The Big Three - Page 3 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2010, 02:29 PM   #21
scrammer
Banned
 
scrammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Fan#: 26570
Location: Hagerstown, MD
What I Drive: February 2010 ROTM

Posts: 7,946
FF Reputation: 172 scrammer Excellent Standing Member scrammer Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (29)
On the Zetec, the cable between the battery is already one solid 4g wire. Why add another?

Replied via Android!
scrammer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-06-2010, 09:23 PM   #22
crazyjess
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 46890
Location: Sacramento, Bay Area., CA
What I Drive: 2004 light-tundra zx3

Posts: 72
Points 1,169, Level 18
Points: 1,169, Level: 18 Points: 1,169, Level: 18 Points: 1,169, Level: 18
Level Up 69% Completed
Level up: 69% Level up: 69% Level up: 69%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 crazyjess Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Does anyone know were the cable from the engine ground to chassis is located on a Duratec? Is it the one under the manifold, that is bolted to the engine and runs to battery(-)?
crazyjess is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-08-2010, 03:54 PM   #23
crazyjess
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2007
Fan#: 46890
Location: Sacramento, Bay Area., CA
What I Drive: 2004 light-tundra zx3

Posts: 72
Points 1,169, Level 18
Points: 1,169, Level: 18 Points: 1,169, Level: 18 Points: 1,169, Level: 18
Level Up 69% Completed
Level up: 69% Level up: 69% Level up: 69%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 crazyjess Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Anyone?
crazyjess is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2011, 05:04 PM   #24
FoRUcus
Focus Rookie
 
FoRUcus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Fan#: 62760
Location: Kansas City, MO
What I Drive: 2007 Screaming Yellow ZX3 SES

Posts: 11
FF Reputation: 1 FoRUcus Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I noticed no one mentioned using a fuse. If you are doing your big 3, you absolutely need a fuse in the + cable. Protect your vehicle and all the investments you put into it. It's only an extra 15 minutes of work.
FoRUcus is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 12:43 PM   #25
ThumperX
Focus Jr. Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 49053
Location: SF, Bay Area, United States
What I Drive: 2000 Ford Focus

Posts: 26
FF Reputation: 2 ThumperX Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Did mine and it made huge difference with some of my noise I was experiencing.

Using a fuse is huge! 15-18 inches away from the battery positive. You don't want your car to burn down do ya'.
ThumperX is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2011, 07:34 AM   #26
alaskanzx5
Focus Fanatic
 
alaskanzx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 82699
Location: Covert/south haven, MI
What I Drive: 2000 silver zx3

Posts: 1,653
Points 4,229, Level 41
Points: 4,229, Level: 41 Points: 4,229, Level: 41 Points: 4,229, Level: 41
Level Up 40% Completed
Level up: 40% Level up: 40% Level up: 40%
Forum Activity 5%
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
FF Reputation: 6 alaskanzx5 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
why add a fuse? the stock alt shouldnt be able to do no harm as long as it is running correctly and isnt getting wet. doesnt even come with a fuse to begin with.
alaskanzx5 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2012, 08:51 AM   #27
sgtsmasher
need new focus?!
 
sgtsmasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Fan#: 65000
Location: come find me, United States
What I Drive: 01 cd silver 3 door ztec

Posts: 1,675
FF Reputation: 2 sgtsmasher Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (1)
its been a while since i posted something on here, but does anyone have pictures to go with any of this, like they say, pictures are worth a thousand words, and will prolly help all the newbies including myself on this project...im doing it this spring and im going to buy another audio kit that has all the connectors and wiring to do this
__________________
Hatch Nation #72
Call Me BRANDO COMMANDO
sgtsmasher is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2012, 09:29 AM   #28
FocusedSlayer
has a screw loose
 
FocusedSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59042
Location: Crossville, AL
What I Drive: 2007 CD Silver Sedan SE w/Sap

Posts: 8,408
Points 7,770, Level 59
Points: 7,770, Level: 59 Points: 7,770, Level: 59 Points: 7,770, Level: 59
Level Up 10% Completed
Level up: 10% Level up: 10% Level up: 10%
Forum Activity 13%
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
FF Reputation: 34 FocusedSlayer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
When I did it on my Focus , I just added grounds with the factory grounds. And the positive from the battery to a fuse block and then to the alternator.
__________________
Team Duratec #01,Sedan Revolution#4, Elder FocusedSlayer, Gump Crew 21


February 2012 Sedan of The Month
FocusedSlayer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 01:07 PM   #29
SvviftSVT
Release the Kraken!!
 
SvviftSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58277
Location: Houston, TX
What I Drive: Green-Eyed 2004 Black SVT #0461

Posts: 16,624
Points 12,144, Level 72
Points: 12,144, Level: 72 Points: 12,144, Level: 72 Points: 12,144, Level: 72
Level Up 24% Completed
Level up: 24% Level up: 24% Level up: 24%
Forum Activity 68%
Activity: 68% Activity: 68% Activity: 68%
FF Reputation: 10 SvviftSVT Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
what is the easiest way to get to the alternator? I have my wires ready to go, just need to figure this part out.

and if a battery relocation is done, will i just need another long wire to connect the battery to the alternator?
__________________
TeamFOCALIZE!// HATCH NATION #45// October '12 ROTM

Track build has begun.
slow and steady.. but its going
SvviftSVT is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2012, 01:15 PM   #30
FocusedSlayer
has a screw loose
 
FocusedSlayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Fan#: 59042
Location: Crossville, AL
What I Drive: 2007 CD Silver Sedan SE w/Sap

Posts: 8,408
Points 7,770, Level 59
Points: 7,770, Level: 59 Points: 7,770, Level: 59 Points: 7,770, Level: 59
Level Up 10% Completed
Level up: 10% Level up: 10% Level up: 10%
Forum Activity 13%
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
FF Reputation: 34 FocusedSlayer Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SvviftSVT View Post
what is the easiest way to get to the alternator? I have my wires ready to go, just need to figure this part out.

and if a battery relocation is done, will i just need another long wire to connect the battery to the alternator?
That long red wire loom is the 1 that I did from my battery to alternator but later came back and installed an inline fuse that I mounted to the firewall and just wire tied it up over to the alternator. I just followed the other loom of alternator wires to the connection through the air duct .

Long Blue wire is part of the grounding kit that I did.


__________________
Team Duratec #01,Sedan Revolution#4, Elder FocusedSlayer, Gump Crew 21


February 2012 Sedan of The Month
FocusedSlayer is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat