Help with datalogging - Page 3 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2011, 12:28 PM   #21
caterham 7
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 72005
Location: alvin, TX
What I Drive: 2000 yellow lotus caterham super 7

Posts: 42
FF Reputation: 1 caterham 7 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
What did you need the information for, if you are not going to fix it. You know there has been a problem, we are just trying to help. I do not understand your reply.
caterham 7 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-10-2011, 12:32 PM   #22
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,287, Level 28
Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28
Level Up 92% Completed
Level up: 92% Level up: 92% Level up: 92%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by caterham 7 View Post
What did you need the information for, if you are not going to fix it. You know there has been a problem, we are just trying to help. I do not understand your reply.
Because I said nothing about a fix...I don't want people thinking there is a fix and causing further problems.

I wanted your information to look into what was documented/tried when you called and to also see who you spoke too.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2011, 02:53 PM   #23
SVTF410
Focus Enthusiast
 
SVTF410's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69225
Location: Springville, AL
What I Drive: 2004, Infra-red, SVT

Posts: 209
FF Reputation: 1 SVTF410 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by svtf1417 View Post
Well I remember a couple times we stayed up past 10pm while you had control of my computer and trying to get this thing not to freeze up and I stumbled across a method that helped me out and hasnt stopped, but I know computers are all different.

1) Your going to need to have your laptop hooked up to the Xcal and the Xcal plugged into the OBDII port with the key on run.
2) Open Livelink, then open your saved livelink configuration. DONT connect to the vehicles ECU.
3) Go to commands and click "Configure Datalog Items". This will bring up all your PID's that your datalogging and the catagories will be expanded if your using a PID in that section.
4) Pick a PID that already has a check mark by it, un-check it, then re-check that same box and hit OK. In the bottom left it should say Setting Up or configuring or something along those lines.
5) Set up your analog equations and anything else you would normally do.
6) Enjoy datalogging again!

Again, this may not work for everyone but I encourage people having freezing issues to try it. I was sick to death of spending 4-5 hours a night in hopes that I might get Tom ONE WHOLE DATALOG a night.

I read what you posted in the knock sensor thread but didn't understand what you meant, but this made it wery clear thanks for putting it into steps. Luckily the past few data logs i have done have gone ok with only a couple of freezes in them, nothing like i was having last week. I'm sure the problem will come back eventualy though and I'll be sure to try this. Do you do this every time you data log? I have been trying to connect to the ECU where you said not to in step 2. Lately seems like ever since this issue popped up it says that it does not match my ECU, but loads the list anyways and will still data log (well at least for a minute). Step 6 Is the part i realy miss, before these issues me and Tom would get 2-3 datalogs a night sent back and forth and now i'm lucky to get in 1.
SVTF410 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2011, 03:15 PM   #24
svtf1417
MOAR BEWST!!!!
 
svtf1417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58428
Location: Canton, MI
What I Drive: 2001 ZTS, 2002 SVTF Turbocharged

Posts: 1,527
FF Reputation: 6 svtf1417 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blivit View Post
Do you still have issues if you remove step #2? Meaning, take out the saved configuration file and select items from scratch. Open livelink with the device connect to the pc and the car with the key on. Select configure datalog items and select what you want to log then start the log.
Of course the problem doesn't exist if you start from scratch but why go through the trouble of picking all of them when you can simply "re-pick" only one and it does the trick. Removing step 2 only creates more of a hassle and takes longer.

Tom, yes I do agree it shouldn't have to be like this it should be complete plug and play. But it's not and it's been made very clear that because it isn't profitable anymore to fix the issues were left to figure it out ourselves since SCT won't further back their product or take interest in customer satisfaction.
__________________
[#1417] 2002 Sonic Blue SVT Focus
Born on June 25, 2002

2001 Silver ZTS Sedan - "Ol' Reliable"
svtf1417 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2011, 03:49 PM   #25
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,211
Points 51,381, Level 100
Points: 51,381, Level: 100 Points: 51,381, Level: 100 Points: 51,381, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by svtf1417 View Post

