AEM wideband to xcal3 question - Page 7 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2011, 09:00 AM   #61
94guy
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 81569
Location: laplace, LA
What I Drive: 2010 camaro

Posts: 13
FF Reputation: 1 94guy Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
i hooked mine up but it does not give me constant real time data? it gets the a/f as soon as it starts logging then stops. the average moves ever so little?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BC_ZX3 View Post
I just finished doing this and had the same questions. Hope this helps.

Purchase a firewire cable available at most computer stores. Both ends should be identical.



Cut off one end near the connector and strip away and expose the inner wires. There will be six.



Here's the part that gives the most difficulty. Each coloured wire corresponds to a small brass pin in the other connector end. We need to determine which pin position corresponds to each wire colour. There are a couple of different colour schemes used depending on who makes the cable.



Make yourself a diagram.



Strip each wire end and then get out the handy multimeter and map each pin to its colour like so.



The result is something like that shown below. We can pick either of the two colours - in this case, red or yellow - that correspond to the firewire pins the SCT scanner uses for analog inputs. Red is Channel 2; yellow is Channel 1. We only need a single channel.



I chose red which corresponds with analog input Channel 2. Trim the other wires.



Crimp a connector on it and tape it up. You can solder it if you want; just make sure it's secure.




Now connect it to your AEM gauge harness. Use the white wire (to which I've already crimped a female connector).



Connect the rest of your wiring as shown here to power the AFR gauge. The interior fusebox is your best 12V power source and the unpainted metal fusebox housing can act as your ground. Put proper connectors on the exposed wire ends. You probably want a fusible link on the 12V power source.



Fit the unmodified Firewire cable end of your butchered Firewire cable into SCT scanner (at the top), the large SCT scanner cable end into the OBD II port of the car and a USB cable from the SCT scanner to your notebook computer, if you're using one to datalog.



When preparing to data log, go to "Data Logging" then "Set Up" in the SCT scanner menu and configure scanner analog inputs, when prompted i.e. "Configure Analog Inputs? Y/N" will appear on the screen. Select Channel 2 (or 1 depending on the wire you chose) and specify "Wideband" and then "AEM" from the scrollable list presented. This will apply a formula to the raw voltage generated by the sensor located in the exhaust stream and convert it into a more recognizable AFR ratio - the same as the in dash gauge will display - in the resulting logs.

You can datalog to the scanner itself or to the notebook using the Livelink software package.

When you've finished with the SCT data logging, simply disconnect the white analog input wire and cap it. Tie it up near the OBDII port out of sight until it's needed. Store your Firewire cable in a safe place ready for future use.

This set up worked for me without problem. Let me know if I've made any errors and I'll fix 'em.
94guy is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2011, 03:49 AM   #62
YellowJellyBean
Love CA / Hate CARB
 
YellowJellyBean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Fan#: 69030
Location: Santa Clara, CA
What I Drive: MÜSTÄRD

Posts: 2,160
FF Reputation: 13 YellowJellyBean Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (5)
Just ordered my AEM wideband finally. I'm thinking of picking up a FireWire cable so I can datalog. Just to make sure, the wideband isn't going to help my tune unless I datalog with it, right, so the FireWire is necessary?
__________________
"My yellow, in this case, is not so mellow" -Jimi Hendrix

Focus Fanatics
Extremely helpful people
I made a haiku
YellowJellyBean is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:35 AM   #63
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,917
Points 50,457, Level 100
Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Yes you will need a firewire

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 07:03 AM   #64
Paul P
Focus Enthusiast
 
Paul P's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Fan#: 75111
Location: Townsend, MA
What I Drive: 2001 ZX3, 71 Chevelle 408

Posts: 150
Points 590, Level 11
Points: 590, Level: 11 Points: 590, Level: 11 Points: 590, Level: 11
Level Up 80% Completed
Level up: 80% Level up: 80% Level up: 80%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 Paul P Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94guy View Post
i hooked mine up but it does not give me constant real time data? it gets the a/f as soon as it starts logging then stops. the average moves ever so little?
Looks like you are connecting the wrong wires pins 3 and 4 are analog 1. Not pins 1 and 2.

