03 ZX3 Instrument Panel Swap Question - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > General Technical Chat

General Technical Chat This section is for technical discussions relating to general maintenance, electrical issues, engine trouble, and recalls.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2012, 01:24 PM   #1
vegte44
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97688
Location: White Cloud, MI
What I Drive: 2003 Black ZX3

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 vegte44 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
03 ZX3 Instrument Panel Swap Question

I have an 03 Focus ZX3 2.0 w/ 5sp. My speedo works only when it wants to. I have checked the search function. My question is: I am reading this right, just about any cluster will work in my car? The dealer lists more than 13 different clusters and cost is $480. I would like to put in a white guage cluster from a SVT. Will this work?


vegte44 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-15-2012, 04:27 PM   #2
pasta
Focus Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Fan#: 62350
Location: queens, NY
What I Drive: 2003 eap svt

Posts: 1,603
FF Reputation: 5 pasta Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (40)
no because the computer controls all and svt and zx3 are different
pasta is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 04:57 PM   #3
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,057
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
If you want white face gauges, then just modify the cluster once you get it installed. We used to have some vendors who sold gauge re-finish kits. Ask around in the interior modifications, or double check the Complete How-To archive in my signature for How-Tos.

If you are ONLY having problems with the speedometer, it is most likely not the instrument cluster, but the VSS. I would check that first before I replaced a much more expensive cluster only to have the same problem.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 05:48 PM   #4
vegte44
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97688
Location: White Cloud, MI
What I Drive: 2003 Black ZX3

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 vegte44 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
vss is good. I know it's the cluster. I am a mechanic. Just don't know much about the interchange of these clusters. Need to find out which will interchange. Really don't care if they are black or white face or odometer reading. Just was hoping the SVT would work.
vegte44 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 06:40 PM   #5
whynotthinkwhynot
Captain TMI
 
whynotthinkwhynot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Fan#: 18416
Location: the armpit of TN, Memphis, TN
What I Drive: 05 ZXW; 02 Windstar; 13 C-Max SEL

Posts: 20,057
FF Reputation: 270 whynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Memberwhynotthinkwhynot Outstanding Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
I really think it will. As long as it's not an 05+ or a 03-04 PZEV it should work. IDK why there are 13 different ones though. We've had several people swap them out- it's popular for adding tachometers. If your Focus doesn't have a tach, then swap in one with a tach, and magically the tach works. AFAIK, all the gauge information comes from the PCM so not like in the old days where we had separate sensors for the computer and gauges.

Now I don't know why the early PZEV and 05 wouldn't be the same since that really shouldn't matter if the connector in the back is the same. I think that is the big difference.
__________________
Be eclectic.
---The Complete How-To Archive--

Moderating everything now, let me know if I can help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by the user formerly known as ZX3_Chick View Post
You're special aren't you.
whynotthinkwhynot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:00 PM   #6
Tymes
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94124
Location: Ottawa, Canada
What I Drive: 02 SE SOHC SPI

Posts: 483
FF Reputation: 8 Tymes Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
$480, wow, check with the scrap yards, I got one with a tach for $16.
Tymes is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 07:23 PM   #7
sailor
"Elder"
 
sailor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Fan#: 57268
Location: Williamsville, NY
What I Drive: 2004 Pitch Black ZTS 2.3 5spd.

Posts: 11,213
FF Reputation: 60 sailor Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The MAJOR issue is swapping in an SVT cluster, 'cause that had fancy backlighting that needed an extra "driver" behind the dash,...

others from a similar model & year are plug n play - just use one that's similar, so you don't have to put tape over the ABS light that'll come on if you get one that had that & (as typical) you don't...
sailor is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 11:26 AM   #8
vegte44
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97688
Location: White Cloud, MI
What I Drive: 2003 Black ZX3

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 vegte44 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Thanks for the info. I will find a stock one w/ tach.
vegte44 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2012, 08:37 PM   #9
vegte44
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Fan#: 97688
Location: White Cloud, MI
What I Drive: 2003 Black ZX3

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 vegte44 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have found some clusters from 00-04. Last question: Will a cluster from an automatic work in a 5 sp manual car?
vegte44 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 09:03 PM   #10
Tymes
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 94124
Location: Ottawa, Canada
What I Drive: 02 SE SOHC SPI

Posts: 483
FF Reputation: 8 Tymes Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The cluster itself will be the same, each car's wiring harness will determine what lights are used in the cluster. You'll find bulbs in locations that are not even used by the original car sometimes, its great when you need a replacement bulb.
Tymes is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.