SYNC System Thread - Page 20 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2012, 12:12 PM   #191
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 890
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blank102 View Post
Why won't this system recognize an iPod?
I can help you with this, blank102, I just need some additional info. Which iPod are you using? Are you connecting through USB or Bluetooth audio? Also, is your Focus equipped with MyFord Touch?

The first line of defense is to soft reset your device:

http://Support.Apple.com/kb/HT1320

I look forward to your reply, let me know if the reset helps. :)

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-05-2012, 11:42 AM   #192
blank102
Focus Enthusiast
 
blank102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96549
Location: Northern, CA
What I Drive: 2012 Sterling Grey SE HB

Posts: 332
FF Reputation: 1 blank102 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by FordIVTteam View Post
I can help you with this, blank102, I just need some additional info. Which iPod are you using? Are you connecting through USB or Bluetooth audio? Also, is your Focus equipped with MyFord Touch?

The first line of defense is to soft reset your device:

http://Support.Apple.com/kb/HT1320

I look forward to your reply, let me know if the reset helps. :)

Jaclyn
I don't have MFT. Only SYNC. And I'm connecting to USB. The unit will play by line in but I can only switch songs through the ipod itself.Sync says my device is unsupported. it's an ipod nano
I have reset.
blank102 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 06:08 PM   #193
louperson
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Fan#: 102229
Location: demarest, NJ
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium 2 Tone Black

Posts: 1
FF Reputation: 1 louperson Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
synch with MFT directions in message window above steering wheel?

This happened once and I've been trying to get it to work again. In the message window above the steering wheel that typically shows MPG, trip time, miles, miles to empty, mykey, etc. I once saw turn by turn directions on the right side of the message window. How did I get that to work? How do I make it work? I do have the directions on MFT in the information section, but the turn by turn in that window was helpful.
louperson is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 08:55 AM   #194
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 890
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blank102 View Post
I don't have MFT. Only SYNC. And I'm connecting to USB. The unit will play by line in but I can only switch songs through the ipod itself.Sync says my device is unsupported. it's an ipod nano
I have reset.
To confirm, did you perform a Master Reset? During this process, push the PHONE button and use your SEEK arrows to scroll through the following:

SETTINGS > ADVANCED > MASTER RESET

If you already tried this and it's still not working, please try connecting another device via USB so we can further isolate this concern. Also, do you know which generation your iPod is?

Quote:
Originally Posted by louperson View Post
This happened once and I've been trying to get it to work again. In the message window above the steering wheel that typically shows MPG, trip time, miles, miles to empty, mykey, etc. I once saw turn by turn directions on the right side of the message window. How did I get that to work? How do I make it work? I do have the directions on MFT in the information section, but the turn by turn in that window was helpful.
Hi, louperson -

With a route active, push the OK button on the control pad. Once the cluster screen is up, use the arrow keys (up and down) to select NAVIGATION. This will bring up the next turn on your route. :)

If you have additional questions, let me know.

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:23 PM   #195
blank102
Focus Enthusiast
 
blank102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96549
Location: Northern, CA
What I Drive: 2012 Sterling Grey SE HB

Posts: 332
FF Reputation: 1 blank102 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'll try it.

But ya know what? The mistake here was letting Microsoft do this.
If Apple had done it your system would work..
blank102 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:07 PM   #196
blank102
Focus Enthusiast
 
blank102's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 96549
Location: Northern, CA
What I Drive: 2012 Sterling Grey SE HB

Posts: 332
FF Reputation: 1 blank102 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blank102 View Post
I'll try it.

But ya know what? The mistake here was letting Microsoft do this.
If Apple had done it your system would work..
blank102 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 11:03 PM   #197
MisterH
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89103
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
What I Drive: 2012 Sterling Gray Metallic SE

Posts: 229
FF Reputation: 2 MisterH Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Well it looks like it is time for another fuse pull. I got the "index full some songs may not be available" message today. This is getting old (not the first time this has happened). It's a shame because the rest of my Focus is still going great.
__________________
2012 Ford Focus SE Sedan, 5 Speed, 203A, Sterling Gray Metallic
MisterH is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 11:32 AM   #198
FordIVTteam
Official Ford Rep
 
FordIVTteam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87765
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: Ford Focus

Posts: 890
FF Reputation: 3 FordIVTteam Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blank102 View Post
I'll try it.

But ya know what? The mistake here was letting Microsoft do this.
If Apple had done it your system would work..
We're very happy with our partnership with Microsoft, but we still talk with and learn from other experts in user interface technology; including Apple. Definitely let me know if the reset helps!

Jaclyn
__________________
FORD IN-VEHICLE TECHNOLOGY TEAM

p: 800.392.FORD (Prompts 1 then 3)
t: @FordService @FordFocus @Ford
f: facebook.com/FordFocus facebook.com/Ford
FordIVTteam is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:25 PM   #199
lewisra
Focus Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 93289
Location: Howell, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Tuxedo Black SEL

Posts: 560
FF Reputation: 3 lewisra Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterH View Post
Well it looks like it is time for another fuse pull. I got the "index full some songs may not be available" message today. This is getting old (not the first time this has happened). It's a shame because the rest of my Focus is still going great.
Ever try the delayedreboot.cab? It's a bit easier than a fuse pull.
lewisra is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 02:29 PM   #200
suss6052
Focus Addict
 
suss6052's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Fan#: 95752
Location: ..., MI
What I Drive: 2013 Ford Focus ST2 Ingot Silver

Posts: 12,110
FF Reputation: 23 suss6052 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lewisra View Post
Ever try the delayedreboot.cab? It's a bit easier than a fuse pull.
That only applies to MFT, and it appears that they have an SE with 202/203a sync w/ myford, not my ford touch. Therefore that's not exactly helpful in this case.
suss6052 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.