remote starter on manual - Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum
Ford Focus Forum
HomeContact UsAbout UsGalleryDiscussion ForumsMarketplace


Go Back   Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum > Ford Focus Tech Discussions > Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics

Car Audio, SYNC, MyFord Touch & Electronics The Forum for the Ford Focus audiophiles. The place to chat about automobile sound systems, security systems, or show off your I.C.E.!
Sponsored By: GT Sound Control


Search This Forum | Image Search | Advanced Search    
Ford Focus Tire & Wheels FocusFanatics Merchandise

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2011, 05:06 PM   #1
LOADED
Focus Enthusiast
 
LOADED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 81895
Location: Arden Hills, MN
What I Drive: 2003 Sonic Blue SVT Focus

Posts: 194
Points 1,822, Level 25
Points: 1,822, Level: 25 Points: 1,822, Level: 25 Points: 1,822, Level: 25
Level Up 22% Completed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 LOADED Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
remote starter on manual

how dose a remote starter work for a manual trans? is it possible??

Thanks,

-Matt.J


__________________
2003 Sonic Blue SVT Focus #524
LOADED is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2011, 05:10 PM   #2
FocusontheZX
Focus Enthusiast
 
FocusontheZX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Fan#: 64304
Location: Indianapolis,In, IN
What I Drive: 2013 Focus ST II

Posts: 353
Points 1,708, Level 24
Points: 1,708, Level: 24 Points: 1,708, Level: 24 Points: 1,708, Level: 24
Level Up 8% Completed
Level up: 8% Level up: 8% Level up: 8%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 5 FocusontheZX Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (2)
It is possible, but its a major pain in the butt... A lot of shops won't do it, and the ones that will charge a lot of money. The ones that do it correctly, put a sensor that will only let it work when the parking break is set, and the transmission is in neutral.
__________________
Current: 2013 Focus ST II.
Past: 06 Explorer
Past: 03 Focus ZX3 Modded: Rims, SVT Bolt-Ons, Tons of audio stuff with Kenwood Headunit, MB Quart Components, and Subthump Stealth Hatch Enclosure and Amp Rack Loaded with Kicker Goodies!
FocusontheZX is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 05:13 PM   #3
Justin svt
Focus Addict
 
Justin svt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Fan#: 58325
Location: New Brunswick, Canada
What I Drive: 2002 CD Silver SVT

Posts: 1,216
Points 2,568, Level 30
Points: 2,568, Level: 30 Points: 2,568, Level: 30 Points: 2,568, Level: 30
Level Up 79% Completed
Level up: 79% Level up: 79% Level up: 79%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 2 Justin svt Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (3)
I dont think its a good idea. If you leave the car in gear by mistake the car could take off while you eat your cheerios.
__________________
2002 silver ZX3 SVT #2318: Tom's Tune, 8.2mm Taylor Thundervolt wires, Custom ORP, Full Prothane bushing swap

"I buy things I don't need, with money I don't have, to impress people I don't know"
Justin svt is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 05:14 PM   #4
viney266
Focus Fanatic
 
viney266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 93
Location: westminster, maryland, MD
What I Drive: focus ztw ,zx3,mustang, motorcycles

Posts: 25,588
Points 234,737, Level 100
Points: 234,737, Level: 100 Points: 234,737, Level: 100 Points: 234,737, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 112 viney266 Excellent Standing Member viney266 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Its more money because there is more work. There has to be a sensor on the e-brake.. It is safe if done correctly

Usually it goes like this
1. car running
2.in nuetral
3. set e-brake
4. get out and lock car
5. shut off car with remote start remote

THEN the car will restart with the remote AS LONG AS you don't open a car door. That is the ONLY way you can be sure the car is still in nuetral otherwise the car could start in gear.

Seen a civic go into a dumpster that way once LOL
__________________
Speed is only a matter of money; how fast do you want to go?
viney266 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 05:22 PM   #5
Mike_Mac
Focus Addict
 
Mike_Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61110
Location: Windsor, Canada
What I Drive: 04 Red/Black ZX5, 00 infared ZTS

Posts: 1,322
Points 2,332, Level 29
Points: 2,332, Level: 29 Points: 2,332, Level: 29 Points: 2,332, Level: 29
Level Up 22% Completed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 12 Mike_Mac Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
there is no added sensor for the ebrake they just tap into the the factory one. installing a remote start on a MTX vs ATX is usually just 2 wires. one goes to the clutch other to the ebrake. ATX these are just grounded or not used depending on the remote starter.

