Useless TPMS? - Page 4 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2012, 11:23 PM   #31
PandaCar
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
PandaCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93756
Location: Windsor ON, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Platinum Ti Hatch All Options!

Posts: 45
FF Reputation: 1 PandaCar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
FoMoCo TPMS stem sensors are self-setting. I confirmed this with my brother-in-law (a Michelin Tire Dealer) and the dealer too.
I have the Titanium Performance Pkg with 18" rims and a 16" steel full size spare. I had the dealer order 4 more matching steels (why have 3 different rims?) with 4 TPMS's at dealer cost (I used to work there) and Michelin X-Ice x2 winters from brother-in-law.
Once the car was on the road fo a few minutes the TPMS light went out and no problems since.
I keep the winters in michelin tire-totes and swap at first snow fall.
PandaCar is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2012, 07:43 AM   #32
aaron.b
Focus Enthusiast
 
aaron.b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 98162
Location: thompson, ND
What I Drive: 2012 focus ti

Posts: 162
FF Reputation: 1 aaron.b Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well ill give it a week or so before I return the tpms programming tool. I put on a lot of miles so I should find out soon if I get the warning light. But has anyone here actually had to program the tpms sensors with a programming tool on their focus? I wonder if they really are self setting.
aaron.b is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 10:33 AM   #33
PandaCar
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
PandaCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93756
Location: Windsor ON, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Platinum Ti Hatch All Options!

Posts: 45
FF Reputation: 1 PandaCar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
As I said above, if the sensors are FoMoCo (possibly others too), they do not require "programming".
PandaCar is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 12:50 PM   #34
aaron.b
Focus Enthusiast
 
aaron.b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 98162
Location: thompson, ND
What I Drive: 2012 focus ti

Posts: 162
FF Reputation: 1 aaron.b Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Good deal thank you! Wish the tire rack rep on here knew that!
aaron.b is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:02 PM   #35
CeeBee
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Fan#: 101389
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Red Candy Ti 5-Door 5MT

Posts: 45
FF Reputation: 1 CeeBee Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PandaCar View Post
As I said above, if the sensors are FoMoCo (possibly others too), they do not require "programming".
Why did the Ford sensors and reset tool that I bought from Ford, come with directions to pair them with my car specifically then? I don't disagree with you, because I haven't installed my sensor equipped winter wheels yet, but it just doesn't make sense to me.
CeeBee is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:04 PM   #36
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,316
FF Reputation: 23 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CeeBee View Post
Why did the Ford sensors and reset tool that I bought from Ford, come with directions to pair them with my car specifically then? I don't disagree with you, because I haven't installed my sensor equipped winter wheels yet, but it just doesn't make sense to me.
Yeah, perhaps when the original tires are rotated the car wouldn't need to re-learn the sensor ids, but you were still supposed to re-train the car to know which sensor was located at which corner even if all the system tells you is that one is low. At least from what I recall about how the sensors work per the manual and the service documentation that's been floating around.
suss6052 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 01:31 PM   #37
PandaCar
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
PandaCar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93756
Location: Windsor ON, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Platinum Ti Hatch All Options!

Posts: 45
FF Reputation: 1 PandaCar Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm visiting the dealer this afternoon, I'll get another opinion on that. My wife drives a 2009 Honda Accord V6 EX-Navi (works there), and the dealer had to re-program the new TPMS's on her steelies after her brother put on winters. Her brother (the tire dealer) said to have them programmed, but that the Ford stem-type, on mine would self program.
Must admit, I'm now confused by some of the contradictory posts!
__________________
"I spent most of my money on fast cars, booze and women, the rest i just squandered…"
- George Best
PandaCar is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 07:29 PM   #38
aaron.b
Focus Enthusiast
 
aaron.b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 98162
Location: thompson, ND
What I Drive: 2012 focus ti

Posts: 162
FF Reputation: 1 aaron.b Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well I'm up to 500 miles and still no warning light after no reprogram
aaron.b is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:20 PM   #39
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,316
FF Reputation: 23 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaron.b View Post
Well I'm up to 500 miles and still no warning light after no reprogram
Not sure if its driven by # of miles or # of drive cycle events before it detects either no sensors or the wrong ones, but you could save yourself the trouble and just trigger them properly and then not have to worry.
suss6052 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:31 PM   #40
aaron.b
Focus Enthusiast
 
aaron.b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 98162
Location: thompson, ND
What I Drive: 2012 focus ti

Posts: 162
FF Reputation: 1 aaron.b Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm not worried I'm gonna let it go and see if it eventually throws the light. If it does ill reprogram. If it doesn't I'm just gonna return the reset tool. Will be good info for others too I'm guessing so ill report back after a week or so.
aaron.b is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.