data logging - Focus Fanatics
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Focus Fanatics > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Focus Tuning Chat

Focus Tuning Chat Discuss performance tuning options for your Ford Focus.

Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2011, 04:25 PM   #1
Eklipse113
Focus Enthusiast
 
Eklipse113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63711
Location: North Chicago, IL
What I Drive: 2009 Black Clearcoat Coupe SES

Posts: 400
FF Reputation: 4 Eklipse113 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
data logging

Hey all

I got my XCal 3 and a tune from Tom this week. I took the tuner out to the car to try to get a baseline data log file because the xcal 3 supposedly can give you a horsepower estimate and 0-60 and all that (it can, right?)

(side question: does anyone know what parameters I should data log for that)

I started with a bunch of parameters but wanted to just narrow it to rpm and speed because those were the only ones showing values. I did this and after that the data logging says "lost connection" after a few seconds. But it was connected to the car...

am I not able to data log with the stock tune? I wanted to see what kind of gains I get from the tune + removing my air intake restrictor.

Will rep for help. :p

edit: I found the livelink software on the SCT site-- going to try that and see what it does


__________________
-Alex
2009 Focus Coupe SES 5-spd MTX
Steeda STS, Steeda SRI, FSWerks Race header, 2.5" flex, and 2.5" race exhaust
Tuned by Focus-Power (Tom)
Eklipse113 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2011, 05:08 PM   #2
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,762
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
You wont be able to tell small gains in HP with the xcal , things to log would be

Intake air temp
engine coolent tamp
fuel psi drop across injectors but dont think its logable on your code
load
maf counts
rpm
spark
tps absolute
spark retard 1,2,3,4
stft1

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 05:17 PM   #3
Eklipse113
Focus Enthusiast
 
Eklipse113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63711
Location: North Chicago, IL
What I Drive: 2009 Black Clearcoat Coupe SES

Posts: 400
FF Reputation: 4 Eklipse113 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
thanks, I'll give it a try.

Where do I adjust those user-adjustable-parameters you enabled for me? Will that be in a menu on the tuner once it's married to the car, with the tune installed?
__________________
-Alex
2009 Focus Coupe SES 5-spd MTX
Steeda STS, Steeda SRI, FSWerks Race header, 2.5" flex, and 2.5" race exhaust
Tuned by Focus-Power (Tom)
Eklipse113 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 07:12 PM   #4
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
You cannot "log" hp and tq using the X3 device.

Also, the datalogging files on the earlier devices did not work with the 2008+ focus..and would lose communication like you are seeing. You need to either use livelink to create your own datalogging file ( would suggest against this if you have never done it before) or update your tune revision to the latest version (1.5.0) as it includes a new datalogging file that will work with your vehicle.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2011, 10:11 PM   #5
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,762
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
If you need help with datalogging I can take over your PC ans set up the datalog list for you , It comes with my tuning services

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 06:57 AM   #6
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,046
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
Don't mean to thread jack, but where on the website is the 1.5.0 update?
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 09:05 AM   #7
Blivit
Focus Addict
 
Blivit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Fan#: 51292
Location: Sanford, FL
What I Drive: 2013 ST

Posts: 720
FF Reputation: 118 Blivit Excellent Standing Member Blivit Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSUrivie View Post
Don't mean to thread jack, but where on the website is the 1.5.0 update?
We are no longer posting the files to our website as we now use an auto-updater application.

If you go to device updates, choose your device, type in your serial number you will see the description. Basically you download and install the latest version of the sct device updater application and there is a button there to automatically check for updates. Be connected to the internet and press that with your device connected to update.
Blivit is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2011, 09:10 AM   #8
PSUrivie
Focus Fanatic
 
PSUrivie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Fan#: 67329
Location: Elkridge, MD
What I Drive: Boostin in the Mid-A

Posts: 2,046
FF Reputation: 15 PSUrivie Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (10)
ok great, as always thanks for the help!
__________________
150whp/135lbs-tq @ 13lbs.
PSUrivie is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 12:21 AM   #9
Eklipse113
Focus Enthusiast
 
Eklipse113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Fan#: 63711
Location: North Chicago, IL
What I Drive: 2009 Black Clearcoat Coupe SES

Posts: 400
FF Reputation: 4 Eklipse113 Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Been a little busy with some exams but tonight I got LiveLink running on my laptop with no problems... first off, this software is so cool. I can't believe all the parameters I can record and look at graphically. I took the car out and messed around with it a bit just now and took some test data logs.

Even though I can't measure hp gains or anything I still wanted to do a little logging before I install the tune, so I haven't uploaded it yet (I almost did, but I wanted to remove my intake restrictor before I do that and I don't have time yet)

I was wondering... what can I do with this thing diagnostically? Like can I set it to record anything that might tell me why my fuel mileage has been so lo (~26 mpg)? I saw that I could log misfires and everything, I just don't know which of the options might tell me if there is something wrong with my car or, what I was thinking, maybe the computer was correcting for my exhaust and intake and I lost my gas mileage from that. Wanted to figure that before I put the tune in. Anyone have any ideas for that?

Tom for the data logging parameters you told me to log, I found them all except the spark ones (there were a bunch to choose from). Would you be able to paste up the exact names of the ones I need logged or would it be easier to arrange a time for you to link with my computer?

P.s. even though Blivit said I can't log torque there was an option for it. It definitely wasn't in ft-lb's (it was like 300-400 across most of the rpm's at WOT in 2nd gear) but there has to be a way to calculate an approximate horsepower and torque based on the vehicle weight and acceleration etc... it's just physics right?
__________________
-Alex
2009 Focus Coupe SES 5-spd MTX
Steeda STS, Steeda SRI, FSWerks Race header, 2.5" flex, and 2.5" race exhaust
Tuned by Focus-Power (Tom)
Eklipse113 is offline  
    Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 06:32 AM   #10
1turbofocus
FF Affiliate
 
1turbofocus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Fan#: 1123
Location: Belmont, NC
What I Drive: 2000 ZX3 / 2002 SVT Turbocharged

Posts: 21,762
FF Reputation: 153 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member 1turbofocus Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (28)
Best way to do HP and TQ is find a local dyno , there really is no other way to know those numbers correctly

Tom
__________________
Focus-Power: Your #1 Source for Ford Focus Speed, Tuning & Performance!

Customer Support
AIM: hpdyno
Email: hpdyno@aol.com
Phone: 704-249-3745
Site: focus-power.com

Elder 1turbofocus
1turbofocus is online now  
    Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks
-->
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Acura TLX or Fiesta ST. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area.