Tom, yes I do agree it shouldn't have to be like this it should be complete plug and play. But it's not and it's been made very clear that because it isn't profitable anymore to fix the issues were left to figure it out ourselves since SCT won't further back their product or take interest in customer satisfaction.
Agree but dont give up trying , this needs to be addressed and as you can see I dont care who gets mad at me over it I will fight for my Customers to the end to get what they paid for to work properly and if you guys keep doing the same through SCT then one day this might get fixed so dont give up emailing and contacting SCT if we do then we will always have to go around the back of the house and use the back door to get in , You bought the product you should be able to use the front door

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2011, 03:53 PM   #26
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,287, Level 28
Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28
Level Up 92% Completed
Level up: 92% Level up: 92% Level up: 92%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by svtf1417 View Post
Of course the problem doesn't exist if you start from scratch but why go through the trouble of picking all of them when you can simply "re-pick" only one and it does the trick. Removing step 2 only creates more of a hassle and takes longer.
Narrowing down variables.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2011, 03:54 PM   #27
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 22,211
Points 51,381, Level 100
Points: 51,381, Level: 100 Points: 51,381, Level: 100 Points: 51,381, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blivit View Post
Do you still have issues if you remove step #2? Meaning, take out the saved configuration file and select items from scratch. Open livelink with the device connect to the pc and the car with the key on. Select configure datalog items and select what you want to log then start the log.
No it does not , I take over my Customer PC and set up th log list and save it for them and do the first datalogs so I know they understand how to use it , then when they go to the the saved list and try to use it again it wont work or works and stops working then I have to help them all over again , most guys know nothing about dataloggin and this creates a real issue

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2011, 03:57 PM   #28
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
Points 2,287, Level 28
Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28 Points: 2,287, Level: 28
Level Up 92% Completed
Level up: 92% Level up: 92% Level up: 92%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by caterham 7 View Post
What did you need the information for, if you are not going to fix it. You know there has been a problem, we are just trying to help. I do not understand your reply.
Looking through the notes in our tech database I did not see this asked:

While logging was rapid packet enabled or disabled? Located under module in livelink. It needs to be enabled by putting a check mark next to it. Disabled will cause logging issues like freezing.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2011, 04:47 PM   #29
caterham 7
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 72005
Location: alvin, TX
What I Drive: 2000 yellow lotus caterham super 7

Posts: 42
FF Reputation: 1 caterham 7 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Blivit, Yes sir it was and has been asked! I was told by a tech that was on the phone with me and had taken over my lap top for over 3 hours that at lunch he had to go to a meeting and this would be brought up and in fact i was to understand that the meeting in part was about this ongoing problem and how it might be fixed. After that long on the phone with him i do believe not only did he do his best but was very truthful. He is a good tech to try so hard to make it work as we had rented track time and a dyno costing us a lot of money. We did not get to tune because the log kept on stopping.
Now what is said between the techs and the customer, if not recorded word for word but just a few on a computer as to what happened then not all is known.
If for some reason you are unable to find my asking,then take this message as me asking would you please find a way for us to have the latest updates and the logging not to stop. The gentleman that wants me to help him data log his car next week was with me twice when the techs took over my computer and at one time was on the phone with the tech when i went out to make a log run while the tech had control over my lap top,and can repeat what i have told you.
caterham 7 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-10-2011, 06:07 PM   #30
JAMES A
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Fan#: 91655
Location: Spring, TX
What I Drive: 2001 Blue Caterham

Posts: 1
Points 4, Level 1
Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1 Points: 4, Level: 1
Level Up 7% Completed
Level up: 7% Level up: 7% Level up: 7%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 1 JAMES A Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I had to register so I can chime in here, I have two Caterhams one with a Contour engine and one with a Focus engine and have had the same issues with lock up that Caterham 7 has talked about. And, I have seen the effort of Tom and Larry to get this resolved.
Blivit, it really sounds like you are more on the ball than some we have spoken to at SCT, is there anyway to contact you at work and talk through the issues we are having? From your responses here it sounds like we could make some headway with you on the line.
It really is very frustrating trying to get out cars tuned.
Jim
JAMES A is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat