Help with datalogging - Page 2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2011, 08:41 PM   #11
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by caterham 7 View Post
OK, if he was wrong i accept that. Now what is the problem.If it was just my data logging that stopped,i would take full blame for not being smart enough to data log. But if you look at this forum it happens all over the US. SCT has great products and i and my friends have spent thousands and will spend more. The cost to get Tom here last year was well worth it but even he has problems with your updated programs. I have pictures of Tom tuning over ten cars at my race track in texas all using your SCT products. Point being made all of us just want it to work when we need it to-time is money to all of us. When your tech took over my lap top he turned off the knock because he said that the latest update was having issues,we still did not get it to work and after being on thw phone for THREE hours mhe had to go because he had to go to a meeting about this and said he would bring up what issues he had with my data log stopping. After that Tom came to Texas again, put in an old program and it has worked great,so i never follow up with that tech to see what came out of that meeting,but according to you the knock is not the problem so that is a step in fixing the problems. I am afraid to do any up dates til you or someone at SCT can convince me it will be OK.
thanks for looking at our forum and helping all of us out. I for one will accept mall the help i can get so i can get proper and good logs to send to TOM. I have to data log a friends car next week and will have him up date his lap top and we will see what happens.
PM me your name and I can go back through our tech department call logs to see who you spoke with.

As an aside, this thread was started with SVT datalogging questions/issues and had nothing to do with knock sensors. Are you working with an SVT? Because of the original post, my responses are based on that. Knowing this, none of our recent updates have anything to do with the SVT knock sensor so I am assuming you are not working with an SVT.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2011, 10:06 PM   #12
svtf1417
MOAR BEWST!!!!
 
svtf1417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58428
Location: Canton, MI
What I Drive: 2001 ZTS, 2002 SVTF Turbocharged

Posts: 1,527
FF Reputation: 6 svtf1417 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
SVTF410, did you try what I mentioned in the knock sensor thread? Its worked for me flawlessly ever since I started doing it, and I used to have just as many issues with it freezing as you.
__________________
[#1417] 2002 Sonic Blue SVT Focus
Born on June 25, 2002

2001 Silver ZTS Sedan - "Ol' Reliable"
svtf1417 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 11:30 PM   #13
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,835
Points 50,209, Level 100
Points: 50,209, Level: 100 Points: 50,209, Level: 100 Points: 50,209, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 40%
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Caterham7 this is a "help with dataloggin" thread keep after it , get him all the info he requested and my name as well as I was at you shop on the phone with Tech guys for Hrs and for days , Any one with ANY datalogging issue please post it in here or in the other help with datalogging thread

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 11:34 PM   #14
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,835
Points 50,209, Level 100
Points: 50,209, Level: 100 Points: 50,209, Level: 100 Points: 50,209, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 40%
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Quote:
Originally Posted by svtf1417 View Post
SVTF410, did you try what I mentioned in the knock sensor thread? Its worked for me flawlessly ever since I started doing it, and I used to have just as many issues with it freezing as you.
I dont remember what you posted and not sure he saw it maybe post it here to help him and others that may read this ?

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 07:03 AM   #15
svtf1417
MOAR BEWST!!!!
 
svtf1417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58428
Location: Canton, MI
What I Drive: 2001 ZTS, 2002 SVTF Turbocharged

Posts: 1,527
FF Reputation: 6 svtf1417 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
I dont remember what you posted and not sure he saw it maybe post it here to help him and others that may read this ?

Tom
Well I remember a couple times we stayed up past 10pm while you had control of my computer and trying to get this thing not to freeze up and I stumbled across a method that helped me out and hasnt stopped, but I know computers are all different.

1) Your going to need to have your laptop hooked up to the Xcal and the Xcal plugged into the OBDII port with the key on run.
2) Open Livelink, then open your saved livelink configuration. DONT connect to the vehicles ECU.
3) Go to commands and click "Configure Datalog Items". This will bring up all your PID's that your datalogging and the catagories will be expanded if your using a PID in that section.
4) Pick a PID that already has a check mark by it, un-check it, then re-check that same box and hit OK. In the bottom left it should say Setting Up or configuring or something along those lines.
5) Set up your analog equations and anything else you would normally do.
6) Enjoy datalogging again!

Again, this may not work for everyone but I encourage people having freezing issues to try it. I was sick to death of spending 4-5 hours a night in hopes that I might get Tom ONE WHOLE DATALOG a night.
__________________
[#1417] 2002 Sonic Blue SVT Focus
Born on June 25, 2002

2001 Silver ZTS Sedan - "Ol' Reliable"
svtf1417 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 08:24 AM   #16
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,835
Points 50,209, Level 100
Points: 50,209, Level: 100 Points: 50,209, Level: 100 Points: 50,209, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 40%
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
I remember that now , I am sure you will agree that that is a royal pain to have to do that and it shouldnt have to be done that way, there software wasent designed to have to work that way

Please keep contacing SCT to realize this is an issue that needs to be fixed

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 08:47 AM   #17
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by svtf1417 View Post
Well I remember a couple times we stayed up past 10pm while you had control of my computer and trying to get this thing not to freeze up and I stumbled across a method that helped me out and hasnt stopped, but I know computers are all different.

1) Your going to need to have your laptop hooked up to the Xcal and the Xcal plugged into the OBDII port with the key on run.
2) Open Livelink, then open your saved livelink configuration. DONT connect to the vehicles ECU.
3) Go to commands and click "Configure Datalog Items". This will bring up all your PID's that your datalogging and the catagories will be expanded if your using a PID in that section.
4) Pick a PID that already has a check mark by it, un-check it, then re-check that same box and hit OK. In the bottom left it should say Setting Up or configuring or something along those lines.
5) Set up your analog equations and anything else you would normally do.
6) Enjoy datalogging again!

Again, this may not work for everyone but I encourage people having freezing issues to try it. I was sick to death of spending 4-5 hours a night in hopes that I might get Tom ONE WHOLE DATALOG a night.
Do you still have issues if you remove step #2? Meaning, take out the saved configuration file and select items from scratch. Open livelink with the device connect to the pc and the car with the key on. Select configure datalog items and select what you want to log then start the log.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 09:15 AM   #18
caterham 7
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 72005
Location: alvin, TX
What I Drive: 2000 yellow lotus caterham super 7

Posts: 42
FF Reputation: 1 caterham 7 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Yes we were working with both zetec engines, normal and svt. I even sent pictures to one of SCTs real nice techs who did everything in his power to help. These pictures showed Tom at our garage at the MSRHouston track with 10+ cars ,one was even a duratec that he was tuning. t should be simple to data log. When we first started it was then came the updates. We have a Prof from Rice Univ with several PHDs and has raced for years and an EE from Prudue and one fron Cal Poly. We have the brain power to work our lap tops-It is not on our end. I will say your tech dept will do everything in their power to help but it seems their hands are tied because of flaws in the updates. Why don't you - all, go back to an old program and see what makes it work and start over again.
I know of several other tune companys and i must say that SCT,when working, Is the best out there hands down and when i am ask i still tell people to buy SCT. You get more for what you buy from SCT. I have one race friend you bought MBE and spent over $5,000 and can not get near the info from data loging you can from SCT. So what i am trying to tell you is that you have loyal customers and we just need it to work when we data log as the time it takes to go to a track and make runs and down load tunes should not take the hours of delay trying to get the download to work. I will PM you my CP ,so call me
caterham 7 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 11:11 AM   #19
caterham 7
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Fan#: 72005
Location: alvin, TX
What I Drive: 2000 yellow lotus caterham super 7

Posts: 42
FF Reputation: 1 caterham 7 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Blivin,have sent you all the info you requested. Please get back to me with the fix.thank you larry
caterham 7 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 11:17 AM   #20
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by caterham 7 View Post
Blivin,have sent you all the info you requested. Please get back to me with the fix.thank you larry
Where have I said anything about a fix?
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.