04 SVT sub woofer replacement - Page 3 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2012, 01:06 AM   #21
katiekay
ɔᴉʇɐuɐℲ snɔoℲ
 
katiekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 42025
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
What I Drive: 03 CD Silver ZX5

Posts: 7,765
FF Reputation: 58 katiekay Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (47)
I used a Rockford Fosgate 8" slim sub & an Alpine Mono amp. I dynamated the sub enclosure and ran the wires out where the factory sub was screwed in to. Then I lit it up with LED's and I used the grille that was on the stock sub in place of the grille that was on the carpet.








__________________
Hatch Nation #8
September 2012 Ride of the Month
katiekay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-25-2012, 01:23 AM   #22
cdsilver02
Focus Addict
 
cdsilver02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Fan#: 16192
Location: Topeka, KS
What I Drive: PWSC 2002 CD Silver SVT

Posts: 938
FF Reputation: 29 cdsilver02 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
What is the impedence of the stock amp? and would something like this work? Pioneer 8" sub
__________________
CD Silver '02 SVTF : #612 of 4788, 1 of 513
POWERWORKsED!!!
FocusFest '08 Winner Best of Show and Fastest Forced Inducted
ROTM August '12

Midwest crew #2 Boosted Crew #127
cdsilver02 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 01:27 AM   #23
katiekay
ɔᴉʇɐuɐℲ snɔoℲ
 
katiekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 42025
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
What I Drive: 03 CD Silver ZX5

Posts: 7,765
FF Reputation: 58 katiekay Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (47)
Mine is this one and it fit right in:
http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/produ...?itemid=233191
__________________
Hatch Nation #8
September 2012 Ride of the Month
katiekay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 09:33 AM   #24
svtguy88
Focus Fanatic
 
svtguy88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Fan#: 13476
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
What I Drive: 2003 Infra Red SVT

Posts: 2,959
FF Reputation: 17 svtguy88 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdsilver02 View Post
What is the impedence of the stock amp? and would something like this work? Pioneer 8" sub
Again, I'm not sure if the stock sub is 8 ohm or 4 ohm, but my guess is 8. That being said, that Pioneer would work. However, it's my experience that those shallow mount subs are never really worth the money. If you *need* one (like in a pickup where there's no other room), they are great, but if you have the space for a non "shallow mount" I'd go that route.

We used to sell an older version of that Pioneer (hell, it might have even been that one) at the electronics store I used to work at, and I can tell you that if that's the sub I'm thinking of, it's not worth $160.
svtguy88 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 03:23 PM   #25
Sniper Focus
Focus Addict
 
Sniper Focus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84221
Location: IL, IL
What I Drive: '03 SVT EAP "Eurotrish"

Posts: 1,268
FF Reputation: 20 Sniper Focus Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyroinsa View Post
I used a Rockford Fosgate 8" slim sub & an Alpine Mono amp. I dynamated the sub enclosure and ran the wires out where the factory sub was screwed in to. Then I lit it up with LED's and I used the grille that was on the stock sub in place of the grille that was on the carpet.
There were two different boxes that came in Foci and yours is different from the one that's in the SVT, at least different than whats in mine. I think yours is the one that has more space inside and is easier to mod for a deeper sub.



I too Dymamated my enclosure and sealed off the bolt hole in the rear with quicksteel to keep it a sealed box.
__________________
'03 SVT EAP "Eurotrish Bennett"
Sniper Focus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2012, 04:40 PM   #26
katiekay
ɔᴉʇɐuɐℲ snɔoℲ
 
katiekay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Fan#: 42025
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
What I Drive: 03 CD Silver ZX5

