Aftermarket Remote Start/Auto Start - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2012, 01:17 PM   #1
jeffylube25
Focus Rookie
 
jeffylube25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91488
Location: Anchorage, AK
What I Drive: 2012 Blue Candy SE HB MT

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 jeffylube25 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Aftermarket Remote Start/Auto Start

So I've been thinking about getting an autostart for my baby. I wanna go aftermarket because of the range and well better setup IMO and narrowed it down to two different companies, Compustar and Viper. I am intrigued by both of them offering Apps on your smartphone to track, start, and unlock your car from anywhere in the world but probably not gonna go with it due to the yearly subscription and lack of need.

I have a 5 speed manual and was wondering if any other 2012 Focus homies with a 5spd has gotten either the Compustar or Viper autostart? How has it been so far and if it is troublesome with the manual transmission? If anyone has any preference for either brand and reviews that would be sweeet!

Thanks guys!


__________________
Felicia, 2006 ZX4 SE (07-11)
Fergie, 2012 SE HB MT(11-present)

Only ever drove a Focus, now that's FOCUSED!! =]
jeffylube25 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2012, 01:26 PM   #2
ralck
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96372
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: My sister's car while it is salty

Posts: 222
FF Reputation: 1 ralck Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
At least in my area it is illegal to put a remote start on a manual transmission car. I'm not sure about your area, but I'm also not sure how you would get around the issue of having to push the clutch in to start the car.
ralck is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 03:42 PM   #3
satcomtim
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2012
Fan#: 99074
Location: North Las Vegas, NV
What I Drive: 2012 Race Red SE 5MT 5 door 203A

Posts: 50
FF Reputation: 1 satcomtim Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm going to install install a Viper 5704 over thanksgiving using an iDatalink interface. Got everything I need, just wont have time to do it until then. Serving Overseas at the moment.

Installing on a manual can be done and I will be doing that on mine. It involves a process to ensure the car has the ebrake set and it's not in gear.

When you get ready to leave
1. Put in Netural
2. Set ebrake
3. Press and release brake pedal
4. Push button on remote start remote within 20 seconds
5. Turn off car and remove key, car stays running
6. Close the door
7. Arm the alarm, car will turn off

Now the car is armed and ready for a remote start command. If any of the above changes (i.e. doors opened), remote start wont work until this process has been done again.
satcomtim is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 12:13 PM   #4
jeffylube25
Focus Rookie
 
jeffylube25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91488
Location: Anchorage, AK
What I Drive: 2012 Blue Candy SE HB MT

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 jeffylube25 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yeah in Anchorage there are no laws against it and it is possible from what I've heard.
jeffylube25 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 12:15 PM   #5
jeffylube25
Focus Rookie
 
jeffylube25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91488
Location: Anchorage, AK
What I Drive: 2012 Blue Candy SE HB MT

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 jeffylube25 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
That's cool man, I'm actually serving overseas myself right now and planning on getting it done when I get home. Let me know how it turns out for you. Oh so does that mean you're getting the Viper Smartstart?
jeffylube25 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 05:04 PM   #6
dnprall
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102822
Location: Woodbury, MN
What I Drive: 2012 Blue Candy SEL Hatchback

Posts: 76
FF Reputation: 1 dnprall Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I thought I had read in the past that putting in an aftermarket remote starter can disable other features of the the remote key.

For an example: the trunk won't work unless you also buy an adapter (or was it called a bypass) for the particular remote starter.

Any truth to do? I'd hate to install a remote starter but lose the other features.
dnprall is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 09:34 PM   #7
focusbrad
Focus Rookie
 
focusbrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103194
Location: Cleveland, OH
What I Drive: 2012 tuxedo black s model standard

Posts: 20
FF Reputation: 1 focusbrad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Okay, I also looked into this issue with the standard trans and remote start. I don t know about legality, but I learned that most places just flat out will not install remote starts on stick shifts because of liability reasons. There seems to be two reasons:1) the neutral switch (clutch has to be in to start car), and 2) gearing (the shift lever must be left in neutral otherwise the car would move when you started it with the remote). This also means that the car must have a good working e-brake.
So long story short, the installer would have to disable the neutral switch (which would make regular starts dangerous if the car was left in gear and the key was turned with the clutch still out), then install the system, make sure the car has a working e-brake and then try to convince the customer to ALWAYS leave the car in neutral and ALWAYS set the e-brake. Then they would have to tell the customer that they would have to make sure that kids never got a hold of the keys or play in the car or the consequences could be deadly.I can't see any businesser taking on that kind of liability. Unless there is another simple way to do it, seems not worth it to me, but I have kids. I know what the guy above said, maybe that could work. That's what I was told by a few local places that do this kind of work.hope this helps.
focusbrad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 09:36 PM   #8
focusbrad
Focus Rookie
 
focusbrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 103194
Location: Cleveland, OH
What I Drive: 2012 tuxedo black s model standard

Posts: 20
FF Reputation: 1 focusbrad Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Bye the way tim, thank you for your service!
focusbrad is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 06:45 AM   #9
jeffylube25
Focus Rookie
 
jeffylube25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91488
Location: Anchorage, AK
What I Drive: 2012 Blue Candy SE HB MT

Posts: 23
FF Reputation: 1 jeffylube25 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by focusbrad View Post
Okay, I also looked into this issue with the standard trans and remote start. I don t know about legality, but I learned that most places just flat out will not install remote starts on stick shifts because of liability reasons. There seems to be two reasons:1) the neutral switch (clutch has to be in to start car), and 2) gearing (the shift lever must be left in neutral otherwise the car would move when you started it with the remote). This also means that the car must have a good working e-brake.
So long story short, the installer would have to disable the neutral switch (which would make regular starts dangerous if the car was left in gear and the key was turned with the clutch still out), then install the system, make sure the car has a working e-brake and then try to convince the customer to ALWAYS leave the car in neutral and ALWAYS set the e-brake. Then they would have to tell the customer that they would have to make sure that kids never got a hold of the keys or play in the car or the consequences could be deadly.I can't see any businesser taking on that kind of liability. Unless there is another simple way to do it, seems not worth it to me, but I have kids. I know what the guy above said, maybe that could work. That's what I was told by a few local places that do this kind of work.hope this helps.
Yeah I actually called a few places and they told me that they are able to install the remote start on standard cars, even specifically my own. They do charge a little extra though because it is a little different. Yeah there are a few risks but I think it'll be worth it. I'm the only one using my car and handling it so I think it'll be ok.
jeffylube25 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 12:46 AM   #10
tha1mar1986
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Fan#: 103819
Location: kent, OH
What I Drive: 2012 focus sonic blue metallic se

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 tha1mar1986 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Smile remote start

I have the same car as you and if i was you i would get a autopage c3rs1100 oled i have 1 and love it
tha1mar1986 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.