 91209
Location: San Diego, CA
What I Drive: 2003 White ZTW, D23 PZEV, ATX

Posts: 14
FF Reputation: 2 SD_ZTW Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Red_Devil_04,
Go back to your old fob and see if the problem persists. If so the new fob is at fault.
Program away from other cars if possible.
__________________
2003, ZTW, White wagon
ATX, 2.3L Duratech
SD_ZTW is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 12:41 PM   #19
red_devil_04
Focus Enthusiast
 
red_devil_04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 71963
Location: Tacoma, WA
What I Drive: 2004 Vermillian Red SE Sedan

Posts: 317
FF Reputation: 1 red_devil_04 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
k when i get home tonight i'll try going back to the other fob. right now both fobs are programmed to the car and i dont know how to remove any programmed fobs.
__________________
'04 SE Sedan: TEIN lowering springs, straight pipe/thrusher exhaust, JBA shorty header, FSWerks Cool-Flo Intake
Sedan Revolution #182/NW Posse #40
Why fit in when you were born to stand out?
Dr. Seuss
red_devil_04 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2012, 01:39 PM   #20
sailor
"Elder"
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57268
Location: Williamsville, NY
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black ZTS 2.3 5spd.

Posts: 13,402
FF Reputation: 67 sailor Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Going through the programming sequence with the fob or fobs you want to use SHOULD make just that one or ones work.

That is, for example, if you go through the sequence with just ONE of the fobs that would be the only one that will work until you repeat the procedure with both.

"adding" a fob requires BOTH to be present for both to work....

My owner's manual warns that you need all on hand that you want to use B4 starting the procedure for this reason.... Also it mentions that there is a maximum of 4 that can be programmed to work at the same time.

I remember having to do it twice B4 I got it right when I added an extra (only one came with the used car).

Luck!
sailor is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Ford Recall, TSB, or your vehicle history? Click Here! DJ Lukdogg General Technical Chat 368 10-13-2008 05:04 PM
Lost Key FOB Midas Ford Focus & General Car Chat 0 12-06-2007 01:55 PM
Key Fob compatibility drbadskwerl General Technical Chat 2 11-15-2007 04:30 PM
Key Fob Battery Question miniboon Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics 2 10-01-2007 01:01 PM
Fob and key question 96ConceptGL General Technical Chat 10 06-02-2007 08:19 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:16 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.