Posts: 7,765
FF Reputation: 58 katiekay Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (47)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniper Focus View Post
There were two different boxes that came in Foci and yours is different from the one that's in the SVT, at least different than whats in mine.
Yeah, mine would accommodate a deeper sub if I did a little modding to the box. As far as I know only SVT's got sub's in first gen Foci(not counting Mach Audio editions). My sub enclosure came out of an SVT and it originally had an Audiophile sub in it.
__________________
Hatch Nation #8
September 2012 Ride of the Month
katiekay is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 12:29 PM   #27
04 EuRo SvT FoCuS
Focus Enthusiast
 
04 EuRo SvT FoCuS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57177
Location: Howell NJ, NJ
What I Drive: 2004 yellow eap svt, rip 08 ses

Posts: 210
FF Reputation: 2 04 EuRo SvT FoCuS Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pkmgarf View Post
Again, I'm not sure if the stock sub is 8 ohm or 4 ohm, but my guess is 8. That being said, that Pioneer would work. However, it's my experience that those shallow mount subs are never really worth the money. If you *need* one (like in a pickup where there's no other room), they are great, but if you have the space for a non "shallow mount" I'd go that route.

We used to sell an older version of that Pioneer (hell, it might have even been that one) at the electronics store I used to work at, and I can tell you that if that's the sub I'm thinking of, it's not worth $160.
I read a few years ago its 4 ohms its a post somewhere in this forum I believe.
04 EuRo SvT FoCuS is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 02:37 AM   #28
INCUBUSRATM
Focus Addict
 
INCUBUSRATM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51482
Location: The Wood, TN
What I Drive: 2007 Pitch Black ZX3

Posts: 1,107
FF Reputation: 4 INCUBUSRATM Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I recommend you do this:



Subthump enclosure with an MTX 12". Sounds amazing.

http://subthump.com/Ford-Sub-Boxes/Focus
__________________
2007 Pitch Black ZX3 SE with FocusSport CAI, custom glasspack exhaust, and 12" MTX sub in Subthump stealth enclosure with 540W MTX RT602 amp.
INCUBUSRATM is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 05:01 AM   #29
freemind
Vince your Moderator
 
freemind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67513
Location: Seattle, WA
What I Drive: 2002 ZX3 and a 2010 Focus SE (Work)

Posts: 3,791
FF Reputation: 21 freemind Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (19)
Quote:
Originally Posted by INCUBUSRATM View Post
I recommend you do this:



Subthump enclosure with an MTX 12". Sounds amazing.

http://subthump.com/Ford-Sub-Boxes/Focus
Bingo!

Outside of that, the Parts Express idea is a great idea.

Research.............................
__________________
133whp-126ftlbsTQ Eclipse CD8443,Eclipse PA5422, JBL GTO751EZ, PPI 356cs(Rebranded A/D/S 346cs), JBL p1024, SubThump enclosure, RAAmat BXT, Damplifier Pro

Hatch Nation #140
Caeci caecos ducentes
freemind is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 10:17 AM   #30
svtguy88
Focus Fanatic
 
svtguy88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Fan#: 13476
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
What I Drive: 2003 Infra Red SVT

Posts: 2,959
FF Reputation: 17 svtguy88 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
I don't know the mounting depth of the stock box, but if this will fit, it would work nicely. Mounting depth is 3 5/8''.

Dual 8 ohm voice coils mean a 4 ohm load on the amp, which is what you need if the stock sub is 4 ohms. I doubt the stock amp would be stable at 2 ohms, and it wouldn't make any power at 8 ohms, so four is what to shoot for, assuming that is what was stock.

This would work too, but it's mounting depth is a little deeper, but it also handles more power -- although if you are staying with the stock amp, you probably don't really need to worry at all.

They also make a low profile sub, but it's more money, and wouldn't really work with a stock amp, as it will end up with either a 2 or 8 ohm load, depending on how you wire it (it's a dual 4 ohm sub).

It probably sounds like I'm a Dayton Audio rep or something, but I'm not. I've just had good experiences with their products. Partsexpress offers other brands too, but for the money, I think the Dayton stuff would work nicely.
svtguy88 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.