AEM wideband to xcal3 question - Page 9 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2012, 05:23 PM   #81
bespurcell
Focus Addict
 
bespurcell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Fan#: 60917
Location: Purcell, OK
What I Drive: 2003 black svt

Posts: 716
FF Reputation: 2 bespurcell Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
[QUOTE=DoomsdayFAN;4145462

Will my car run fair enough between having the header put on and uploading a tune?[/QUOTE]

Yes it will run fine. It may bog when you take off from a start. I know mine did. No big deal though.
__________________
Dominant Eng. orp, ITG Maxogen panel filter, Focus-Power tune, Team Dynamic Pro Race 2 16x7 wheels in black(36 lb weight reduction from stock tire/wheel combo)
bespurcell is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2012, 06:06 PM   #82
J0EC00L
Focus Enthusiast
 
J0EC00L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Fan#: 86480
Location: Erie, PA
What I Drive: 2001 Ford Focus

Posts: 300
FF Reputation: 1 J0EC00L Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomsdayFAN View Post
Well, once you get the header and the wideband all connected and set up and pulled through the firewall and ready to go, then what must you do in order to get a datalog to send to Tom? Do you just plug in to the wideband itself? Or is it more complicated than that?

I'll hopefully be getting my header install tomorrow. So, after that, I'll for sure get the tune.

Will my car run fair enough between having the header put on and uploading a tune?
You will need the data cable that connects your SCT tuner that you get with a Tom tune to your wide band. The cable has a IEE1394 end to connect to the SCT and 4 wires on the other end. you only need one wire to connect your wide band to the cable. There are 2 data wires I believe I used the White one which is data 1. Then the SCT can get the data from the wide band. After you get the SCT device you need to download the software - get version Live Link 6.5 for logging. To load the Tunes you need the SCT updater software. When you first get going Tom will log into your laptop and setup what to log. Once you do it once its easy.

Joe
J0EC00L is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 02:48 PM   #83
Slkfucusdvr
Focus Enthusiast
 
Slkfucusdvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90401
Location: Cleveland, OH
What I Drive: 2005 ZX3 2.0L Black

Posts: 180
FF Reputation: 1 Slkfucusdvr Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Awesome thread. I do have one question though. I have a innovate LC-1 AFR setup. Once everythings connected how do I convert it to a LM-1 READING FOR SCT tuning software?
__________________
Giddyup focus.... Giddyup...
Slkfucusdvr is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 03:21 PM   #84
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,443
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
with livelink open go to , commands , analog equation, then to the drop down on the right in the box that showed up , choose your wide band out of the list then hit apply , you should then see the close to correct to matching your gauge

Adjust if the wide band and logged AF do not match

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2012, 04:58 PM   #85
dcspeed
Focus Enthusiast
 
dcspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61023
Location: Greensboro NC, United States
What I Drive: 02 Focus SVT

Posts: 175
FF Reputation: 4 dcspeed Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
I have an AutoMeter Ultra lite AFR 4378. The AEM analog equation settings do not work with it. Through much trial and error and eventually videotaping the LiveLink reading on my laptop right next to the gauge for comparison, I found the correct setting.

Anyone else using an autometer AFR gauge use (v*1.5)+10
__________________
My avatar's spoiler is bigger than yours
dcspeed is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2012, 08:04 PM   #86
budpln
Focus Addict
 
budpln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 89951
Location: dracut, MA
What I Drive: 2008 red ses

Posts: 914
FF Reputation: 1 budpln Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
with livelink open go to , commands , analog equation, then to the drop down on the right in the box that showed up , choose your wide band out of the list then hit apply , you should then see the close to correct to matching your gauge

Adjust if the wide band and logged AF do not match

Tom
the missing peice to the puzzle for me thnx tom..
budpln is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 02:20 PM   #87
ZXthrizzle05
TURBO ZX3
 
ZXthrizzle05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24434
Location: Marysville, WA
What I Drive: 2007 mazda 3 I sport, TURBO ZX3

Posts: 8,264
FF Reputation: 6 ZXthrizzle05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
my wideband has been going steady from 12 to 15 then for some reason for split seconds it will go to 18 then back. i got mine hooked up corectly i beleive but its very white trash looking
__________________
FF MODERATOR
RISE AGAIN EGGYOLK130 WHP 124 WTQ ZETEC CREW #271
RIFF CREW
TURBO DYNO COMING SOON
ZXthrizzle05 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:20 PM   #88
sgtsmasher
need new focus?!
 
sgtsmasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65000
Location: come find me, United States
What I Drive: 01 cd silver 3 door ztec

Posts: 1,675
FF Reputation: 2 sgtsmasher Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BC_ZX3 View Post
I just finished doing this and had the same questions. Hope this helps.


so that hand held in then left corner of the picture is not the xcal2? am i right?
i just bought the aem set up just now for 165 on ebay and it comes with a lot of stuff which in my opinion is really good for ebay, i want to make sure if i do all the correct steps that i can achieve this goal of correctly setting up my first ever gauge :D
__________________
Hatch Nation #72
Call Me BRANDO COMMANDO
sgtsmasher is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:41 PM   #89
BC_ZX3
DTC P0606
 
BC_ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48751
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Red ZX3 Turbo

Posts: 2,836
FF Reputation: 86 BC_ZX3 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
It's an SCT X3 Power Flash Ford Programmer, SCT Part Number 3000.
BC_ZX3 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 07:07 PM   #90
ZXthrizzle05
TURBO ZX3
 
ZXthrizzle05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Fan#: 24434
Location: Marysville, WA
What I Drive: 2007 mazda 3 I sport, TURBO ZX3

Posts: 8,264
FF Reputation: 6 ZXthrizzle05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (11)
My afr wasjumping because my oil seals blew in my turbo. I was burning oil. SUXXX
__________________
FF MODERATOR
RISE AGAIN EGGYOLK130 WHP 124 WTQ ZETEC CREW #271
RIFF CREW
TURBO DYNO COMING SOON
ZXthrizzle05 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.