2012 Focus Average MPG problems - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Third Generation > MK3 Focus

MK3 Focus The place to chat about general questions, window tinting, exterior body, interior and lighting upgrades for the third generation 2012-Current Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2011, 10:56 AM   #1
Prefurbia
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85310
Location: Minneapolis, MN
What I Drive: 2012 Black SEL

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 Prefurbia Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
2012 Focus Average MPG problems

I picked up my 2012 SEL loaded Focus a week ago and love all the features except the Trip 1 and Trip 2 Average MPG is terribly off showing an average between 23 and 26 MPG even though my actual verified is about 38 MPG average.

When I picked up the car I reset the trip 1 and trip 2 while I was driving, both showing 180.0 miles had been driven, but one showed an average of 23.0 MPG and the other 25.9 MPG.

Yesterday I went to my Ford dealer to 'fix' the problem

The Ford mechanic told me the difference might have been because I set the trip meters while driving and the difference in the delay between resets could cause the difference. A Bugatti Veyron could not even use that much fuel in the few seconds it took to clear eack trip meter. Being told something that would be physically impossible is not a great way to start a relationship with my new Ford...

After the dealer called the factory, they handed my car back to me with no fix stating there are no faults, or known fixes...

Anybody else having similar problems?


Prefurbia is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2011, 11:03 AM   #2
Gobird
Focus Enthusiast
 
Gobird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Fan#: 83191
Location: Sebring, FL
What I Drive: 2012 Blue Candy Titanium Hatch

Posts: 411
FF Reputation: 1 Gobird Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Don't know about the Focus yet but my 500 has the same thing it it should be reset when sitting still.
Gobird is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 12:29 PM   #3
Red 2012
Focus Enthusiast
 
Red 2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85244
Location: Naples, FL
What I Drive: 2012 candy red SEL; 2005 Freestyle

Posts: 251
FF Reputation: 1 Red 2012 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Are you resetting both the MPG and miles? doing that, I think, starts off the trip with no MPG initially. I did that while in motion yesterday.

Isn't this a Microsoft software product? if that is so, we should be getting changes reloaded nearly every day. duh.... I guess we take the wireless laptop out to the car, plug the cable into the usb socket and everything will be right for the day.

Right now I don't think the mechanics have a clew ... I have a screwed up AM in the radio and am holding off taking it in for a couple of weeks, hoping they may may learn something meanwhile.
Red 2012 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 12:54 PM   #4
Prefurbia
Focus Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85310
Location: Minneapolis, MN
What I Drive: 2012 Black SEL

Posts: 5
FF Reputation: 1 Prefurbia Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
They download updates through Microsoft wireless thing-a-magiggie?

I reset the trip meters while stopped - same problem exists so far.

The first car I had with a digital odometer was a Pontiac Grand Prix, every 3,000 miles it rest to zero - a great bug to have... drove the car 5 years and sold it with less than 1,000 showing (I did keep a record and was honest).

This bug - not so great!
Prefurbia is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 02:37 PM   #5
Triton46
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 79089
Location: Raleigh, NC
What I Drive: 2002 Nissan Maxima SE

Posts: 50
FF Reputation: 1 Triton46 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Could you take a picture of the MPG display? I could not find this feature on the SEL I test drove a few weeks back and the dealer was uncertain. Also, does the Focus only have a life average MPG or does it also have a real time MPG?
Triton46 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 03:14 PM   #6
28HopUp
Focus Enthusiast
 
28HopUp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Fan#: 85449
Location: Newark, DE
What I Drive: 2012 SE 5-door

Posts: 240
FF Reputation: 3 28HopUp Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triton46 View Post
Could you take a picture of the MPG display? I could not find this feature on the SEL I test drove a few weeks back and the dealer was uncertain. Also, does the Focus only have a life average MPG or does it also have a real time MPG?
Triton46, on my SE the MPG display is above the steering wheel on the dash. If I'm not mistaken, it's on the same panel for the SEL's too. Regarding your other question, I've driven other Fords that had two displays for MPG's: instant and average. The new Focus only displays the average MPG's, but you can hold down the OK button on the left steering wheel stalk to reset it to quickly learn what you are doing at the time.

I think the OP was correct to calculate MPG's over the course of a tank of gas (distance traveled divided by gallons pumped into tank). I've only refueled the car once, but my calculated MPG's was much higher than what was displayed on the dash.
__________________
Bill Jr.
28HopUp is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 05:57 PM   #7
iminhell
C2H5OH
 
iminhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Fan#: 36222
Location: Darwin, MN
What I Drive: 2000 & 2001 ZX3's

Posts: 10,406
FF Reputation: 49 iminhell Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Not sure if I'm right here but far as I'm reading from the manual this is how I understand it,

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012 Ford Focus Owner's Manual, page 19
Average fuel
economy —
shows the
average
distance
traveled per
unit of fuel
used for a given
trip
That to me says the 'average fuel economy' will be calculated per trip setting. That is, gallons used divided by trip one or trip two, and not the total of trip one and two. So it'd be best to reset one trip and use that for average fuel economy and the other for whatever.
__________________
Don't "think outside the box".
There is no box.
Do it correct, or do it twice.
iminhell is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 06:19 PM   #8
mysticbluebmw
Focus Enthusiast
 
mysticbluebmw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Fan#: 85252
Location: Triangle, NC
What I Drive: 2013 Accord EX-L V6 w/Navi

Posts: 519
FF Reputation: 1 mysticbluebmw Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prefurbia View Post
They download updates through Microsoft wireless thing-a-magiggie?

I reset the trip meters while stopped - same problem exists so far.

The first car I had with a digital odometer was a Pontiac Grand Prix, every 3,000 miles it rest to zero - a great bug to have... drove the car 5 years and sold it with less than 1,000 showing (I did keep a record and was honest).

This bug - not so great!
Hope you get it sorted soon!
mysticbluebmw is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 09:12 PM   #9
Triton46
Focus Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Fan#: 79089
Location: Raleigh, NC
What I Drive: 2002 Nissan Maxima SE

Posts: 50
FF Reputation: 1 Triton46 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 28HopUp View Post
Triton46, on my SE the MPG display is above the steering wheel on the dash. If I'm not mistaken, it's on the same panel for the SEL's too. Regarding your other question, I've driven other Fords that had two displays for MPG's: instant and average. The new Focus only displays the average MPG's, but you can hold down the OK button on the left steering wheel stalk to reset it to quickly learn what you are doing at the time.

I think the OP was correct to calculate MPG's over the course of a tank of gas (distance traveled divided by gallons pumped into tank). I've only refueled the car once, but my calculated MPG's was much higher than what was displayed on the dash.
Hmmm, I found all kinds of settings/displays on the display between the speedometer and tachometer but could not find a MPG display. Could you describe what the menu directory is to get to it?

I'm sure it is there, but I went through every menu and sub-menu three times and still could not find it.
Triton46 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:18 PM   #10
DrkKnight614
GO Green
 
DrkKnight614's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Fan#: 14522
Location: Long Island, NY, United States
What I Drive: 2003 2.0L Grabber Green Zx3

Posts: 11,143
FF Reputation: 47 DrkKnight614 Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Sucks your having issues, but like I and others have stated before, these read outs are rarely correct. Is it really that big of a problem to get all worked up about?
Posted via FF Mobile
DrkKnight614 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information : Site Map

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.