My Ford Touch Thread - Page 189 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2012, 08:11 AM   #1881
BiggerBoat
Focus Addict
 
BiggerBoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85913
Location: MAUMEE, OH
What I Drive: 2012 Red Candy Titanium Hatch

Posts: 712
FF Reputation: 3 BiggerBoat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richs10 View Post
Real nice.
That should help my resale value when I go to buy MY NEXT FORD.
I still say 95% of the problem are technology-challenged buyers.
JMHO.

Rich
True that this kind of press can't help resale. But, I figure this also hurts Ford's bottom line and will therefore motivate them to improve it. Motivate them WAY more than all our howling up here on FF. I agree that the complaints of "it's too hard to use" are 95% whiners who don't realize it take a few days to learn any new interface.

But, (and this comes from somebody with a 4-year technical degree and over 20 years in the electronics and software industry), there are SIGNIFICANT numbers of bugs still hanging around in v3.02. I even give Ford a pass on some of the Bluetooth stuff because that relies on bug free implementations on the phones used (laughable). But, still bad programming on core code is inexcusable. I have had v3.02 for weeks now and it one of the first things I always do, is press the lower left 'Entertainment' button to take me to that screen....unresponsive at least half the time.

Even with all the bugs, I think MFT is a very cool system and I enjoy it immensely when it's working. And yes, if given a do-over, I would probably buy it again for all it's good points. However, (as a $900 option) it just has far more bugs than any of the $200 software driven devices I have purchased.
BiggerBoat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-21-2012, 07:01 PM   #1882
feta_mgp
Focus Fanatic
 
feta_mgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88210
Location: Vero Beach, FL
What I Drive: 2012 SGM Focus SEL

Posts: 2,651
Points 3,254, Level 35
Points: 3,254, Level: 35 Points: 3,254, Level: 35 Points: 3,254, Level: 35
Level Up 36% Completed
Level up: 36% Level up: 36% Level up: 36%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 7 feta_mgp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiggerBoat View Post
True that this kind of press can't help resale. But, I figure this also hurts Ford's bottom line and will therefore motivate them to improve it. Motivate them WAY more than all our howling up here on FF. I agree that the complaints of "it's too hard to use" are 95% whiners who don't realize it take a few days to learn any new interface.

But, (and this comes from somebody with a 4-year technical degree and over 20 years in the electronics and software industry), there are SIGNIFICANT numbers of bugs still hanging around in v3.02. I even give Ford a pass on some of the Bluetooth stuff because that relies on bug free implementations on the phones used (laughable). But, still bad programming on core code is inexcusable. I have had v3.02 for weeks now and it one of the first things I always do, is press the lower left 'Entertainment' button to take me to that screen....unresponsive at least half the time.

Even with all the bugs, I think MFT is a very cool system and I enjoy it immensely when it's working. And yes, if given a do-over, I would probably buy it again for all it's good points. However, (as a $900 option) it just has far more bugs than any of the $200 software driven devices I have purchased.
I'm just hoping the system will have been improved and fixed by the time I go to resell, and will by that time be one of the better infotainment systems to use, which will attract buyers. Fat chance, though.
__________________
2012 SGM SEL Sedan Job 1 BD 6/2011
FSWERKS Cool-Flo w/ ITG Filter | FSWERKS Stealth Exhaust | 17x7.5 Axis Sport XMX Graphite wheels | Eibach Sportlines on Ti Handling Pkg bits
Sonic Crew #28
feta_mgp is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2012, 11:54 AM   #1883
engine ear
Focus Enthusiast
 
engine ear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Fan#: 5447
Location: Mesa, AZ, United States
What I Drive: 2012 Titanium Sterling Gray

Posts: 430
FF Reputation: 1 engine ear Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Picked it up last night and...WOW...info overload! What a great system. Salesperson walked us thru basic stuff and we are thoroughly impressed with all it will do. Wife didn't want to drive it home or take to work today till she's more in touch with where things are...don't blame her. Everything went smoothly, no hiccups or glitches. I think, after pouring over this site, we need to input and wait for response before hitting the button again.
I asked if all the TSB's, updates/flashes were done at the factory and was told they were. Transmission seemed fine but will put through it's paces soon. Certainly enough power...on par with my old SVT. Handling feels great and am looking forward to my favorite corners.
So far so good!
__________________
"...meet me in the corner..."
engine ear is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2012, 05:17 PM   #1884
kxweil38
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Fan#: 100546
Location: Dearborn, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Candy Red Titanium

Posts: 34
Points 105, Level 2
Points: 105, Level: 2 Points: 105, Level: 2 Points: 105, Level: 2
Level Up 10% Completed
Level up: 10% Level up: 10% Level up: 10%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 kxweil38 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I picked up a Titanium 5 door at the end of March. After almost 3 months I really enjoy the car. I had it in to the dealer once to have the transmission update done and have had no other problems with it since. I have had some issues with the voice recognition when trying to make a call but nothing really troublesome. I have had a couple of occurances with the clock not being accurate. I have noticed the time being off by 6 to 8 bours. I reset the time and it will be accurate for several days but then be off by several hours once again when I start the car. Anyone else had this happen or is there an update that has come out in the last 3 months?
Posted via FF Mobile
kxweil38 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2012, 06:19 PM   #1885
Pendarus
Focus Enthusiast
 
Pendarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94411
Location: Fullerton, CA
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Titanium 5dr

Posts: 136
FF Reputation: 2 Pendarus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
On the HD radio, is there a way to select the HD station with out using direct tune? Say I am on 106.7-1 but want to go to 106.7-2, can I do it with out using direct tune?
__________________
Sonic Blue Titanium 5dr Titanium Handling Package
Ordered: 01/28/12
Vin: 02/20/12
Build Date: 03/06/12
Delivery Date: 03/30/12
Pendarus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-24-2012, 07:59 PM   #1886
feta_mgp
Focus Fanatic
 
feta_mgp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 88210
Location: Vero Beach, FL
What I Drive: 2012 SGM Focus SEL

Posts: 2,651
Points 3,254, Level 35
Points: 3,254, Level: 35 Points: 3,254, Level: 35 Points: 3,254, Level: 35
Level Up 36% Completed
Level up: 36% Level up: 36% Level up: 36%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 7 feta_mgp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pendarus View Post
On the HD radio, is there a way to select the HD station with out using direct tune? Say I am on 106.7-1 but want to go to 106.7-2, can I do it with out using direct tune?
If you're on HD-1 for a station, the only way I've seen aside from direct tune to switch to HD-2 for a station is to use the Tune+ button in the middle around the volume dial. Never really used direct tune so for all I know they might be the same thing.
__________________
2012 SGM SEL Sedan Job 1 BD 6/2011
FSWERKS Cool-Flo w/ ITG Filter | FSWERKS Stealth Exhaust | 17x7.5 Axis Sport XMX Graphite wheels | Eibach Sportlines on Ti Handling Pkg bits
Sonic Crew #28
feta_mgp is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2012, 10:43 AM   #1887
wreed
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85302
Location: West Milford, NJ
What I Drive: 2012 Ford Focus

Posts: 39
FF Reputation: 1 wreed Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Did anyone's radio station numbers just start disappearing? I can't see my presets or what station i am on after this latest update (started few months after update)
wreed is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2012, 11:09 AM   #1888
copernicium112
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87742
Location: Rochester, NY
What I Drive: 2012 Sonic Blue Ti Sedan

Posts: 1,868
Points 1,491, Level 21
Points: 1,491, Level: 21 Points: 1,491, Level: 21 Points: 1,491, Level: 21
Level Up 91% Completed
Level up: 91% Level up: 91% Level up: 91%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 4 copernicium112 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wreed View Post
Did anyone's radio station numbers just start disappearing? I can't see my presets or what station i am on after this latest update (started few months after update)
Yep, a lot of us. See here for TiPilot's video:

http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/s...=289071&page=2
copernicium112 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2012, 01:35 PM   #1889
TiPilot
Focus Addict
 
TiPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93667
Location: Dayton, OH
What I Drive: 2012 Ingot Silver Ti Hatch

Posts: 647
FF Reputation: 1 TiPilot Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by feta_mgp View Post
If you're on HD-1 for a station, the only way I've seen aside from direct tune to switch to HD-2 for a station is to use the Tune+ button in the middle around the volume dial. Never really used direct tune so for all I know they might be the same thing.
Only way I know of as well.
__________________
2012 Focus Ti Hatch | Ingot Silver | 401A, Nav, Winter Pkg, Moon Roof, Parking Tech. Pkg

Build Date: 12/2/2011 | New APIM: 4/4/2012
MFT: Factory v2.11, 3/14/12 Web -> v3.0.2, 9/24/12 Web -> v3.2.2, 1/24/13 Web -> v3.5.1, 8/13/13 Web -> v3.6
TiPilot is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-25-2012, 03:03 PM   #1890
BiggerBoat
Focus Addict
 
BiggerBoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85913
Location: MAUMEE, OH
What I Drive: 2012 Red Candy Titanium Hatch

Posts: 712
FF Reputation: 3 BiggerBoat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by kxweil38 View Post
.... I have had a couple of occurances with the clock not being accurate. I have noticed the time being off by 6 to 8 bours. I reset the time and it will be accurate for several days but then be off by several hours once again when I start the car. Anyone else had this happen or is there an update that has come out in the last 3 months?
Posted via FF Mobile
I and several others have reported this 'loss of time' with the clock. The assumption is that the processor or a (specific process) is getting frozen in some fashion during shut down and so it cant even keep time until the next startup. Likely a symptom for some instability occurring in the operating system of MFT. I have seen this happen with the older v2.11 and the current v3.02 released a couple months ago.
BiggerBoat is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Cadillac ATS-V, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.