Useless TPMS? - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2012, 09:54 AM   #1
JayDeZ
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97919
Location: New Britain, CT
What I Drive: 2014 Honda Accord Sport 6-sp manual

Posts: 313
Points 1,466, Level 21
Points: 1,466, Level: 21 Points: 1,466, Level: 21 Points: 1,466, Level: 21
Level Up 66% Completed
Level up: 66% Level up: 66% Level up: 66%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 3 JayDeZ Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
TPMS Sensors for new wheels

I have a set of wheels off my 91 Thunderbird that I want to put snow tires on for this coming winter. I know the wheels fit. What I dont know is what sensors do I need for the stupid TPMS system. Can I use the tire valve ones or do they have to be the more expensive band types?

Also, anyone know where I can order some OEM or aftermarket one cheap? I checked Rock Auto and it looks like the senesors and the bands are 2 separate part numbers and end up being $80+ total per wheel.


__________________
Jay
2014 Honda Accord Sport
JayDeZ is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2012, 10:08 AM   #2
elwood125
Focus Enthusiast
 
elwood125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 17784
Location: 757massive, VA
What I Drive: Mk 3 Blue Candy SE Sport 5spd Hatch

Posts: 461
Points 1,098, Level 17
Points: 1,098, Level: 17 Points: 1,098, Level: 17 Points: 1,098, Level: 17
Level Up 98% Completed
Level up: 98% Level up: 98% Level up: 98%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 4 elwood125 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
try tire rack. i got mine for about $45 each when i got the new wheels
elwood125 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 10:16 AM   #3
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,868
Points 1,491, Level 21
Points: 1,491, Level: 21 Points: 1,491, Level: 21 Points: 1,491, Level: 21
Level Up 91% Completed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
$42 each for me at Tire Rack.

315MHz Tire Pressure Sensor 4 $42.00 $168.00
__________________
.
.......here's a lockpick. It might come in handy if you, the master of unlocking, take it with you.
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 10:18 AM   #4
JDBug182
Focus Enthusiast
 
JDBug182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 83895
Location: St. Charles, IL
What I Drive: 2009 Blue SES Coupe

Posts: 495
FF Reputation: 3 JDBug182 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Fyi: 2010+ use valve stem type
__________________
mmmmmm...... fo-FoMoCo-coa??
JDBug182 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 12:14 PM   #5
NickCornell
Focus Fanatic
 
NickCornell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97233
Location: Indiana, PA
What I Drive: 2012 Race red Focus SEL

Posts: 4,785
Points 13,647, Level 75
Points: 13,647, Level: 75 Points: 13,647, Level: 75 Points: 13,647, Level: 75
Level Up 99% Completed
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Forum Activity 6%
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
FF Reputation: 12 NickCornell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Can you use the factory ones for new wheels?
NickCornell is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 12:19 PM   #6
JayDeZ
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97919
Location: New Britain, CT
What I Drive: 2014 Honda Accord Sport 6-sp manual

Posts: 313
Points 1,466, Level 21
Points: 1,466, Level: 21 Points: 1,466, Level: 21 Points: 1,466, Level: 21
Level Up 66% Completed
Level up: 66% Level up: 66% Level up: 66%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 3 JayDeZ Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NickCornell View Post
Can you use the factory ones for new wheels?
No. 2 sets of wheels and tires. One for warm weather, one for snow.
__________________
Jay
2014 Honda Accord Sport
JayDeZ is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 01:37 PM   #7
PratoN
Focus Fanatic
 
PratoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88058
Location: Milwaukee, WI
What I Drive: 2012 Kona Blue Ti Hatchback, DCT

Posts: 3,930
Points 2,928, Level 33
Points: 2,928, Level: 33 Points: 2,928, Level: 33 Points: 2,928, Level: 33
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 13 PratoN Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Technically, you don't even have to get them, but your car will yell at you at every startup. I got my steelies/winter tires on ebay. But I never even sync'd my sensors... so I have no clue if they even work. I probably wasted the $90+ I paid for them.

EDIT: I'll buy one of those fancy reset tools when I'm good and ready.
PratoN is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 04:19 PM   #8
JDBug182
Focus Enthusiast
 
JDBug182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 83895
Location: St. Charles, IL
What I Drive: 2009 Blue SES Coupe

Posts: 495
FF Reputation: 3 JDBug182 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I dont have them but i think you can switch them over.....but your prob better off just doing this...
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydez View Post
no. 2 sets of wheels and tires. One for warm weather, one for snow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by praton View Post
technically, you don't even have to get them, but your car will yell at you at every startup. I got my steelies/winter tires on ebay. But i never even sync'd my sensors... So i have no clue if they even work. I probably wasted the $90+ i paid for them.

Edit: I'll buy one of those fancy reset tools when i'm good and ready.
i think i just read on another thread the other day that any ford dealer will reset your sensors for free
__________________
mmmmmm...... fo-FoMoCo-coa??
JDBug182 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-10-2012, 04:40 PM   #9
PratoN
Focus Fanatic
 
PratoN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88058
Location: Milwaukee, WI
What I Drive: 2012 Kona Blue Ti Hatchback, DCT

Posts: 3,930
Points 2,928, Level 33
Points: 2,928, Level: 33 Points: 2,928, Level: 33 Points: 2,928, Level: 33
Level Up 19% Completed
Level up: 19% Level up: 19% Level up: 19%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 13 PratoN Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDBug182 View Post
i think i just read on another thread the other day that any ford dealer will reset your sensors for free
Actually, I think I've heard that as well.
PratoN is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-24-2012, 07:19 PM   #10
mrpostman
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Fan#: 95963
Location: Toronto, Canada
What I Drive: 2012 Focus Titanium

Posts: 14
FF Reputation: 1 mrpostman Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have a 2012 Focus Ti with the 18" rims. I am looking to buy a separate set of rims and tires for the winter but 17". What would happen if I do not have tire pressure monitoring sensors for my winter rims/tires? I prefer not to spend the extra money on 4 sensors.
mrpostman is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat