Deleting the tumble flaps - Page 2 - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace



Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus First Generation > DURATEC Performance (2003-2007)

DURATEC Performance (2003-2007) The place to chat about any Duratec 23, 23E, and 20 engine performance, tuning and exhaust related upgrades.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
FocusFest Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-08-2011, 12:26 PM   #11
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,326
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by felixthecat View Post
Say, Ronnie your car will run & sound great w/ your new exhaust installed! What are you trying to do by deleting the tumble flap's? You will probitley gain some top end, but at the exspense of lower end torque, specialley w/ your header & exhaust system. You have a 20 motor, so it's going to be more noticeably than a 23 motor.
Just open up the intake a little more. Have it tuned like the add on intakes. Get rid of a few of the extra gadgets that control and monitor the flaps.

Just tear it up i guess
__________________
My car rattles because i need new motor mounts, not because i dont know how to adjust my stereo.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-09-2011, 06:42 AM   #12
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,326
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
ok i found the plugs, i need to pickup a few more and that part is out of the way.

Now im stuck on the 2 items mounted to the intake.

One is the actuator, should i just leave it connected and functioning? I mean how will it know if its working or not?

I also have this thing below the IAC which looks alot like the MAF its bolted to the main intake runner and has a little tip that fits down into the air stream. Is it another air sensing module of some kind? I dont think anyone has ever talked about it or what it does.

Says: 4S4G-9F479-AB on it and a google search says is a "MAP" sensor. I guess ill need to leave that?



There is a vac line in the center front of the intake that goes down under and around into this other unit and that goes into the actuator.



I would think since im not using the actuator thing that controls the flaps (if thats even what is called?) i could bypass it unless it throws a code the cossie doesnt use any of this stuff so i would think i wouldnt have to for this mod either?
__________________
My car rattles because i need new motor mounts, not because i dont know how to adjust my stereo.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 07:37 AM   #13
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,028
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
The sensor is the MAP. The other thing you have circled is the solenoid that works the tumble flaps. You can see the vacuum line that goes from the solenoid to the diaphragm. Since your deleting the tumble flaps you don't need any of this stuff. Yo do need the MAP sensor though. However, you definitely going to need a tune and you're definitely going to a CEL until you have a new tune file loaded.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 02:09 PM   #14
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,326
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUrivie View Post
The sensor is the MAP. The other thing you have circled is the solenoid that works the tumble flaps. You can see the vacuum line that goes from the solenoid to the diaphragm. Since your deleting the tumble flaps you don't need any of this stuff. Yo do need the MAP sensor though. However, you definitely going to need a tune and you're definitely going to a CEL until you have a new tune file loaded.
Yeah i already talked to Tom about it, so i dont need them hooked up?

What if i just hook them up normaly but i remove the arm that connects to the tumble flaps? The solenoid with the 2 vacuum lines on it one comes out of the intake goes into the solenoid then out to the diaphram and that has the arm that rotates the flaps. I could just remove the arm and then everything would still function or think its functioning but not actually move anything.

I would rather remove everything for less clutter
__________________
My car rattles because i need new motor mounts, not because i dont know how to adjust my stereo.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 02:25 PM   #15
Bwinkelsas
Focus Enthusiast
 
Bwinkelsas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Fan#: 50224
Location: Apopka, FL
What I Drive: 2007, Screaming Yellow, ZX3 SES

Posts: 389
FF Reputation: 2 Bwinkelsas Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Since you took out the tumble flaps, finish it off and take the rest of it out. Dtecs have way too much junk/clutter on the motor. Removing them should deffinitly help air flow in the higher rpm.
__________________
1.706 / 7.720@91.13 / 12.381@96.84 letting off.
Stock Motor, why hate on the 2.0?
More power and new numbers to come soon...
Bwinkelsas is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 02:37 PM   #16
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,326
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwinkelsas View Post
Since you took out the tumble flaps, finish it off and take the rest of it out. Dtecs have way too much junk/clutter on the motor. Removing them should deffinitly help air flow in the higher rpm.
Yes they do, and while i was at it i cut off all the crap on the intake as well.

There is vacuum inlet lines in 2 different places im not going to use, im going to fill those. It also had tabs and push in connector things scattered all over the thing ive cut all those off. Also the intake runners have these little fins on the top front i cut those off and sanded them all down.

I have a few more things to do then im going to paint it and throw it on. Im thinking Wednesday. My brother got an exhaust in today so we will do that first then finish mine up. Hope i can get a fune tunes in it before the weekend.
__________________
My car rattles because i need new motor mounts, not because i dont know how to adjust my stereo.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 04:03 PM   #17
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,028
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (9)
yeah you don't need any of it. It's all gets taken out when you install a Cossie also.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 05:19 PM   #18
Jgrove998
i <3 my ST
 
Jgrove998's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Fan#: 45311
Location: Sykesville, MD
What I Drive: '12 Fusion SE V6

Posts: 2,419
FF Reputation: 24 Jgrove998 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
this is a cool thread. the 2.3 intake mani has two of those vacuum things, one for tumble flaps and one for runner length control. its an even more cluttered and tight fit. i just pulled mine over the weekend for the pcv delete. pulling PSUrivie's '09 2.0L mani was a lot easier i thought.
Posted via FF Mobile
Jgrove998 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 06:26 PM   #19
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,326
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Well after buying my exhaust and a new cluster with a tach im tapped on my budget or ide go and get a dyno run before i put this one on.

Ill have it all painted up and finished tomorrow. Maybe i can put it on later if my brothers exhaust on his car goes ok.

maybe next month i can do that.
__________________
My car rattles because i need new motor mounts, not because i dont know how to adjust my stereo.
BowerR64 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 03:11 PM   #20
Outlaw5.0
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Fan#: 84300
Location: Canton, MI
What I Drive: 2011 Ford Focus SES

Posts: 394
FF Reputation: 1 Outlaw5.0 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Don't match the head to the intake, you may cause more problems by doing that.

By all means let us know what kind of power you gain, and if you lose any fuel economy.
Outlaw5.0 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.