Odd Oil issue - Page 3 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus First Generation > DURATEC Performance (2003-2007)

DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) The place to chat about any Duratec 23, 23E, and 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 09:41 AM   #21
wrc_fan
slow
 
wrc_fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Fan#: 11913
Location: Greenville, SC
What I Drive: 03 ZX3 Duratec 08 WRX Hatch

Posts: 1,720
Points 3,527, Level 37
Points: 3,527, Level: 37 Points: 3,527, Level: 37 Points: 3,527, Level: 37
Level Up 18% Completed
Level up: 18% Level up: 18% Level up: 18%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 23 wrc_fan Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Before you install upgraded pumps, oil coolers, etc, you need to add some instrumentation. Find out your oil temp and pressure under operation. I think synthetic 5w30 would be a good idea.
__________________
Parking Lot Hero
2008 WRX daily driver
2003 ZX3 23D Autox Car 42 FSP

"Hella Functional - Raced, Not Hard Parked"
wrc_fan is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-10-2012, 10:07 PM   #22
VEGAS
Focus Enthusiast
 
VEGAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Fan#: 75680
Location: Las Vegas, NV
What I Drive: 2007 Focus

Posts: 537
FF Reputation: 4 VEGAS Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
its only a few hundred for oil pump, this weekend I will be swapping oil out for royal purple.
since I wanna do the BSD anyway...
VEGAS is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2012, 10:08 PM   #23
VEGAS
Focus Enthusiast
 
VEGAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Fan#: 75680
Location: Las Vegas, NV
What I Drive: 2007 Focus

Posts: 537
FF Reputation: 4 VEGAS Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i want to add a Oil temp and Pressure gauge..
VEGAS is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-13-2012, 08:36 PM   #24
felixthecat
w/ my magic bag
 
felixthecat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Fan#: 80663
Location: Renton, WA
What I Drive: '05 Silver Sport Technologies

Posts: 9,570
Points 10,561, Level 68
Points: 10,561, Level: 68 Points: 10,561, Level: 68 Points: 10,561, Level: 68
Level Up 28% Completed
Level up: 28% Level up: 28% Level up: 28%
Forum Activity 100%
Activity: 100% Activity: 100% Activity: 100%
FF Reputation: 59 felixthecat Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by VEGAS View Post
its only a few hundred for oil pump, this weekend I will be swapping oil out for royal purple.
since I wanna do the BSD anyway...
Great move. ^^^^^^^^^^^ Of course add a additional qt of oil.
__________________
Introduce Mr. Torsen to the mixBigger brakes then you- D23 crew- D-Tech- Sedan Revolution= #131
felixthecat is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-14-2012, 10:13 PM   #25
jetrinka
Focus Fanatic
 
jetrinka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45622
Location: Snohomish, WA
What I Drive: 88 5-speed XR4TI

Posts: 7,528
FF Reputation: 180 jetrinka Excellent Standing Member jetrinka Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
The car shouldn't be having issues with oil pressure with all the stock equipment on it and if it truly is, deleting the balance shafts for a very small bump in oil pressure is only going to mask the problem for a short time.

Its not unheard of that an oil pressure sender goes bad. I'd be spending a 30 bucks on a test gauge, plug it into the sender port, and take it for a drive and see what the oil pressure is truly doing. Might just be a bad 20 dollar sender. Then at least you know if there is a problem or not.

Personally I would leave the PCV system stock. Even though its a small amount, the air that is entering the engine via this system (in stock form) is metered and while the car has the ability to compensate for it with its long term trims it shouldn't have to. Your not seeing any gains going the other way and if a very light oil film is of concern you can always splice in a small catch can in line with the feed from the intake to the valve cover.
jetrinka is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2012, 12:34 PM   #26
VEGAS
Focus Enthusiast
 
VEGAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Fan#: 75680
Location: Las Vegas, NV
What I Drive: 2007 Focus

Posts: 537
FF Reputation: 4 VEGAS Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
You dont have the full picture.. Leaving the vent connected to the intake is not a Option, it killed a motor doing this. I am not risking $4000 again. This time the warranty is not there since I got a warning that since my car came with a 2.0L that they wont replace it again, I drained all the oil out of my last motor Via the Vent on the Valve cover.. when the motor runs at high RPM for over half a hour the oil becomes a mist and gets sucked out the intake into the chamber and out the rear of the car.. I am not guessing this, I have tested it AFTER trying to find out why my new motor I had died in 3 weeks with no oil after I know I put in Royal Purple 5w20 for $60

I reconnected stock and revved motor for 10 minutes at 6000 RPM and sure enough, the CAI from FSWERKS was getting a fresh coat of oil. after a week, I noticed 1/2 qt. Low.. I stuck a Filter on the Valve cover vent and no more lose then a normal issue.... so that PVC is a issue to me.

Been 2 months now, no issue till the light flickering..

Here is a video... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yPLSSasxlIA

I have a strong feeling its a Pump issue myself.. since 90% of the motor was replaced and high RPMs can kill a pump.

I even need to use a Tranny Cooler on my Power Steering pump to keep from burning it up. Learned that 3 pumps later..

I know you keep saying its stock, but Other then Cams and Turbo, its not... and Cams are in the near future and since its a Automatic, no turbo for me.. I would kill the motor and tranny in a few weeks.

And I have a Oil catch can BTW, I removed it.. it does not put the oil back in the motor, so what good is it.. I know oil comes out.. why not just use a filter to keep the oil in??
VEGAS is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-15-2012, 12:36 PM   #27
VEGAS
Focus Enthusiast
 
VEGAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Fan#: 75680
Location: Las Vegas, NV
What I Drive: 2007 Focus

Posts: 537
FF Reputation: 4 VEGAS Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I garaged the car ATM, I am driving my stock car..
VEGAS is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2012, 09:52 PM   #28
amc49
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96610
Location: Fort Worth, TX
What I Drive: 00 wagon, 02 sedan both zetec atx

Posts: 5,056
Points 2,935, Level 33
Points: 2,935, Level: 33 Points: 2,935, Level: 33 Points: 2,935, Level: 33
Level Up 24% Completed
Level up: 24% Level up: 24% Level up: 24%
Forum Activity 43%
Activity: 43% Activity: 43% Activity: 43%
FF Reputation: 23 amc49 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Never in all the hundreds of motors I've built including many that ran way over 7000 rpm would I ever, EVER dream of running an engine hard in extreme heat at 6000 rpm longterm on FIVE W-TWENTY weight oil!

Don't be surprised if the bearings are dead, that probably killed the other engine as well. You got all the earmarks of it.

If the pump looks good it IS, there will be undue wear on a bad one. You can't pump what is not there (almost zero oil weight).

No one in their right mind dogs an engine like that with no true oil pressure gauge on it, where I come from it's considered stupid. I mean mechanical not electric gauge. If the oil getting too hot you would have seen it in gauge behavior a long, long time ago. You would have also caught pressure flutters that disappear almost instantly too that would have alerted you to oil getting pumped out too if paying attention.

You are running water for oil that when it gets hot turns into less than water. And using a stock light.............?!?!!

Nothing personal at all of course but I see some pretty serious error there.
amc49 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.