2012 Focus - Aftermarket Stereo possibilities. - Page 4 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2011, 09:54 AM   #31
herbz
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 84909
Location: Boston, MA
What I Drive: 2012 SE Hatch 5MT Sterling Grey

Posts: 220
FF Reputation: 1 herbz Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihdillon View Post
If the buttons are removed can you still reprogram the time on the glorified clock display?
You can reporgram the time, but not the date. You need the arrows and the "ok" button (also on the radio) to reprogram the date. Thats pretty unfortunate. Metra has a kit for the Fiesta that includes all the buttons, but it's butt ugly. Best bet would be custom mounting something else up there where the clock display is using the ACV kit. $$$
herbz is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-08-2011, 12:06 PM   #32
ddanque
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Fan#: 90004
Location: Escondido, CA
What I Drive: 2012, Metalic White SEL

Posts: 7
FF Reputation: 1 ddanque Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Found this picture of the center console disassembled. Looks like there is alot of room in there!



Denny
ddanque is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 07:34 PM   #33
MadeInMaine
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91657
Location: San Diego, CA
What I Drive: soon to be focus

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 MadeInMaine Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Hello Gentlemen,

Im new to the site, and will be purchasing a 2012 Focus soon...
Any updates on getting a double din, aftermarket nav system into the dash?

Cheers
MadeInMaine is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 11:17 AM   #34
merruse
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89251
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
What I Drive: 2012 Ink Blue Style

Posts: 62
FF Reputation: 3 merruse Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Why you would like to buy aftermarket? You may install OEM navigation.

Part numbers are;

5" Navigation + display unit
AM5T-18B955-DG



Front panel ;
AM5T-18K811-CD
BM51-18835-BE3JA6 (plastic cover)


You will need antenna cabling too but I could not find part number of that. But it is only balanced 120 ohm cable. You may find that all audio markets. No need any other part.
You will also need to find map for navigation. I do not have any idea part number of US version. That would be in SD card.
merruse is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 05:59 PM   #35
MadeInMaine
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91657
Location: San Diego, CA
What I Drive: soon to be focus

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 MadeInMaine Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by merruse View Post
Why you would like to buy aftermarket? You may install OEM navigation.

Part numbers are;

5" Navigation + display unit
AM5T-18B955-DG



Front panel ;
AM5T-18K811-CD
BM51-18835-BE3JA6 (plastic cover)


You will need antenna cabling too but I could not find part number of that. But it is only balanced 120 ohm cable. You may find that all audio markets. No need any other part.
You will also need to find map for navigation. I do not have any idea part number of US version. That would be in SD card.


I wanted to put in aftermarket because it is a lot cheaper to buy base model car, then install the gear you want yourself...

Are you saying I can buy base model, and buy focus navigation and install myself? Save a ton of money...
MadeInMaine is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 06:20 PM   #36
merruse
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89251
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
What I Drive: 2012 Ink Blue Style

Posts: 62
FF Reputation: 3 merruse Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I bought whole kit 150 from UK. It is about 230 USD. I found him from ebay. You may found another.. Lets talk about ton of money...
merruse is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 06:34 PM   #37
MadeInMaine
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91657
Location: San Diego, CA
What I Drive: soon to be focus

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 MadeInMaine Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I thought the navigation was a bigger screen... with a different panel?

like this...

http://images.gtcarlot.com/pictures/49818350.jpg
http://images.gtcarlot.com/pictures/49818350.jpg

is that what you bought?
MadeInMaine is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2011, 06:50 PM   #38
MadeInMaine
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91657
Location: San Diego, CA
What I Drive: soon to be focus

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 MadeInMaine Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I have also heard the MyTouch is awful...
another reason to go aftermarket
MadeInMaine is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 02:07 AM   #39
merruse
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Fan#: 89251
Location: Istanbul, Turkey
What I Drive: 2012 Ink Blue Style

Posts: 62
FF Reputation: 3 merruse Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
No, Those are sync display. There are 3 different type navigation system on 2012 focus.
1- Ford navigation 5" screen
2- Sony navigation 5" display
3- Sync (which was you send pic.)

As you seen I send ford navigation units pictures. It is working with OEM headunit, built-in navigation display.
merruse is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 02:11 AM   #40
MadeInMaine
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91657
Location: San Diego, CA
What I Drive: soon to be focus

Posts: 6
FF Reputation: 1 MadeInMaine Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by merruse View Post
No, Those are sync display. There are 3 different type navigation system on 2012 focus.
1- Ford navigation 5" screen
2- Sony navigation 5" display
3- Sync (which was you send pic.)

As you seen I send ford navigation units pictures. It is working with OEM headunit, built-in navigation display.
I guess I am confused...

So I sent the sync picture
And I can get the ford / sony navi, stock on which models of the 2012 focus?

Thanks again
MadeInMaine is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.