problem data logging AEM wideband O2 - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-06-2011, 03:06 PM   #1
Eklipse113
Focus Enthusiast
 
Eklipse113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63711
Location: North Chicago, IL
What I Drive: 2009 Black Clearcoat Coupe SES

Posts: 400
FF Reputation: 4 Eklipse113 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
problem data logging AEM wideband O2

Hey guys,

So I've got my wideband O2 on and working, but unfortunately when I data log in livelink, the program is showing different values than the gauge is. I have the analog equation set to AFR = v*2 + 10 like you're supposed to, which is what livelink set it to and what everything on google says you're supposed to, but it's just not working. I tried playing with the equation to make them match at idle (and because I really need a tune update, it's idling at oscillating RPM and AFR values and my car is running so rich the AFR at WOT is saying 10) and then try it at WOT to see if it matches, but I gave up on that.

One thing I noticed in my AEM instructions is the calibration switch on the back of the unit- I'll check that- but the default is supposed to be set for AFR as it is... so I donno.

I mean, there's not much to mess up with connecting the AEM to a firewire cable- I connected the white wire to whichever wire got me a reading in LiveLink when I started the data logger... but I did notice that no matter what, analog 2 seems to have noise on it (no wire connected) and shows 0 volts, then 2 volts, then 0, etc.

Also when I wired up the gauge, would the power source/ground affect this? I used the power and ground from the overhead reading lamps. The instructions said to use a "clean ground", and this ground has the lamps and my radar detector on it, so I thought I'd ask...

I'm kind of frustrated and out of ideas, and Tom can't adjust my tune til I have reliable data logs for him.


__________________
-Alex
2009 Focus Coupe SES 5-spd MTX
Steeda STS, Steeda SRI, FSWerks Race header, 2.5" flex, and 2.5" race exhaust
Tuned by Focus-Power (Tom)
Eklipse113 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-06-2011, 06:19 PM   #2
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,054
Points 6,891, Level 54
Points: 6,891, Level: 54 Points: 6,891, Level: 54 Points: 6,891, Level: 54
Level Up 71% Completed
Level up: 71% Level up: 71% Level up: 71%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
How far off are the values between Livelink and the gauge?
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2011, 12:24 AM   #3
BC_ZX3
DTC P0606
 
BC_ZX3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Fan#: 48751
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
What I Drive: 2001 Red ZX3 Turbo

Posts: 2,904
Points 2,027, Level 27
Points: 2,027, Level: 27 Points: 2,027, Level: 27 Points: 2,027, Level: 27
Level Up 18% Completed
Level up: 18% Level up: 18% Level up: 18%
Forum Activity 3%
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
FF Reputation: 86 BC_ZX3 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eklipse113 View Post
Hey guys,

So I've got my wideband O2 on and working, but unfortunately when I data log in livelink, the program is showing different values than the gauge is. I have the analog equation set to AFR = v*2 + 10 like you're supposed to, which is what livelink set it to and what everything on google says you're supposed to, but it's just not working. I tried playing with the equation to make them match at idle (and because I really need a tune update, it's idling at oscillating RPM and AFR values and my car is running so rich the AFR at WOT is saying 10) and then try it at WOT to see if it matches, but I gave up on that.

One thing I noticed in my AEM instructions is the calibration switch on the back of the unit- I'll check that- but the default is supposed to be set for AFR as it is... so I donno.

I mean, there's not much to mess up with connecting the AEM to a firewire cable- I connected the white wire to whichever wire got me a reading in LiveLink when I started the data logger... but I did notice that no matter what, analog 2 seems to have noise on it (no wire connected) and shows 0 volts, then 2 volts, then 0, etc.

Also when I wired up the gauge, would the power source/ground affect this? I used the power and ground from the overhead reading lamps. The instructions said to use a "clean ground", and this ground has the lamps and my radar detector on it, so I thought I'd ask...

I'm kind of frustrated and out of ideas, and Tom can't adjust my tune til I have reliable data logs for him.
You shouldn't have to manually input any equations into the Livelink software.

When preparing to data log with your SCT scanner, go to "Data Logging" then "Set Up" in the SCT scanner menu and configure scanner analog inputs, when prompted i.e. "Configure Analog Inputs? Y/N" will appear on the screen. Select Channel 2 (or 1 depending on the wire you chose) and specify "Wideband" and then "AEM" from the scrollable list presented. This will apply a formula to the raw voltage generated by the sensor located in the exhaust stream and convert it into a more recognizable AFR ratio - the same as the in dash gauge will display - in the resulting logs.

It is likely the 2V is the correct reading since 2V*2+10 =14 AFR, which is approx the stoichiometric ratio at idle. You may have an intermittent connection or crossed wires. 2V is too large a value for background noise.

As you suggest, try a different power source and ground. Try grounding directly to the metal passenger fusebox housing. Use a 12V switched source (such as the wipers) for power and also connect at the fusebox junction.
BC_ZX3 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2011, 02:16 PM   #4
Eklipse113
Focus Enthusiast
 
Eklipse113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63711
Location: North Chicago, IL
What I Drive: 2009 Black Clearcoat Coupe SES

Posts: 400
FF Reputation: 4 Eklipse113 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
AEM told me to check that the output voltage is correct, by unplugging the sensor from the gauge and using a multimeter- output should say 2.3 when you turn the ignition to "on" without starting the car. I'm going to check this and I have to say I'm pretty suspicious that that's my issue- I'd have to RMA the gauge at that point.

I would use the scanner without livelink, however, the scanner always says "data signal lost" and never picks up anything when I try to use it. So Livelink is my only way to data log.
__________________
-Alex
2009 Focus Coupe SES 5-spd MTX
Steeda STS, Steeda SRI, FSWerks Race header, 2.5" flex, and 2.5" race exhaust
Tuned by Focus-Power (Tom)
Eklipse113 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-07-2011, 03:12 PM   #5
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,054
Points 6,891, Level 54
Points: 6,891, Level: 54 Points: 6,891, Level: 54 Points: 6,891, Level: 54
Level Up 71% Completed
Level up: 71% Level up: 71% Level up: 71%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
That error on your scanner could be the issue, is the firmware up to date? Also, if you're using channel 2 try using channel 1. I had trouble with channel 2. SCT told me it's more noisy than 1.
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2011, 08:39 PM   #6
Eklipse113
Focus Enthusiast
 
Eklipse113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63711
Location: North Chicago, IL
What I Drive: 2009 Black Clearcoat Coupe SES

Posts: 400
FF Reputation: 4 Eklipse113 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
I solved it, wrote it up in a new thread for anyone who needs it and finds this via search...
http://www.focusfanatics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=257903
__________________
-Alex
2009 Focus Coupe SES 5-spd MTX
Steeda STS, Steeda SRI, FSWerks Race header, 2.5" flex, and 2.5" race exhaust
Tuned by Focus-Power (Tom)
Eklipse113 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.