Help with the WIFI - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2012, 06:33 PM   #1
Sgt1255
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103966
Location: Chula Vista, CA
What I Drive: 2012 white Focus Titanium

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 Sgt1255 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Help with the WIFI

I bought a 2012 Focus Titanium and I am trying to get my WIFI working. I sync and put the WIFI password from the settings in my IPhone and IPad. Sometimes I get the WIFI symble on the "I"(left side icon on the bottom of the sync screen) and most of the time I don't. I read somewhere that I actually need a mobil WIFI from a third part to actually work. So what do I need to do to get it working. I want to play Pandora with it and use the Internet sometimes by passengers. Any help would be highly appreciated.

Good Day
Ken


Sgt1255 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-20-2012, 07:14 PM   #2
xxMichaelAnthony
Focus Fanatic
 
xxMichaelAnthony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58459
Location: Orange County, CA, CA
What I Drive: 2001 CD Silver ZX3

Posts: 2,565
Points 15,496, Level 80
Points: 15,496, Level: 80 Points: 15,496, Level: 80 Points: 15,496, Level: 80
Level Up 30% Completed
Level up: 30% Level up: 30% Level up: 30%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 20 xxMichaelAnthony Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
This should help.
http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2756
__________________
http://effyeahfordcars.tumblr.com
[HOONIGAN]
iTroll
xxMichaelAnthony is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 12:23 AM   #3
Sgt1255
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103966
Location: Chula Vista, CA
What I Drive: 2012 white Focus Titanium

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 Sgt1255 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
So you can not set one up through Sync. If not, then why does it have WIFI with its own password in the Setting function in Sync? I thought Sync was its own hotspot for the vehicle. So I have to get a separate hotspot devise from my provider and the Sync WIFI is basically worthless then. I would like someone to explain this to me please. I place the Sync password in my IPhone 4S and IPad 3 and once in a while I will get the WIFI symbol on the Sync screen but mostly I don't. Before I pay extra for a wireless WIFI devise and add money onto my plan, I would like to know if I can do it through Sync or not.

Thanks for anyone's assistance.

Good Day
Ken
Sgt1255 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 09:12 AM   #4
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 Focus Wagon; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,272
Points 27,546, Level 98
Points: 27,546, Level: 98 Points: 27,546, Level: 98 Points: 27,546, Level: 98
Level Up 20% Completed
Level up: 20% Level up: 20% Level up: 20%
Forum Activity 13%
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
You could try asking "FordIVTeam" in a PM. That's our on-site Ford Sync corporate rep, and she should have answers for you. Her name is Jacyln IIRC. Just go to the User CP link in the dark blue banner above, then look for "Send a New Message" over on the left hand side about halfway down under "Private Messages", start typing "FordIVTeam" in the Recipent box, and a link for FordIVTeam should pop up.

Don't expect a response until Monday during regular work hours.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2012, 03:52 PM   #5
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 971
Points 2,174, Level 28
Points: 2,174, Level: 28 Points: 2,174, Level: 28 Points: 2,174, Level: 28
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt1255 View Post
So you can not set one up through Sync. If not, then why does it have WIFI with its own password in the Setting function in Sync? I thought Sync was its own hotspot for the vehicle. So I have to get a separate hotspot devise from my provider and the Sync WIFI is basically worthless then. I would like someone to explain this to me please. I place the Sync password in my IPhone 4S and IPad 3 and once in a while I will get the WIFI symbol on the Sync screen but mostly I don't. Before I pay extra for a wireless WIFI devise and add money onto my plan, I would like to know if I can do it through Sync or not.
Thanks for anyone's assistance.
Good Day
Ken
Hey, Ken -

Hopefully you received my PM.

For anyone else interested in creating a Wi-Fi hotspot, you must tether a line on your phone or use a wireless air card. I recommend using one of following:

Sierra Wireless USB 598
Sierra Wireless USB 308
Sierra Wireless 250U – SYNC supports CDMA only
Sierra Wireless Overdrive
Mercury USBConnect Mercury

Here's a link for how to get started:

http://Support.Ford.com/sync-technol...c-myford-touch

Quote:
Originally Posted by whynotthinkwhynot View Post
You could try asking "FordIVTeam" in a PM. That's our on-site Ford Sync corporate rep, and she should have answers for you. Her name is Jacyln IIRC. Just go to the User CP link in the dark blue banner above, then look for "Send a New Message" over on the left hand side about halfway down under "Private Messages", start typing "FordIVTeam" in the Recipent box, and a link for FordIVTeam should pop up.

Don't expect a response until Monday during regular work hours.
You know me well, whynotthinkwhynot, thanks for the referral!

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2012, 12:27 AM   #6
Sgt1255
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103966
Location: Chula Vista, CA
What I Drive: 2012 white Focus Titanium

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 Sgt1255 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
FordIVTTeam,

Yes I did receive your PM. Thanks for the response. What is the difference with the different Security Types - WEP, WPA, and WPA2? Do I need a data plan from a provider or does getting the USB modem sync up with Sync where the vehicle provides the streaming? If it does, do I use the same password thats in Sync. I have been told that these modem have their own passwords that you have to use. Can you buy these USB directly from Sierra where no data plan is required?

Thanks for the help. I know I am a PIA but I have no idea how all this works. I am not a computer or networking guru lol.

Good Day
Ken
Sgt1255 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2012, 03:59 PM   #7
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 971
Points 2,174, Level 28
Points: 2,174, Level: 28 Points: 2,174, Level: 28 Points: 2,174, Level: 28
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt1255 View Post
FordIVTTeam,
Yes I did receive your PM. Thanks for the response. What is the difference with the different Security Types - WEP, WPA, and WPA2? Do I need a data plan from a provider or does getting the USB modem sync up with Sync where the vehicle provides the streaming? If it does, do I use the same password thats in Sync. I have been told that these modem have their own passwords that you have to use. Can you buy these USB directly from Sierra where no data plan is required?
Thanks for the help. I know I am a PIA but I have no idea how all this works. I am not a computer or networking guru lol.
Good Day
Ken
You are most definitely not a PIA, Ken!

These acronyms refer to different wireless encryption protocols that are intended to protect the information you send and receive over a wireless network.

WEP - Wired Equivalent Privacy
WPA - Wi-Fi Protected Access
WPA2 - Wi-Fi Protected Access 2

In my opinion, it's best to use WPA or WPA2 as they're known to be more secure than WEP.

Wikipedia offers a good breakdown:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wi-Fi_Protected_Access

In order to create a hot spot, you must pay for a tethered line on your wireless plan or purchase a wireless aircard.

I hope this helps!

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-27-2012, 08:17 PM   #8
Sgt1255
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103966
Location: Chula Vista, CA
What I Drive: 2012 white Focus Titanium

Posts: 4
FF Reputation: 1 Sgt1255 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thank you. I got the answer I was looking for. I do highly appriciate all of your patience and assistance. I am sorry for being a PIA but I was still confused but now I am not. Once again, thank you for your help and your the best.

Good Day
Ken
Sgt1255 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-28-2012, 09:40 AM   #9
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 971
Points 2,174, Level 28
Points: 2,174, Level: 28 Points: 2,174, Level: 28 Points: 2,174, Level: 28
Level Up 16% Completed
Level up: 16% Level up: 16% Level up: 16%
Forum Activity 2%
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt1255 View Post
Thank you. I got the answer I was looking for. I do highly appriciate all of your patience and assistance. I am sorry for being a PIA but I was still confused but now I am not. Once again, thank you for your help and your the best.

Good Day
Ken
No problem, Ken! If you ever have any additional technology-related questions, give me a shout.

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat