My Ford Touch Thread - Page 20 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2012, 12:30 AM   #191
pil__
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90074
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 Red Ford Focus Titanium

Posts: 155
FF Reputation: 1 pil__ Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I just had to share this. This is straight out of a new Ford commercial. They showed the real (old) MFT. I guess we can't really say Ford is whitewashing MFT for prospective buyers...

pil__ is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-17-2012, 07:09 AM   #192
PJFan
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 92864
Location: Cambridge, Canada
What I Drive: SG 2012 Focus TI Hatch

Posts: 35
FF Reputation: 1 PJFan Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The SD card fault is a nice touch!
PJFan is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 09:29 AM   #193
aperson9923
Focus Enthusiast
 
aperson9923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90061
Location: Bay Area - Marin County, CA
What I Drive: 2012 SGM Ti Hatch

Posts: 263
FF Reputation: 1 aperson9923 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The editing team must have been on vacation. This is pretty bad...
__________________
2012 Sterling Grey Metallic Ford Focus Titanium Hatch
401A, Navi, MFT, Rain Sensing Wipers
Built: 11/28/11 Arrived: 12/16/11 (4 Miles)
Mods: Tint 20/5, LockPick & Backup Camera, K&N Drop In
aperson9923 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 02:34 AM   #194
Doctor Drew
Focus Enthusiast
 
Doctor Drew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 82372
Location: Dearborn Heights, MI
What I Drive: 2012 SEL 5dr PowerShudder

Posts: 99
FF Reputation: 1 Doctor Drew Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I went to NAIAS tonight, and they had a brand new Escape with the updated version of MFT. I must say, I found the system pretty responsive and easy to use.

I think once you guys get this update, it will totally change your opinion of MFT.

I do wish it had a capacitive touch screen, as the resistive screen that seems to be standard for MFT is sometimes less-than-perfect. We're all spoiled by our iPhones and Androids though.

edit: I guess what I'm saying is...I would totally get MFT.
Doctor Drew is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 09:39 AM   #195
voip-ninja
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Fan#: 87642
Location: Denver, CO
What I Drive: 2004 Audi A4 Quattro

Posts: 234
FF Reputation: 1 voip-ninja Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
The reason for resistive screens in automotive applications is due to users wanting the system to work if they are wearing gloves.

Also, I hope the new update makes people happy, but I'm still very disappointed that there is no official announcement at CES about support for AppLink on the MFT system. That is a major major shortcoming of the MFT platform... you will get better integration with smartphone apps on the lower end Sync system than on the flagship MFT system.
voip-ninja is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:10 AM   #196
jbird1955
Focus Enthusiast
 
jbird1955's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Fan#: 48235
Location: Tewksbury, MA
What I Drive: 2014 Tuxedo Black Ti Hatch

Posts: 134
FF Reputation: 1 jbird1955 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Youtube interview

I was listening to the latest interview (done at the Detroit Autoshow I believe) and this Ford person stated that this latest version of MFT will be a lot better and faster. He then eluded to the fact that this system has two separate processors, one for the system and a second for graphics and then to my complete amazement he admitted that the previous software (the one we all have) doesn't use the graphics processor, that everything is done through the system processor.

Who the heck wrote this stuff and left that piece of the hardware out of the code (and are they still employed)? I'm blown away at that (and also that they'd admit to this mistake).

Joe
__________________
Ford Focus 2014 Hatchback 300A Titanium w/ Moonroof
Tuxedo Black Metallic
jbird1955 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 08:58 AM   #197
TiPilot
Focus Addict
 
TiPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93667
Location: Dayton, OH
What I Drive: 2012 Ingot Silver Ti Hatch

Posts: 647
FF Reputation: 1 TiPilot Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doctor Drew View Post
I went to NAIAS tonight, and they had a brand new Escape with the updated version of MFT. I must say, I found the system pretty responsive and easy to use.

I think once you guys get this update, it will totally change your opinion of MFT.

I do wish it had a capacitive touch screen, as the resistive screen that seems to be standard for MFT is sometimes less-than-perfect. We're all spoiled by our iPhones and Androids though.

edit: I guess what I'm saying is...I would totally get MFT.
I'm heading to the NAIAS tonight myself - looking forward to playing around with MFT 2.0 as well. If there's anything interesting that I haven't seen on here yet, I'll report back!
__________________
2012 Focus Ti Hatch | Ingot Silver | 401A, Nav, Winter Pkg, Moon Roof, Parking Tech. Pkg

Build Date: 12/2/2011 | New APIM: 4/4/2012
MFT: Factory v2.11, 3/14/12 Web -> v3.0.2, 9/24/12 Web -> v3.2.2, 1/24/13 Web -> v3.5.1, 8/13/13 Web -> v3.6
TiPilot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 09:50 AM   #198
Iceplayagt14
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93979
Location: Livonia, MI
What I Drive: 2012 Ingot Silver Focus Titanium

Posts: 10
FF Reputation: 1 Iceplayagt14 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I'm having an issue, I have the MFT w/SAT&NAV and bought my car 3 days ago. Brought the car home, and it says Information in the top right corner! I know I bought the GPS, because the USA/CA SD Card from Ford is in the SD Car slot in the center console. I also paid the extra money for the MFT/NAV/SAT package. Is there anything special I need to do on my end or is this a dealership thing they gotta do? Thanks!
Iceplayagt14 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:26 AM   #199
aperson9923
Focus Enthusiast
 
aperson9923's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90061
Location: Bay Area - Marin County, CA
What I Drive: 2012 SGM Ti Hatch

Posts: 263
FF Reputation: 1 aperson9923 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceplayagt14 View Post
I'm having an issue, I have the MFT w/SAT&NAV and bought my car 3 days ago. Brought the car home, and it says Information in the top right corner! I know I bought the GPS, because the USA/CA SD Card from Ford is in the SD Car slot in the center console. I also paid the extra money for the MFT/NAV/SAT package. Is there anything special I need to do on my end or is this a dealership thing they gotta do? Thanks!
Do you have the SD card in right?
__________________
2012 Sterling Grey Metallic Ford Focus Titanium Hatch
401A, Navi, MFT, Rain Sensing Wipers
Built: 11/28/11 Arrived: 12/16/11 (4 Miles)
Mods: Tint 20/5, LockPick & Backup Camera, K&N Drop In
aperson9923 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 10:42 AM   #200
TiPilot
Focus Addict
 
TiPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93667
Location: Dayton, OH
What I Drive: 2012 Ingot Silver Ti Hatch

Posts: 647
FF Reputation: 1 TiPilot Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Probably not a new one, but I'll add this anyway...

In radio display mode (red screen) and listening to FM, use Sync to change to Sirius, all the presets go blank on the MFT screen, but I can use the steering wheel <- / -> to switch thru them normally. Press the Home button (to go to quadrant view) and the six FM presets are shown even though it's clearly playing Sirius (station/track are listed on the bottom-left red corner). Go back to FM and then back to Sirius, all via Sync, nothing changes.

Use the MFT screen to switch to FM and then back to Sirius (via button presses) and everything's normal - Sirius presets show up on screen.

Just another odd quirk/issue...
__________________
2012 Focus Ti Hatch | Ingot Silver | 401A, Nav, Winter Pkg, Moon Roof, Parking Tech. Pkg

Build Date: 12/2/2011 | New APIM: 4/4/2012
MFT: Factory v2.11, 3/14/12 Web -> v3.0.2, 9/24/12 Web -> v3.2.2, 1/24/13 Web -> v3.5.1, 8/13/13 Web -> v3.6
TiPilot is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.