The colors might be different but the pin numbers are the key.

This would explain the issues you are having with the data logging.

Paul P is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 01:48 PM   #65
BowerR64
Focus Fanatic
 
BowerR64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 78699
Location: Kansas city, MO
What I Drive: 2007 ZX3 SE

Posts: 2,374
Points 11,515, Level 70
Points: 11,515, Level: 70 Points: 11,515, Level: 70 Points: 11,515, Level: 70
Level Up 67% Completed
Level up: 67% Level up: 67% Level up: 67%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 12 BowerR64 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Does anyone need a cable? i bought a 6' firewire to firewire and cut it in half.

Ive done all the meter work to single out the leads we need and heat shrinked off the rest.

Mine didnt have a yellow it looks more orange or pink but the same Ch2 is red as the BC_ZX3 diagrahm.

shoot me a PM if you need it i can drop it in the mail in the next couple days.

__________________
It's not important to win, it's important to make the other guy lose.
BowerR64 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 09:49 AM   #66
Sean05
Focus Addict
 
Sean05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Fan#: 62491
Location: Murrieta, CA
What I Drive: 13' ST2

Posts: 594
Points 1,581, Level 22
Points: 1,581, Level: 22 Points: 1,581, Level: 22 Points: 1,581, Level: 22
Level Up 81% Completed
Level up: 81% Level up: 81% Level up: 81%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 5 Sean05 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Wow this is really helpfull I would've figured it out after fiddling with it forever. Makes everything alot easier for those of us that haven't done it before!
__________________
After asking a friend with 07 sedan if he wanted to race " I'm gonna loose! Mines not a zx4!! "
Sean05 is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 05:10 PM   #67
FocusRacingAustrali
Focus Addict
 
FocusRacingAustrali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 45865
Location: Australia, Brisbane, Australia
What I Drive: 2003 ZX4 & 2004 ZX5

Posts: 1,281
Points 4,947, Level 44
Points: 4,947, Level: 44 Points: 4,947, Level: 44 Points: 4,947, Level: 44
Level Up 99% Completed
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 6 FocusRacingAustrali Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Got my aem a/f gauge working and just want to ask if my idel number are good

13.7 to 14.5 and driving the number are still the same might go to 15 sometime????

Rob
__________________
I only worthship the HP gods []
A false Hp god: Foolish are those who always have wild claim and know fear nothing, yet claim to know everything.
FocusRacingAustrali is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2011, 05:24 PM   #68
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,917
Points 50,457, Level 100
Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
At idle and STEADY part throttle you should be seeing between 13.7 to 15.7 the target is 14.7

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 04:56 PM   #69
FocusRacingAustrali
Focus Addict
 
FocusRacingAustrali's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Fan#: 45865
Location: Australia, Brisbane, Australia
What I Drive: 2003 ZX4 & 2004 ZX5

Posts: 1,281
Points 4,947, Level 44
Points: 4,947, Level: 44 Points: 4,947, Level: 44 Points: 4,947, Level: 44
Level Up 99% Completed
Level up: 99% Level up: 99% Level up: 99%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 6 FocusRacingAustrali Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1turbofocus View Post
At idle and STEADY part throttle you should be seeing between 13.7 to 15.7 the target is 14.7

Tom
Been working with a guy at work who does car tuning and I ask is 14.7 good for a tune and he told me 14.7 is right on the edge of the motor letting go and you should be looking at 13's
__________________
I only worthship the HP gods []
A false Hp god: Foolish are those who always have wild claim and know fear nothing, yet claim to know everything.
FocusRacingAustrali is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2011, 05:03 PM   #70
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,917
Points 50,457, Level 100
Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100 Points: 50,457, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 25%
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
FF Reputation: 154 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Then you need to change tuners because he is wrong

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.