Adding Factory Cruise Control - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Interior Mods & Upgrades

MK3 Interior Mods & Upgrades The place to chat about performance gauges, shifter knobs, custom interior paint, car seats or any interior upgrades for the 2012 Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2011, 10:37 PM   #1
sixxgunscott
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 92768
Location: Reseda, CA
What I Drive: 2012, Tuxedo Black, Focus SE

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 sixxgunscott Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Adding Factory Cruise Control

Our SE wasn't packaged with factory cruise control. Would it be possible to add factory cruise to the car? Is the steering column prewired to accept a new steering wheel with cruise control buttons?


sixxgunscott is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-10-2012, 07:32 AM   #2
misoka
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 92523
Location: Bratislava,Slovakia, United States
What I Drive: Candy red

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 misoka Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes, it is possible. You need new steering wheel with buttons and a visit to your local ford shop to enable cruise control in IDS, that simple
misoka is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 12:15 PM   #3
fishcat
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90434
Location: western ma, MA
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus S

Posts: 11
FF Reputation: 1 fishcat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
that's all that is needed?? I was thinking about buying the Rostra kit but if a steering wheel and computer update is all that is needed I'll start looking into that instead.

Thanks
fishcat is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 11:34 AM   #4
misoka
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Fan#: 92523
Location: Bratislava,Slovakia, United States
What I Drive: Candy red

Posts: 2
FF Reputation: 1 misoka Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishcat View Post
that's all that is needed?? I was thinking about buying the Rostra kit but if a steering wheel and computer update is all that is needed I'll start looking into that instead.

Thanks
Yes , that's all that is needed ;)
misoka is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 12:06 PM   #5
G_Focus
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Fan#: 93789
Location: Little Rock, AR
What I Drive: 2012 Black Focus SE

Posts: 3
FF Reputation: 1 G_Focus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Any luck finding a new steering wheel with cruise control? Im looking into possibly doing the same thing.
G_Focus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 01:06 PM   #6
fishcat
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90434
Location: western ma, MA
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus S

Posts: 11
FF Reputation: 1 fishcat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I guess the next challenge is locating a steering wheel. Any thoughts of a good source? These are too new to be readily available I would imagine.
fishcat is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 08:39 AM   #7
merruse
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89251
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
What I Drive: 2012 Ink Blue Style

Posts: 62
FF Reputation: 3 merruse Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have one. But It is not coated with leather.
If you really need that I may open a ebay auction. But first of all you have to provide your post code for shipping cost. It may be expensive.
merruse is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2012, 03:03 PM   #8
merruse
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89251
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
What I Drive: 2012 Ink Blue Style

Posts: 62
FF Reputation: 3 merruse Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I took some photos.









Shipping cost would be around 100 USD with USPS, around 250 USD with UPS..
merruse is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 11:50 AM   #9
fishcat
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Fan#: 90434
Location: western ma, MA
What I Drive: 2012 White Focus S

Posts: 11
FF Reputation: 1 fishcat Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hey Merruse,

thanks for getting back to me. I'm so confused, I spoke with the dealership today asking about reflashing the ECU for cruise and they are telling me that adding cruise control is not possible by simply adding the steering wheel and reflashing.

Has anyone done this before? I would really like to get this verified before I spend a couple hundred dollars only to find that I can't do it.

Thanks in advance
fishcat is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 12:59 PM   #10
merruse
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89251
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
What I Drive: 2012 Ink Blue Style

Posts: 62
FF Reputation: 3 merruse Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I done that before but european focus wiring may different from US specs.
merruse is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.