Viney266 gave you how the user activates the remote start. if a door is opened, truck, hood, ebrake looses continuity, or applied brakes will cause no start if it happens when it applies power to ACC. an other sensor can also be wired in to de activate the remote start.
Mike_Mac is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 05:24 PM   #6
viney266
Focus Fanatic
 
viney266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 93
Location: westminster, maryland, MD
What I Drive: focus ztw ,zx3,mustang, motorcycles

Posts: 25,588
Points 234,737, Level 100
Points: 234,737, Level: 100 Points: 234,737, Level: 100 Points: 234,737, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 112 viney266 Excellent Standing Member viney266 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_Mac View Post
there is no added sensor for the ebrake they just tap into the the factory one. installing a remote start on a MTX vs ATX is usually just 2 wires. one goes to the clutch other to the ebrake. ATX these are just grounded or not used depending on the remote starter.

Viney266 gave you how the user activates the remote start. if a door is opened, truck, hood, ebrake looses continuity, or applied brakes will cause no start if it happens when it applies power to ACC. an other sensor can also be wired in to de activate the remote start.
^^^ True on the wires and lack of door pins...IF the car is new enough :)
__________________
Speed is only a matter of money; how fast do you want to go?
viney266 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 05:24 PM   #7
LOADED
Focus Enthusiast
 
LOADED's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Fan#: 81895
Location: Arden Hills, MN
What I Drive: 2003 Sonic Blue SVT Focus

Posts: 194
Points 1,822, Level 25
Points: 1,822, Level: 25 Points: 1,822, Level: 25 Points: 1,822, Level: 25
Level Up 22% Completed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 1 LOADED Good Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by viney266 View Post
Seen a civic go into a dumpster that way once LOL
haha, its only a civic... jk i like civics, well the ones that are moded tasefullly. when ever i see a riced out one it makes me wanna
__________________
2003 Sonic Blue SVT Focus #524
LOADED is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 05:29 PM   #8
Mike_Mac
Focus Addict
 
Mike_Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61110
Location: Windsor, Canada
What I Drive: 04 Red/Black ZX5, 00 infared ZTS

Posts: 1,322
Points 2,332, Level 29
Points: 2,332, Level: 29 Points: 2,332, Level: 29 Points: 2,332, Level: 29
Level Up 22% Completed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 12 Mike_Mac Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by viney266 View Post
^^^ True on the wires and lack of door pins...IF the car is new enough :)
i was more placing this towards the focus not a car from the 80's. yes if the car doesn't the sensors they will need to be added, but in the case of the focus there would be no extra sensors. installing a remote starter in the focus is actually pretty simple as all but i think about 8-10 connections are at the GEM.
Mike_Mac is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 05:33 PM   #9
Mike_Mac
Focus Addict
 
Mike_Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Fan#: 61110
Location: Windsor, Canada
What I Drive: 04 Red/Black ZX5, 00 infared ZTS

Posts: 1,322
Points 2,332, Level 29
Points: 2,332, Level: 29 Points: 2,332, Level: 29 Points: 2,332, Level: 29
Level Up 22% Completed
Level up: 22% Level up: 22% Level up: 22%
Forum Activity 0%
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
FF Reputation: 12 Mike_Mac Great Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (8)
this site is also very useful if your planning on doing it yourself.
http://www.the12volt.com/
Mike_Mac is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2011, 05:41 PM   #10
viney266
Focus Fanatic
 
viney266's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Fan#: 93
Location: westminster, maryland, MD
What I Drive: focus ztw ,zx3,mustang, motorcycles

Posts: 25,588
Points 234,737, Level 100
Points: 234,737, Level: 100 Points: 234,737, Level: 100 Points: 234,737, Level: 100
Level Up 0% Completed
Level up: 0% Level up: 0% Level up: 0%
Forum Activity 1%
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
FF Reputation: 112 viney266 Excellent Standing Member viney266 Excellent Standing Member
Buy-Sell-Trade Rating: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_Mac View Post
i was more placing this towards the focus not a car from the 80's. yes if the car doesn't the sensors they will need to be added, but in the case of the focus there would be no extra sensors. installing a remote starter in the focus is actually pretty simple as all but i think about 8-10 connections are at the GEM.
^^^ Good point^^^...+1 rep!
__________________
Speed is only a matter of money; how fast do you want to go?
viney266 is offline  
    Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Bookmarks & Social Networks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Focus Forum, Ford Focus ST Forum, Ford Focus RS Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Copyright 2002-2014 FocusFanatics.com. All Rights Reserved : Privacy Policy : Advertise Information

Focus Fanatics Ford Focus Forum offers many fun ways for you to engage with other Ford Focus Owners from across the world. Whether it be about the aftermarket performance modifications, technical how-to's, European tuned suspension or awesome fuel economy similar to the Audi S3, Ford Fusion and Acura TLX. You can find all Ford Focus and Focus ST related information here. Join our Ford Focus discussion forums and chat with local Focus enthusiasts in your area. Challenger Hellcat - Charger Hellcat